We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hostel in a great location”
Review of Haggis Hostels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Haggis Hostels
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean hostel in a great location”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

At just a 5 min walk from the Edinburgh city centre station, the place was at a brilliant location. The staff was extremely hospitable, voluntarily suggested that we should go on the walking tour and made us comfortable. The 8 bed dorm room was spacious, with lockers available at a 1 pound deposit. Beds and sheets clean, showers and toilets good as well. Breakfast room was well equipped with free to eat/drink items as well as juices you can buy. They have 3 computers in case you want to use the internet, touristy maps and guides you can pick up and you can always check out and leave your bags at the reception for a nominal fee. All in all, a great experience. Recommend it to a weekend traveler or even for a longer stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anirudh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    104
    38
    8
    10
See reviews for
9
18
226
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Well located in the center of Edinburgh, absolute hygiene, well organized, friendly and competent staff, good cooking facilities. Family environment. I will return for sure.
Security lockers, central heating, good showers.
Recommend as well.
Daniel R. Costa
Portugal

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hostel is in the perfect location in central Edinburgh. Prices are extremely reasonable and good value for money for what you get. There is a 4 hour window for continental breakfast (which is included in the nightly rate), and they are not regimental about the times if some guests are still eating or go for breakfast a few minutes before the scheduled close. Hostel owners are friendly and accommodating but expect that guests assist with keeping the establishment and common areas clean. This is very important in a hostel and was very appealing. Showers are new and clean, as are the toilets. Another really cool thing is that they offer multinational electrical sockets right next to each bed! Hostel offers 2 computers with Internet access free of charge for those who don't have wifi devices. If you want to use wifi, there is a nominal fee per day, which is absolutely fair enough. After experiencing a stay in this hostel, it is safe to say that the good reviews are definitely accurate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JosephAU2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Loved this hostel! It was a bit quiet though as it's not in the busy season, I would've liked to meet more people and hear chatter in the kitchen/common room but can't have everything! Staff were very friendly and helpful, kitchen was clean and functioning with a great yummy breakfast in the morning. I had a 4 person female dorm and stayed for 2 nights, the first night there was only 1 other girl in the dorm and the second night I was on my lonesome! Beds were comfortable with enough blankets to keep you warm, although pillows were a little flat (doesn't matter). I like how they provided you with a cover for the doona as well as a fitted sheet and pillow case. I used the upgrade offer on the website (if you book directly with them) and got free wifi, a locker and a towel too. Bathrooms are clean, although some of the showers don't have great pressure or are either very hot or cold. The wifi worked on my phone but not on my computer at all which was slightly annoying. It is a bit of a climb to the top but worth it. The hostel is in a perfect location, everything is in walking distance including tours, the main train station, pubs, supermarkets and of course beautiful buildings. Wish I could've stayed longer! It was a little noisy as the building next door was being renovated but no biggie.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cinta_Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Very helpfull staff, clean and keeping in good temperature rooms. Free breakfast was enjoyable - you just can make yourself a cup of coffee, tea, take a fanta from fridge, make cereal with milk, waffles etc. Not this OR this, but BOTH :) 10/10 for this price and location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konrad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Haggis Hostel is very clean, 4 showers, breakfast included, nice, friendly and helpful staff, very good location, social people. I stayed there for 10 days and I did not have a bad day! I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I stayed here for about a week, While the stairs are a climb, the dorm room quite tight, the helpful staff and great kitchen made up for that. Anyone heading to Edinburgh, needing a place close to trains, buses, tourist attractions, this is a great place. I was able to do all that I wanted based on the help of Chris and his staff. The dorms and shower and kitchen facilities are great and clean! I hope to stay again on a longer stay in Scotland in the future. Also, for me it was not a 20something party hostel--there are plenty of those around!

Room Tip: if privacy is your aim get a 4 dorm room..the BIG 10 dorm rooms are quite noisy and very tight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 183fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#12 of 212 in Edinburgh
1,527 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 212 in Edinburgh
1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haggis Hostels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haggis Hostels

Property: Haggis Hostels
Address: 5/3 West Register Street, Edinburgh EH2 2AA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Haggis Hostels 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Haggis Hostel in Edinburgh. We are Edinburgh's premier affordable accommodation provider and Edinburgh s Best Hostel. With the most central location of any hostel in Edinburgh. We should be your first choice when looking for accommodation in Edinburgh. The hostel is in a newly renovated Georgian building (1838), and is fully equipped with all the facilities you need to make your stay in Edinburgh a memorable one. The hostel rooms are all clean and spacious, and are equipped with international sockets, so you don't need to go scrabbling around for an adapter just to charge your phone. If you're looking for the most friendly, comfortable hostel in Edinburgh, then you've found it. We've tried hard to think of all the things you'll need to make your stay a happy one, you can trust Haggis Hostels. We also specialise in exclusive hire and cater for groups offering full catering facilities, excursions and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Haggis Hostels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haggis Hostels Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing