We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation”
Review of Haystack Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Haystack Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Hostel was spotlessly clean with excellent amenities. The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable (mine had a memory foam topper) and if you need anything the staff were more than happy to help. Its location is roughly 5 minutes from the train station, if that, and the staff were on hand 24 hours to give information on events in the city or where is good to go for food and drink. I would recommend this to everyone and will definitely be staying again on my next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelDownie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at this hostel several times over the summer. It was always kept very clean and the people who work there were all nice and friendly. It's in a great position right across the road from the train station and easy walking distance to all places of interest

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chelsea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This was my first hostel but I was very impressed. The front desk staff were super friendly and the accommodations were clean. The on site computers with internet access were helpful for travel research along with all the guide books on hand.

The people staying at the hostel were really nice and very approachable. Overall not very loud either which was a plus. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 880Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The blanket is of excellent quality, the bed is spacious, the bathroom is clean and the staffs were always more than happy to help me. Not to mention the location which is close to everything. The only downside is that the heater wasn't warm enough so my room was a bit cold. However thanks to the thick blanket I still had a comfortable sleep.

Note that the lockers are so small that they didn't fit my Easyjet - sized suitcase. Also they charge a fee for towel/locker/luggage storage/internet (students get the internet free?). But overall the price for these services are quite reasonable compared to other hostels/Waverly left luggage.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Okigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was a clean and ever so convenient hostel. There is no lift, but the spiral stairway is colorfully decorated and a good exercise before wandering around Edinburgh. Allan, who looks and acts like Bert in Mary Poppins, personalized the hostel, and he knows the best sights and how to get to them. There are lots of kitchen accessories and a grocery store nearby. It only takes a couple of minutes to get to Waverley Station, Princes Street, and the tour bus stops. I'll certainly stay there again when I come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlabamaBob18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had a great visit my first time in Edinburgh. Chris and Al (and the rest of the staff) were very helpful and helped make my trip that much more enjoyable. The hostel is very clean and comfortable and entirely great. Also, the best beds and sheets of any hostel I've stayed in! I will definitely be staying there again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brant F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Great location, only 2 - 3 minutes from the rail station. can walk to everywhere, bus stop, station, edinburgh castle, monument, old town, new town..., welcoming staff, would like to stay at this hostel again when coming back to Edinburgh,

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Tho N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#15 of 218 in Edinburgh
481 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#20 of 218 in Edinburgh
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,653 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#27 of 218 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haystack Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haystack Hostels

Address: 5/3 West Register Street | 3rd Floor, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland (Formerly Haggis Hostels)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £9 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haystack Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new hostel located in the heart of Edinburgh. We offer everything you need to explore our beautiful city of Edinburgh! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Haystack Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haystack Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing