We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its what it is Student accomadation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CityLivein Grove Street
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Obviously cashing in on the Festival weeks by turning themselves into a 'Hotel'. Basic but clean and I have to say more comfortable than expected. around a 15 min walk into town. Not cheap considering ! would I stay here again...no what more can i say...we booked last minute as there wasnt much left

Room Tip: corner rooms are larger i.e room 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MessymeSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

You're absolutely correct - iQ is student accommodation the rest of the year round, and like all other student accommodation in the city, we open as guest accommodation in July and August.

Thanks

Jayne @ iQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a very good couple nights here at the end of a camping/road trip across Scotland. It is centrally located, clean, comfortable with very helpful staff. If you have a car you need to plan a bit ahead as parking is pretty difficult. We didn't mind the lack of air condition as some of the other reviewers, mind you the weather didn't go above 20 C during our stay either. No TV, as some of the reviewers noted, but who wants TV when you are in Edinburgh? Certainly recommend it for anybody who wants to explore Edinburgh and/or arrives for the festival and is looking for a friendly, budget place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Attila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Thanks for reviewing.

Thanks

Jayne @ iQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is our second stay at Smart IQ and again it did not disappoint. The perfect location for a stay in Edinburgh during the festival, the accommodation is clean and presentable with knowledgable, friendly staff. Fantastic value for money and we will most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsteen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thanks so much for reviewing. Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Jayne @ iQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a week during the Edinburgh Fringe festival. The accommodation is clean, safe and away from the busy centre. It takes about 15 mins to walk to Cowgate.
The rooms are a good size and there is a communal kitchen area. My only complaint is that the mattress is really uncomfortable. Good option for those too old for hostels and too poor for hotels.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
Thank TheCorfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thanks so much for reviewing us!

Thanks

Jayne @ iQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Stayed in studio room for 4 nights recently accompanied by 21 year old daughter
Clean room. Bedding and towels changed after 3 days but towels changed in between as requested
Everything that is needed for a few days at the Festival including an ironing board!!
No TV though
Ideally situated for doing the Fringe being approximately 15-20minutes walk from the castle and 25- 30 mins to majority of fringe venues
Probably not ideal for families with children or for those who want to go into the centre and then back again at intervals during the day
Near to a good selection of restaurants and small supermarket less than 5 minutes walk away
Could be a bit noisy at times but we were so tired we didn't care
Really comfortable bed
Reception staff friendly and helpful

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2015

Thanks so much for your fair and honest review. We really appreciate it.

Thanks

Jayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

If you're looking for accommodation that is more private than a hostel but cheaper than a central Edinburgh hotel then I'd definetly recommend Smart at IQ. Each room is modern with a double bed and ensuite but have a kitchen area shared with five other rooms.This is great if you're on a budget and don't want to eat out each night as the kitchen is fully equipped for you to cook your own meals.

The accommodation is approximately a 20min walk from the Royal Mile. A wide range of resturants and a cinema are a 10 main walk away. However, I could hear no noise on an evening.

Rooms don't have a TV so it is dull if you stay in on an evening. However, I highly recommend you explore Edinburgh and its main great bars and restaurants instead of staying in! A portable DVD player can be rented from reception. The only improvement I would suggest is thicker towels for the bathroom. However towels are replaced each day when your room is cleaned.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank Stu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thanks so much for reviewing us!

Thanks

Jayne @ iQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The Smart at IQ has good central position in a nice neighbourhood in central Edinburgh, the building is new and the rooms are fairly well planned (student apartments during semesters). The circumstances are good, and everything should be well.
However, there is one factor that has been forgotten: the temperature rises during summer - even in Scotland. Five nights in a hot room without oxygen and thereby with a minimum of sleep isn’t a pleasant experience.
According to British regulations (information from the receptionist), it is impossible for the Hotel to allow you to open the windows more than 5 cm. Instead they offer you to lend (10 £ deposition fee) a miniature loud fan that doesn’t help. This is obviously not enough. There should be an AC-system installed.
Another peripheral thing, is why hotels in general and Smart IQ in particular, insisting on fully covering carpets and heavily perfumed detergents?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leo-Huberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smart_at_iQ, Director of Sales at CityLivein Grove Street, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2015

Thanks so much for taking the time to review us.

We have taken your point about heating on board for future years. Unfortunately, Scotland is never well equipped in general for a very hot spell!

Thanks

Jayne @ iQ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Destiny Student - Brae House
#28 of 218 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,612 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,015 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLivein Grove Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLivein Grove Street

Address: 69 Grove Street, Edinburgh EH3 8FD, Scotland (Formerly Smart at IQ)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — CityLivein Grove Street 2.5*
Number of rooms: 321
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your CityLivein Grove Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
CityLivein Grove Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing