We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informal, Imaginitive.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Auld Hoose

The Auld Hoose
Ranked #310 of 2,438 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$13
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: The Home Of Edinburgh's Largest Nachos! We serve quality pub food in nice big portions. Favourites include our famous nachos, burgers, hot dogs and burritos. Lots of our dishes are vegetarian and many are vegan. We are very passionate about beer. We serve Brewdog's Punk IPA and Brooklyn Lager permanently, and our guest ale comes from craft breweries such as Alechemy, Dark Star, Five Points, Fyne Ale, Magic Rock, Moor, Summer Wine and Tiny Rebel. Our jukebox is legendary in Edinburgh for having the best selection of metal, punk and goth music. Bands such as Alice In Chains, Black Flag, Danzig, Deftones, Kyuss, Mastodon, Nick Cave, Nitzer Ebb, Rage Against The Machine and Tiger Army make up the soundtrack to a stay in The Auld Hoose. Children are not permitted on the premises at any time, and we don't take reservations. Oh yeah, students get a 10% discount on all food purchases!
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Informal, Imaginitive.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Good Beer Guide entry pub. Pleasant, slightly alternative feel to it. Probably aimed at the student market but this 58 yo did not feel out of place. Fairly small but imaginitive menu. Good value. Not a destination type meal in itself but ideal place for fairly cheap but tasty food. I had the veggie falafel burger which was a meal in itself. Plenty of veggie options with excellent, regularly changing real ales and welcoming friendly staff.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WestBromwichBaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    52
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Nachos and Real Ale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Found this place on our trip to Scotland via my brother who was living 2 blocks away. Went there 3 different times during our trip and loved each time. They serve real ale and the casks are constantly changing. They have a great selection of ciders and beers. They have some delicious pub food also. The nachos are enough for about 3 people are better than any nachos I've had back in Canada or New England. Highly recommended. I also had the bacon and brie for lunch once which was awesome. A great little spot for a drink and bite

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Cape_Show
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best for nachos !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

The biggest and best nachos I have ever seen.... fabulous!
Waiters are really cool! I often go to that pub because it's our favorite for mexican food

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank missy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic last minute find on Mothers' Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Planned to have lunch with husband and son and, at the last minute thought to look for somewhere dog-friendly to include the fur-kids. Thank goodness we did. Food was lovely - veggie-burgers can be pretty awful but I suspected theirs might be good and wasn't wrong. Had it with brie and sweet chilli sauce on top and it was brilliant. The menfolk had steak & ale pie and haggis and they loved it too. Also in it's favour, most of the items on the menu had a veggie equivalent, so I'll definitely be back. We saw a plate of the nachos going to the next table and it was immense!!! The girl who served us - the owner perhaps? was lovely and she was a big dog fan, especially greyhounds - she has 2 - so was delighted to have our hound and giant lab cross in, despite the fact that they lay down and took up half the floor so she had to keep stepping over them! Dog biscuits & water were complimentary. Fantastic place, food and service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank aquagerbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Vegan heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Though not a vegan pub, the choice of vegan dishes is excellent. All in a Mexican style with the option of vegan cheese. They use Cheesly which is a good brand and tasty. The quantities are big. No walking out hungry here! the waitress/barlady was very friendly and knowledgeable about all the meals, beers and whiskeys. Atmosphere is good and friendly and though they play heavy metal which is not my kind of music, it was kept at a very reasonable level so we could chat without having to shout. Don't change a thing!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Bix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Auld Hoose also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Auld Hoose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing