We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for meals”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Ettrick Hotel
Ranked #128 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for meals”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Visited this Hotel restaurant for a meal on 2 occasions now. Delighted with it. Lovely location. You can watch the bowling on the grass on a fine day. The Food is very good. I will certainly go again. There is Lots of choice and they even do a pensioners size for value and price. I first went with friends who regularly go then went with my cousin, she loved it and especially the location. The only fault I had was the toilets that are in the hotel left to the stairs were not very good and a bit smelly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    105
    52
    39
    26
See reviews for
61
112
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was good. Fruits, cereal, pastries. Menu to order off of with a Irish breakfast. Friendly staff. Hotel has a bar and restaurant. Location was close to a bus route which takes right into the city centre. Would return. Beautiful city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChelleAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 day break. This is a nice little hotel that is in a lovely area, close to city centre and access to bus links straight outside making it a perfect place for visiting the city centre for the price you pay.

We stayed in a triple room which had a nice amount of space and room was cleaned to a good standard. We also had breakfast included in the price which was of a good quality to start the day with.

I would definetly visit for a short break again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Camsco1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We enjoyed a nice relaxing overnight stay at this hotel on Thursday 7th August.
Our room (19) was spacious, comfortable and clean with a 48/52 inch flat screen TV. We had pre theater drinks in the beer garden which is a nice place to sit out on a sunny day. On our return at night we enjoyed another couple of drinks in the bar. My only negative comment is that lack of training is very evident in the bar area but easily forgiven by the friendliness of majority of staff.
Breakfast was excellent, served up by two nice cheerful young ladies and the fellow who checked us out was pleasant and helpful. Overall a very good experience, next time in Edinburgh I know where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Possibly the grumpiest bar manager in the whole of the UK and not just Edinburgh. We had food in the beer garden and it was just plonked down on the table without a word or a smile. He was also extremely rude to a couple who had brought their very well behaved dog into the beer garden. The food was actually very good but on the customer service front this guy needs to go to classes or change professions. He is obviously not a people person and let's face it it's not rocket science. All that's needed is a pleasant word and a smile but this appears to be beyond him.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Edinburgh is a lovely City and this Hotel is in a lovely location. The building is impressive and I felt like I was going to Lord of the Manor. I checked in and was told my room was at the back. It was and I have never been in prison before, so having room with NO WINDOWS was a first. It did have 2 roof windows, with covers on so no natural light. It was long and thin with a small flat screen TV high up on the wall at one end. If they provided a telescope then I would have been able to watch it.
This meant I spent longer in the bar than normal and that is a good thing because it's great. The food was bar stuff, burger, chips etc, the beer was good. No problems there. But the room was poor and for that reason I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Ask if the room has windows before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went to the Royal Ettrick for an unexpected Saturday lunch…the home made burgers are fantastic! The chips great, good atmosphere and friendly staff! We're looking forward to another visits.
Oh! Very clean loos too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMcK1658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Masson House
#117 of 148 in Edinburgh
418 reviews
Salisbury Green Hotel
#118 of 148 in Edinburgh
345 reviews
Corstorphine
The White Lady
The White Lady
#59 of 148 in Edinburgh
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Salisbury Hotel
#88 of 148 in Edinburgh
819 reviews
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#94 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Ettrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ettrick Hotel

Property: Royal Ettrick Hotel
Address: 13 Ettrick Road | Polwarth, Edinburgh EH10 5BJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ettrick Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Ettrick Hotel offers 3 star accommodation in Edinburgh within the mature, leafy, Victorian suburbs to the south of Edinburgh city centre. The Hotel provides the perfect getaway from the bustle of Edinburgh whilst still being within walking distance of The Old Town. Whether you're a business traveller looking for corporate accommodation or a family enjoying a fun filled break or family occasion in Edinburgh, you'll receive a warm welcome at The Royal Ettrick Hotel. With free parking in our private car park and ease of access to the Edinburgh bypass any travelling is simple and relaxed. Superb public transport links also service the hotel, with two main bus services into the heart of the city stopping directly in front of the hotel. Guests can also enjoy free WiFi via fibre optic broadband throughout the hotel which is of great benefit to guests and especially for corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Ettrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ettrick Edinburgh
Hotel Royal Ettrick
Royal Ettrick Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing