We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Convenient, comfortable base for Edinburgh...”
other travellers have booked this property
Double bedroom with garden views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Double bedroom with garden views
Fully fitted kitchen - shared with office during the day- Monday to Friday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Double bedroom with garden views
Fully fitted kitchen - shared with office during the day- Monday to Friday
Private living area with views to Arthur's Seat
Garden detail
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 1
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Birdbrain...
Cheshire
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable base for Edinburgh & Coastline”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I agree with all the previous reviews .......this was a little gem to find. Once we had parked the car we never used it again all week as the local bus service (No 44) is regular and efficient. A day ticket will set you back by £4 or a single journey £1.60. We walked to the top of Arthur's Seat from the door, then carried on into Edinburgh and Calton Hill on the first day. We are late 60's / 70 to give you some idea of our ability level!
We were warm and cosy - although having said that, the weather was exceptionally kind to us and we had days or 16 - 19 degrees even in early October. Fiona and Steve are a very hardworking, helpful couple and gave us lots of local advice. On our last day we visited North Berwick following Fiona's advice and stopped at Aberlady on the way. As wildlife enthusiasts it was stunning with so much bird life. Brilliant - thank you.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uistdon
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A gem of a place and outstanding hosts”
Reviewed 12 August 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Initially booked for a week to find my way around Edinburgh while my partner was in Hospital, I ended up booking for a month. Exceptional facility's and very clean, open and user friendly. Everything I needed was right there. It is self catering so you decide what you want to bring with to eat. The rooms were large enough and the beds were very comfortable . Outside you can sit back, have a glass off wine, dine with friends or just find some tranquility free from that daily stress. Great safe car parking outside. It is also a short walk to Portobello with its beach, bars and eateries. Very handy for city centre and hospitals with a bus stop close by. The owners Fiona and Steve were so helpful and friendly. She met me at the venue, went through a few points with me, offered her help when needed, true interpersonal feeling that I got from her and not the mechanical feeling you get at some places. Whether you are a business man or woman or couple travelling for work or leisure, this place will definitely fill your needs. We will be back sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners
Liked least: Honestly, there was nothing i disliked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to review, and for being so positive and helpful for other visitors. Much appreciated! We very much hope you are both well and really look forward to seeing you again sometime, best wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely surprise”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Just wanted to say I had a lovely stay at St Margaret's Cottage. Having parking was great. Easy process to get the keys. Lovely spacious cottage. Great soft furnishings which included Laura Ashley curtains and cushions. Home away from home. Lovely to have tea/coffee, milk and snacks on arrival.....very thoughtful. Great to have a good sized dining table. Good sized kitchen with all utensils that you require. Lovely back garden...secluded little spot with a lovely table and mature shrubs/plants. Good sized bedrooms. Lovely view of Arthurs Seat. Nice bathroom with a lovely shower. Lots of reading material, a radio and a tv. Great to have a downstairs toilet too. We felt very lucky to have stayed at St Margaret's Cottage and would definitely recommend and return. Handy for Leith, Portobello and the city centre. The owner Fiona was a pleasure to deal with :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Hi Pau, thanks so much for the great review. I'm delighted you enjoyed both the cottage and your trip. Sorry I wasn't around to meet and greet but hope to see you again in future. Best wishes Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky R
Oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable, cosy cottage”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband, myself & our 14 year old Stayed here for 4 nights. A lovely place to stay. Comfortable & well equipped complete with a pretty little garden. Fantastic to be able to unwind & relax in a home environment rather than a hotel room, after a busy day of sightseeing. It's situated 4 miles from the city centre, with only a 5 minute walk to the main road to catch the bus. Frequent service into the city centre & very friendly & helpful bus drivers! The Beach is only a 15 minute walk too, so we had the best of both worlds. The weather was exceptional, being dry & sunny which really topped off a great trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No shaving point in the bathroom, or anywhere else.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2016
Thanks so much for the great review and your recent stay! Really glad you enjoyed the cottage and the weather! Hope to see you again soon :) Best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AuntyJoD
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully modern decorated spacious cottage, close to beach & city”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage is next door to the owners house (good for keys collection) and near a main road (with bus stop nearby) into Edinburgh but as soon as you shut the door, there is just silence, perfect after a busy day in Edinburgh.
However the best bits were the more local attractions, ice cream on Portobello Beach or playing skittles in the oldest pub in Edinburgh "The Sheep Heid Inn" are both close by.
The cottage had everything we needed and family we were visiting nearby, were jealous of how comfortable the cottage was. Would definitely recommend to friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable sofas
Liked least: Pressure of shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Hi Jo, many thanks for the review. Really glad you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh and perhaps we'll see you again soon. Best wishes, Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gamer48
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely cosy cottage”
Reviewed 21 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We were made to feel very welcome on arrival, and were delighted to find a very clean, warm and well appointed family cottage, more than large enough for our needs. The location was very private and quiet. We made use of the on-site parking, where there was room enough for our one car, but there was also ample free parking on the road opposite. Buses into the centre of Edinburgh were frequent and reasonably priced, whilst the beach front at Portobello was only short walk away. Fiona, the owner, was extremely helpful and was quick to answer any queries we had. We would certainly stay here again, and would unhesitatingly recommend the cottage to family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homelike feeling of the property.
Liked least: The double bed was rather firm.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robbiechi...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really excellent cottage - perfect for exploring Edinburgh”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is bright, clean, comfortable and very well equipped. It has a real home-from-home feel to it and we quickly relaxed and enjoyed our time there. The kitchen has plenty of crockery, cutlery and cooking equipment, and the inclusion of a dishwasher and washing machine came in very handy. The rooms upstairs are quite small, but there is more than enough storage space available so this was not a problem for us, even with a cot in the master bedroom. Downstairs there is plenty of room to relax, play and eat.

In addition to the excellent standard of the cottage itself, we were really well looked after by the owner who lives next door, and were frankly astonished by the value of the place. It may not be central Edinburgh, but a lovely beach is about 10-15 minutes walk away, the location is quiet and safe, and public transport into the centre is quick and close by.

Really hard to fault this cottage - will definitely use again next time I visit the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing