We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“improving every time i return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Ranked #129 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
lossiemouth
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“improving every time i return”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

if i were to write this short review 2 years ago, or even 1 year ago i would not read well, I travel Scotland working and stay within different hotels for different reasons, the reason i kept faith with this hotel was more for location, im glad i did as the level of service keeps improving, the accomodation is varied as some of the rooms are very modern with large comfortable beds, some are quite small, but all in the hotel is in a very good location which is quiet during the night, good for my zzzzzzzzs, the bar area is more like a meeting place for locals, gives a really good feel for Edinburgh and creates a good relaxed area to watch whatever is on the large TVs, i dont really have much negatives to this hotel now, the value for money is about as good as you will get within central Edinburgh, my only negative is the breakfast, the food has been good but i like more fruit and healthy items to start my day, the fresh fruit as written on the menus is tinned peaches, dont think it would take a great deal of effort to upgrade to what is written, to finish on a good note the evening food is good value with large portions ( maybe a bit to large ) and cooked very well,

Room Tip: lower floors are more for disabled, good that a hotel is now catering for this, as an able bodied pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    104
    52
    38
    25
See reviews for
61
112
19
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

we stayed here for one night and what a lovely place this is. Our room was very nice and clean and the bed was very comfy. Staff are very friendly and helpful and its in a good location just out the centre. The only bad thing we found was that when we had our evening meal the service was very slow, even felt like we had been forgotten. The food in the resturant was lovely and on the whole it was a very nice stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lockwood17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We visited the Royal Ettrick with friends for a long weekend as it was part of their Ruby Wedding celebrations. This is one of the best "small hotels" that I have ever stayed in. From the start of the weekend on checking in on the Friday, until we left on Monday morning the service and the helpfulness of the staff was second to none. The food in the restaurant was of the highest quality with service to match. We had an executive room which was massive and spotlessly clean. The crowning glory is the heated bathroom floor.
Will defineately visit here again when I am back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teekayh63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

On a short visit to Edinburgh,I went to this hotel for an evening meal.I placed my order and sat down for a quiet drink.30 minutes later, a member of staff came over and told me that due to computer problems,my order had gone missing.Hard to believe since the kitchen was next door to the bar,where my order was taken.Another 20 minutes passed with no food forthcoming.Surely a simple burger and chips was not too difficult for the chef to understand. At this point I walked out in disgust,certainly never to return again.Pity really ,as the hotel is in a good location and would have plenty to offer ,if the staff were more customer focused.During my extended wait in the dining room ,there were a foreign family in for a meal and when they asked if the bar staff could recommend a local beer for them to try,they were told to try the Stella.Didn't know the Caley Brewery did this brand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Orrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as part of a long weekend away in Edinburgh. We booked an executive double, which included breakfast each morning. The room itself was big and incredibly clean. The bathroom was also very impressive, with heating flooring (this made our day!). The bed was comfy and we had our own sofa which made spending time in the room comfortable and relaxing. Breakfast is also lovely too.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. Just a quick mention, on arrival if no-one seems to appear, there's a telephone just to the side of the desk which alerts someone that you're there - it took us ages to realise this!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank sarah1ou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I LOVED this hotel! As a 23-year old post grad on a budget, this hotel was beyond any of my expectations. My room was sizeable and comfortable, and even though it was next to the kitchen, I had no issues with noise at all. Tea/coffee service, hair dryer, towels, shampoo etc are all provided in-room. And wifi, at no cost!

[included] breakfast every morning was great, and the dinners I had at the restaurant were excellent as well. The staff was wonderful, everyone I spoke to at the front desk was super nice and I loved chatting with the bartenders. It seemed like people from the neighborhood liked to gather in the bar at night, which gave it a more local feel than just a hotel bar.

Although it isn't in central edinburgh, it is right next to a bus stop which goes right to princes st. At 1.50 single or 3.50 unlimited pass, it was the perfect way to get into the city. Cabs are only about 8 pounds as well.

I loved returning here after long days in old city! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Statia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

i have just spent 2 nights as part of a wedding party staying at this hotel ,i was the only single visitor and was booked into a tiny room (4) .on arrival i asked if there was any other room and was told no only a triple at £90 a night as i thought that the (£69 ) was really more than enough anyway for a single room declined this offer .then the brides father tried and they said i could be moved next day,this didnt happen so just put up with a room that is tiny ,mucky walls opposite bed ,a bed base that squeaks on every turn ,a very noisy toilet ,a bathroom window that could not be kept open,,a tiny wardrobe that you could not get into fully as it is jammed up to the bottom of the bed !the list goes on .It did put a dampner on my wedding stay

Room Tip: the bigger rooms The James for instance was massive and a double opposite room 2 was fine where othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmckay75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royalettrickmanager, Manager at Royal Ettrick Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Dear kmckay75,

Firstly I would like to note that you did not book as part of the wedding party; there was an allocation of rooms with a specific group rate reserved on our system. The person booking the allocation is told that when telling their guests of the hotel and the rates that each individual guest must call the hotel directly and request to have one of the rooms from the allocation. This in turn applies the discounted rate to you and your room.

You chose to book through a travel agent and therefore paid the full single room rate for that weekend; single rooms are smaller and have a single bed. Pictures of our single rooms are available to view on our site and agent sites. You would have seen the pictures of our rooms and selected the single rate and agreed the price you were going to pay prior to making the booking.

On some occasions we are able to give complimentary upgrades to guests and we did this with some members of the wedding party who had booked through the block allocation.
In order to move room you were asked to speak with reception in the morning, you did not do this and therefore could not be moved.

The only issue you raised regarding the room was a bulb not working in the lamp, this was rectified straight away by the manager.

The other problems you have mentioned here regarding the room were not raised with the hotel; therefore there was no opportunity to correct them. I would like to mention that the complaints you have made have not been found by any guest staying in your room before. I will, of course, look into the issues you have brought to our attention to ensure every effort is made to correct them.

Kind Regards
Ettrick Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Salisbury Green Hotel
#121 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Masson House
#117 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
West End
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
Grosvenor Gardens Hotel
#131 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#77 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Leith
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
A-Haven Townhouse Hotel
#108 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Property: Royal Ettrick Hotel
Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing