We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Haggis Hostel is the best ever hostel I had stayed: excellent location, friendly and helpful staff, very clean and tidy bedroom, very good shower, excellent kitchen, etc. I would come back there if coming back to Edinburgh in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thao p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Haggis Hostels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed in this hostel March 2013 for a stag weekend. Hostel is well located just off Princes street, as my first experience of staying in a hostel wasn't sure of what to expect, however the stay was fine. I stayed in a 8 bedroom (4 bunk beds) room was clean and tidy, communal toilets and showers, showers were poor extremely weak stream of water.

Suited us for what we were after however I am sure some budget hotels would be available for similar price and would recommend them before staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Haggis Hostel is in a great location, but unfortunately the actual accommodations are very basic for the price. The bunkbed was wobbly and falling apart, the pillow was about the thickness of a towel and they nickle and dime you at the hostel. They charge for wifi (the only place on my trip that did this), towel rentals and locker rentals. From the description of the hostel I was expecting a lot more for the price I was paying. However the staff were very helpful and the hostel was very clean. Despite them bragging about the showers they were only about average.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christopher d, Owner at Haggis Hostels, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2013

Dear Robin,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We do wish that you had raised any concerns about the bed or pillows during your stay and we would dealt with your concerns there and then. We would have supplied extra or a different type of pillow. We provide guest computers with 24 hour unlimited access In the reception area completely free of charge. Some guests prefer this as they do not travel with laptops. We feel that Wifi at £3.00 for 24 hours or £5.00 per week is reasonable as our competitors charges range from £5.00 per day or £1.00 per hour. We would love to be able to give all of these services for free but instead keep our bed price as reasonable as possible so that you may choose these extras if you wish. We take great pride in providing an affordable accommodation option right in Edinburgh's city centre and to do this we must charge for some things. We do offer a range of Free guest benefits such as Free Breakfast, Free tea and coffee facilities all day, Free 24 hour internet access, Free clean white linen and of course a Free Smile!
We do hope you will return to stay with us n the future and please do not forget to let us know you are a return guest to receive your extra 10% discount.
Many Thanks,
The Haggis Hostels Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

I was pleased to find about Haggis Hostels. The rooms are very comfortable, the facilities very good and the staff very friendly and helpful. It is also convenient as it is right in the centre of Edinburgh just off Princes Street and in spite of that the prices are not at all expensive.
I'd recommend this as a place to stay.
I enjoyed chatting to travellers from several countries while I was there.
Just make sure you are able to climb a lot of stairs to get to the hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Paid a lot for one night stay, and the pictures shown on the website (not haggis, 3rd party) did not reflect the hostel at all. I have stated in other hostels for 1/4 the price for roughly similar lodgings. It's clean, it's ok, it's central, but there are a lot of stairs to the hostel, and it's definitely overpriced. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Zeckz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Among the many hostels that I've stayed in, Haggis Hostel is possibly the first to exceed my expectation!

The hostel is located in a super central location; A minute walk from Prince Street and 5 minutes walk to the old town/ Royal Mile. So in terms of convenience, Haggis Hostel is the one to stay in.

The rooms are all basic furnished but it is kept really clean ( Even the bathrooms). What I really like though is that there's a personal power plug for each bed so I can charge my devices anytime I want. Had a really comfortable stay here. The only issue is that the bed seems to creak a little, but this is no biggie.

What really blew me away was the service I received. The owners were extremely welcoming. They are always organizing tours for their guests so the whole atmosphere is really cozy. One of the owner treated us to some pastries when he saw us coming back to the hostel tired and hungry. On the day that we checked out, both of the owners even asked if they could help to carry our luggage down the flight of stairs for us.

All in all, I will recommend anyone traveling to Edinburgh to stay here! You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngelynTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

I stayed at the Haggis Hostel for the duaration of my visit to Edinburgh for 8 days. It was my first time overseas EVER and I was all alone.

The biggest tip I can give is that as a young female alone, overseas for the first time - I felt safe at Haggis.

Off the bat you're welcomed in and set up in your room with sheets and a key. Lockers are provided for a smal fee.

Lots of brochures on hand for those wanting to do various highland tours and the staff are super helpful with their knowledge of the best companies to go with.
I had a few different room mates during my time, some I met and were lovely, others I would only see on coming abck to sleep and the next day they were gone.

The beds are comfy enough and the hostel it's self is pretty central location to everything (know your way around on a bus and you're set!)

The only hassle small people like myself may have is getting your luggage upstairs on arrival. It's a good excersie, but lots of funny little paintings to keep your spirits up!

Would definately stay again on returing to Edinburgh.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
Thank Keely-kcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Address: 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £19 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing