We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hostel in great location”
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hostel is in the perfect location in central Edinburgh. Prices are extremely reasonable and good value for money for what you get. There is a 4 hour window for continental breakfast (which is included in the nightly rate), and they are not regimental about the times if some guests are still eating or go for breakfast a few minutes before the scheduled close. Hostel owners are friendly and accommodating but expect that guests assist with keeping the establishment and common areas clean. This is very important in a hostel and was very appealing. Showers are new and clean, as are the toilets. Another really cool thing is that they offer multinational electrical sockets right next to each bed! Hostel offers 2 computers with Internet access free of charge for those who don't have wifi devices. If you want to use wifi, there is a nominal fee per day, which is absolutely fair enough. After experiencing a stay in this hostel, it is safe to say that the good reviews are definitely accurate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JosephAU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Haggis Hostels
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2014

Loved this hostel! It was a bit quiet though as it's not in the busy season, I would've liked to meet more people and hear chatter in the kitchen/common room but can't have everything! Staff were very friendly and helpful, kitchen was clean and functioning with a great yummy breakfast in the morning. I had a 4 person female dorm and stayed for 2 nights, the first night there was only 1 other girl in the dorm and the second night I was on my lonesome! Beds were comfortable with enough blankets to keep you warm, although pillows were a little flat (doesn't matter). I like how they provided you with a cover for the doona as well as a fitted sheet and pillow case. I used the upgrade offer on the website (if you book directly with them) and got free wifi, a locker and a towel too. Bathrooms are clean, although some of the showers don't have great pressure or are either very hot or cold. The wifi worked on my phone but not on my computer at all which was slightly annoying. It is a bit of a climb to the top but worth it. The hostel is in a perfect location, everything is in walking distance including tours, the main train station, pubs, supermarkets and of course beautiful buildings. Wish I could've stayed longer! It was a little noisy as the building next door was being renovated but no biggie.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cinta_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very helpfull staff, clean and keeping in good temperature rooms. Free breakfast was enjoyable - you just can make yourself a cup of coffee, tea, take a fanta from fridge, make cereal with milk, waffles etc. Not this OR this, but BOTH :) 10/10 for this price and location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Konrad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Haggis Hostel is very clean, 4 showers, breakfast included, nice, friendly and helpful staff, very good location, social people. I stayed there for 10 days and I did not have a bad day! I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for about a week, While the stairs are a climb, the dorm room quite tight, the helpful staff and great kitchen made up for that. Anyone heading to Edinburgh, needing a place close to trains, buses, tourist attractions, this is a great place. I was able to do all that I wanted based on the help of Chris and his staff. The dorms and shower and kitchen facilities are great and clean! I hope to stay again on a longer stay in Scotland in the future. Also, for me it was not a 20something party hostel--there are plenty of those around!

Room Tip: if privacy is your aim get a 4 dorm room..the BIG 10 dorm rooms are quite noisy and very tight
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 183fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A really, really clean and comfortable hostel. The bed was really comfy. I stayed over New Years and the staff were amazingly friendly and accommodating. Yes, the stairs are scary to begin with (when you have your bags with you!), but you get used to them (just take your time and take care, haha!). I paid 3-4 times more than the usual price because of Hogmaney, but knowing the regular price, I'd stay there again and again on any other visits to Edinburgh. Thanks guys!

Room Tip: I stayed in a 8-person dorm and didn't have any issues with fellow travellers, but, I'd go f...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LozNger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Haggis Hostel over New Years and it was awesome.

The place is on the 4th floor with stairs but it doesnt end up bothering you at all as everything is excellent. Comfortable beds, always kept so clean, really friendly staff and amazing central location back off a main street.

Would definitely recommend to budget travelers looking for a great hostel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank sairrjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,852 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Address: 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £19 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing