We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing trip in Edinburgh”
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing trip in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Haggis hostel is the best place for backpackers, travelers students and normal tourists as well. I spent here just one night but I enjoy the place. The hostel is clean, very well located, the employees are very friendly and professional, and one can find all the facilities. It's perfect if one wants to visit Edinburgh with a cheap budget and without any trouble. I'll come back and I'll suggest this place to all my friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarioSmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    105
    38
    8
    10
See reviews for
10
18
226
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Apart from having to walk up a bit to the hostel on 3rd floor (which wasn't that bad after doing it a few times), friendly staff, clean room, great location makes it a really great place to stay in Edinburgh. I would recommend this place for anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tozenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Walking up the stairs to this hostel, I admit to some apprehension, but the hostel was clean and adequate. The rooms were small, but this was the only hostel of 10 or so that provided lockers for guests--a nice addition. Bathrooms were clean, plenty of hot water and the hosts were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Didn't initially know what to think of this hostel when I initially checked in, but after thinking about it for a few days (and a second stay a week later), it was really quite good.
Good location, just accross the bridge form the royal mile, and right on Princess street (good for shopping).
Really clean, and you can tell its been freshly rennovated, thought not 100% convinced about the "universal" power sockets - my australian plugs still required an adaptor
Watch out for the stairs on arrival, its onthe 4th floor of the building
Really comfortable beds, but the bunks are really low, so if you have the bottom bunk, be aware that even the shortest of people will sit-up and hit their head.
Not the friendliest of hostels that I have ever stayed in, the common room is really small and pokey.
The breakfast in the mornings are pretty awesome. the only hostel I;ve stayed in that has fresh fruit, croissants and awesome english muffins....the layout of the table and chairs needs some work though, as you trip over each other trying to sit down or get to the fridges etc

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieSunshine84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Very clean, very friendly, very central and really quiet. Was perfect for my last night in edinburgh and to catch an early train. Plug socket by each bed, nice kitchen. The only thing i would be aware of is the lockers are quite small...my case didnt fit in. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richgreenw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

the cleanest hostel i've come across in my travels. Best smelling Towels and Linens. Very close for everything in Edinburgh, Great staff too. I recommend staying here!! I stayed in the 4bed female dorm, and i can't fault it. A bit of pub noise on the weekend, but it is the festival month, and once you close the window it blocks out the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rara_t2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Affordable, within minutes away from the Waverley train station, this Hostel is a great choice for people who come in the city just for a couple of days. The hostel is clean, tidy, bathrooms were amazing and breakfast is included. The rooms are a bit narrow ( having so many beds in one room) and you have to do the awkward dance of: "excuse me, pardon me, i'll just squeeze myself out" with the other residents. The staff is very friendly, informative and can give you a lot of inside information as most of them were born and raised in Edinburgh. Internet is for free and there are computers you can use at the lobby free of charge as well. You need to check out at 10am but if your train doesn't leave till later on in the day (like mine) they can storage your bag for the whole day (if needed) for a £2 fee. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaBella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,812 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 212 in Edinburgh
1,530 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 212 in Edinburgh
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Property: Haggis Hostels
Address: 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing