We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful small hotel”
Review of No 32 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No 32 Hotel
Ranked #167 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delightful small hotel”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a three day break. We found the owners and all members of staff very welcoming and friendly. The hotel itself is spacious and well decorated and provided everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The breakfasts each morning, were excellent and with a good choice. It is situated just off Haymarket and takes about 15-20mins to walk to Waverly Bridge area. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone visiting the elegant and lovely city of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jontoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    102
    53
    21
    27
See reviews for
42
192
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the No 32 last weekend and had a really nice stay and enjoyed being in Edinburgh for the first time. The hotel was really nice, nicely decorated throughout and our room was decorated to a good standard too. We had booked to have the breakfast each morning but due to wanting to get up early to see the most we could, we decided to not have the breakfast.

The check-in process was a little strange. We arrived and a gentleman spoke to us, he didn't seem like he knew what was happening and when we told him the name the booking was under he spent a long time staring into the check-in book and said our name wasn't down. We showed him the booking form and he still had an issue. He went up to a room we believe and then came back down and said there was a room for us, well I hoped there was because my partners parents had already paid for the room. In total the checking process took about 15 minutes and once he had stopped faffing around, he gave us our keys.
That night we came back to the hotel and we were greeted by him again and he asked if we'd checked in, well we had the door key, so that was a bit of a give-away.

The room was a little cold at times as the radiator didn't work and as the windows were old sash windows, and the curtains were very thin it meant the room didn't warm up at all. The mattress was incredibly soft, and not in a very good way. We both had an uncomfortable first nights sleep due to this. Apart from these few areas we both had a lovely time.

Thank you

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is a great little gem in one of my favourite cities. We were upgraded to the duluxe room free of charge which obviously made it even more enjoyable. The staff are great and very helpful. Our room was very clean and very modern. I will defiantly be looking to stay again on my next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryane88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Found a lovely jem in the most beautiful City, bright, very clean and comfortable, especially the bed! Most of all the reception of the welcoming staff, they could not do enough to make our stay enjoyable, with great tips on special places in Edinburgh and a lovely breakfast -all done with care and thought.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JacquiB63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

It is not the first time I say it: Best place for quality-price in Edinburgh.

I came back again after last year as my experience was great and could not believe my surprise when I found out that the hotel was even better in terms of everything.

First, the hotel has been refurbished and redecorated and it looks so smart with a nice bar area with many drink on offer.

Second, the rooms look so much nicer and they are always so clean and I never thought that would be possible and the best part of this is THE BED. It is so nice to be somewhere else and have the best night sleep.

The hotel is a family business and this can be seen by its atmosphere. The staff is so friendly and helped me so much again.

Finally, breakfast is still really good and this time I was offer a much wider variety of food than last time so even better :)

To sum up, never stay somewhere different from No. 32 Hotel!

Room Tip: Stayed in two separate rooms and both perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_mendivil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

No 32 Hotel is in a quiet residential area, close to Haymarket, yet an easy walk to the bustle of the city centre ( or Murrayfield rugby ground). This large Victorian house has been recently refurbished and converted to a small hotel. The bedrooms were very clean, with pleasant modern decor and the public rooms are attractive and contemporary. (The bathrooms are tiny but functional and spotlessly clean) The owners gave helpful personal service, ordering taxis, providing maps, allowing us to leave our bags after we had checked out etc. There is free wifi. If you are looking for a small well run establishment to use as a base when exploring the sights and restaurants of Edinburgh - then this could be it. No 32 is not large or grand but then neither are its prices, in a city where accommodation is scarce and relatively high in cost. We were a party of 6 people staying in the city during a busy six nations rugby weekend and felt we were well looked after. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goanpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel had smart, modern and clean rooms. The staff polite and helpful making sure we knew where we were going. There was a decent breakfast. The hotel was quiet and peaceful. An ideal base for seeing Edinburgh. I would happily stay there again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Noakesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Piries Hotel
Piries Hotel
#132 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
West End
The Lairg
The Lairg
#62 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#17 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Edinburgh Townhouse
The Edinburgh Townhouse
#39 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
West End
Haymarket Hotel
Haymarket Hotel
#84 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Ashgrovehouse Hotel
#132 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 32 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 32 Hotel

Property: No 32 Hotel
Address: 32 Coates Gardens, Edinburgh EH12 5LE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — No 32 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your No 32 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No 32 Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing