We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Student Bar?”
Review of The Auld Hoose

The Auld Hoose
Ranked #252 of 2,784 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$16
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Southside & Holyrood
Description: The Home Of Edinburgh's Largest Nachos! We serve quality pub food in nice big portions. Favourites include our famous nachos, burgers, hot dogs and burritos. Lots of our dishes are vegetarian and many are vegan. We are very passionate about beer. We serve Brewdog's Punk IPA and Brooklyn Lager permanently, and our guest ale comes from craft breweries such as Alechemy, Dark Star, Five Points, Fyne Ale, Magic Rock, Moor, Summer Wine and Tiny Rebel. Our jukebox is legendary in Edinburgh for having the best selection of metal, punk and goth music. Bands such as Alice In Chains, Black Flag, Danzig, Deftones, Kyuss, Mastodon, Nick Cave, Nitzer Ebb, Rage Against The Machine and Tiger Army make up the soundtrack to a stay in The Auld Hoose. Children are not permitted on the premises at any time, and we don't take reservations. Oh yeah, students get a 10% discount on all food purchases!
Reviewed 22 June 2018

Nice venue. Efficient service from the gentlemen behind the bar. This appears to be more of a student type bar. Plenty of choices for alcohol available. Decor is nice and relaxed.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Ghostcymru13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Manager at The Auld Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Hi Ghostcymru13,

Thank you so much for your great review, very much appreciated! Come back and see us when you're next in Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2018

My husband and I came across The Auld Hoose while walking around beautiful Edinburgh, and we decided to pop in for a quick drink. Hungry from our travels, we got an order of the small nachos to go along with our drinks, to hold us over until dinner. Well, the small nachos are the absolute antithesis of small - enormous is probably the correct way to describe them! I cannot even imagine how huge the large nachos are! Fortunately, they were very good, and after eating about 2/3, we were absolutely stuffed. The bartenders were very pleasant, and prices were reasonable - we’d definitely return the next time we’re in Edinburgh.

1  Thank delphi927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Manager at The Auld Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Hi Delphi927,

Thanks so much for your great review, it's very much appreciated! Look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Me and my friend are college students and we went to Auld Hoose while we were traveling in Edinburgh. We ordered drinks and of course the nachos. They did not disappoint. It was a little crowded when we got there but if it’s crowded, just be patient! I highly recommend this spot! Such good food and drinks and there were a ton of young people.

1  Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Manager at The Auld Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Paige,

Thank you so much for your great review, very much appreciated! Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Whilst in Edinburgh we selected The Auld Hoose due to their much publicised nachos which seem to get rave reviews. Unfortunately, having walked over 1.5 miles to reach them we were told upon setting foot in the door “sorry guys no one under the age of 18 is allowed”. It would be nice if this was clearly noted on either their website or indeed outside the pub. Had we know this sooner I could have saved the moans and groans from my wife and daughter who then had to turn around and walk all the way back again. Families beware and don’t bother trying to go there

3  Thank Larry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan W, Manager at The Auld Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Hi Larry,

It is clearly stated on our website that we don't allow kids into the pub, there is also a sign at the door. I'm sorry that you had a fruitless journey, but I'm not sure what more we could have done?

Kind regards,

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

This used to be an accepting alternative pub. 
This is no longer true. The welcome received here will entirely depend on how well you fit their idea of what customers they want. If you don't fit, tough.

Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Auld Hoose also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Auld Hoose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing