We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely awful! Dirty, noisy and a rip off.”
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely awful! Dirty, noisy and a rip off.”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at this hostel in May and wished we had just booked into a hotel. The owner was very arrogant and rude, and took our deposit at the end of our stay as he said we brought beer into our room!? What a load of rubbish! We didn't even open the bottle!

The toilets are dirty, and there is bad smell coming from the showers when you turn it on. The cleanliness of the rooms are quite awful - the beds have stains on and are quite damp.

Stay away from this hostel and it's money grabbing manager.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete5464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
You arrived after spending over 6 hours drinking on a bus. Your entire group were extremely drunk, noisy and abusive. At that point in time we should have refused you admittance but against our better judgement we allowed you entry to the hostel.
All that we asked was that you showed some respect to us and the other guests. Instead you continued to run through the reception area completely naked(Without towels). We found this disrespectful to the people sitting on the computer at the time.
We did not keep your deposit as you have stated we kept 20% of your deposit to pay for damages and cleaning costs. Returning the rest in cash to the best man on departure who was most apologetic for you and your friends behaviour.
The fact of the matter is that you and your friends were so drunk whilst you were in Edinburgh you probably can’t remember half of the things you got up to.
Unfortunately we can!!!
We invite anyone to come and inspect the cleanliness of our hostel in its entirety. We take great pride in the high level of cleanliness maintained throughout the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    103
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
18
224
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Just come back from a stag do where we stayed at this atrocious place. They were well aware that we were coming however made us feel like we were criminals upon arrival! They were threatening to throw us out before we even checked in. It was one main member of staff who clearly liked the sound of his own voice who just wanted to rip us off for as much money as possible.

Along with original booking fee, we were all charged an extra £25 each as a deposit that they would try and throw everything at us to keep and an extra £7 surcharge per person because we were a big group, this was only made apparent after a 3 steps into a terms and conditions.

On the first night one of the stag was a little sick on his bed sheet, we were then told we all had to leave. Upon inspection, it was the tiniest bit on the bedsheet even though the employee working there was trying to claim it was on the floor as well.

After a heated debate due to us feeling very harshly treated we were accused of all being on drugs!

Despite being very rilled by this we enjoyed the rest of the weekend until we were told we would not get all our deposits back due to a) the bed sheet with sick on would be £50!!!!! that could buy a new bed b) £25 for each room as they found unopened beer bottles and c) £50 because one bottle was open.

When we questioned that this was completely unacceptable they then said we were lucky not to be charged for making noise, walking to the showers in our towels and swearing! It was ridiculous!

If you are booking a stag or even a short break I would not stay here just purely for their unbelevably poor approach and hidden traps to make money!

Room Tip: Don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeroy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
You arrived after spending over 6 hours drinking on a bus. Your entire group were extremely drunk, noisy and abusive. At that point in time we should have refused you admittance but against our better judgement we allowed you entry to the hostel.
All that we asked was that you showed some respect to us and the other guests. Instead you continued to run through the reception area completely naked(Without towels). We found this disrespectful to the people sitting on the computer at the time.
We did not keep your deposit as you have stated we kept 20% of your deposit to pay for damages and cleaning costs. Returning the rest in cash to the best man on departure who was most apologetic for you and your friends behaviour.
The fact of the matter is that you and your friends were so drunk whilst you were in Edinburgh you probably can’t remember half of the things you got up to.
Unfortunately we can!!!
We invite anyone to come and inspect the cleanliness of our hostel in its entirety. We take great pride in the high level of cleanliness maintained throughout the hostel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Big Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2012

This freshly renovated hostel is located across the street from the train station in the heart of the city, is clean and tidy. Each member of the 24/7 staff is personable and helpful. Confused about my travel plans, Robbie helped me get directions to Findhorn, printing out an itinerary, calling my ride for me, and even graciously helping me with my luggage. The price is stellar--half that of any hotel. Warning: There is no elevator. Be prepared to hike up 3 floors of spiral staircase!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Me and a couple of friends regretted about staying just one night! The hostel has a very good position, right in the city centre, near Princes Street shops and Rose Street pubs, in a few minutes you cross the North Bridge and you're on the legendary Royal Mile. We received a very warm welcome and good assistance. We found our room perfectly clean and tidy, just like the kitchen, toilets and showers. Unfortunately we didn't stay long enough to experiment the house's haggis. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Federica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

This hostel is really nice and the reception were really friendly. I arrived 5 or 6 hours before check-in and they checked me in anyway, which I was grateful for! The beds werent that comfortable because you can feel the springs, but seriously I didnt come to Edinburgh to sleep! The hostel is perfectly located right in the middle of everything all the bars and cafes. The showers were nice, but needed just a little bit more water pressure. It is a bit of a walk up the flight of stairs, but its worth it. Overall I would definately stay here again when I come back to Edinburgh!

Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

The hostel is amazing. really well located and clean . When i went there I fell like in home . The guys are really funny and can give you a lot of tips of the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dyegof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Fallingbostel, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This was my second stay with haggis hostel and it will not be the last.Fantastic clean and comfortable in all parts.The staff is very helpful in giving tips where to go and what to do in Edinburgh.They´ve always got an open ear for you,no matter if it´s just for a chat or a laugh or a problem you might have and their haggis is the best I ever had.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birgit B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 206 in Edinburgh
1,513 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 206 in Edinburgh
1,443 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#15 of 206 in Edinburgh
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Property: Haggis Hostels
Address: 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 206 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing