We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As long as you like bagels and elephants, this is a winner!”
Review of Elephants & Bagels

Elephants & Bagels
Ranked #700 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$8
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: It is not a typical restaurant- it's rather a cosy coffee/bagel shop- very worth writing about!!! Loved by students and anyone who is looking for good food to eat quickly, sit in a quiet place but without restaurant's glam and fuss.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“As long as you like bagels and elephants, this is a winner!”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 via mobile

A very lovely little independent cafe, with some fantastic decorations. The bagels are delicious, too and the drinks are good. I like this place a lot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    47
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit pricey for what you get”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

It is in a really convenient location and the concept is nice. The environment is pleasant, you can draw and colour elephants using the material provided. However I find the price for a simple bagel that leaves you hungry two hours later a bit steep.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaLya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Could have been great.”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

I work in a coffee shop so it was hard for me to get over the fact that they don't have very good health regulations here. If that type of thing doesn't bother you, then i'm sure their bagels are great. But as I was standing in line I watched the girl who worked there touch people's money and wipe her nose with her hand and then directly touched the customer's bagel. The other worker had been sitting down to lunch and licked her fingers and did not even wash her hands before going back behind the counter. After I watched her do this several times, I decided to just get a pack of chips. It's a great vibe, they should just invest in buying some plastic gloves or tongs, or utilizing a hand-washing sink.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMelmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Bagels Ever!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Elephants and bagels has the best bagels i've ever tasted! such a great selection and reasonably priced, also has a student discount! :)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank topiwopi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“great for breakfast”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

spinach bagel with bacon and tomato - lovely! great range of bagels and fillings. love all the elephant pictures form kids which cover the walls
we had a take away and the coffee was very decent

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephants & Bagels also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Elephants & Bagels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing