We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food & service, a gem of a place!”

La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh
Ranked #70 of 2,483 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Description: Casual & cosy Italian Bar & Bistro. Serving Coffee & Tea, breakfast, meals, home made cakes & a selection of wine & beer on Cockburn Street, Edinburgh. Open 8am til' Late..
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & service, a gem of a place!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Visited town this week to enjoy the sunny day, and decided to walk down the Royal Mile and was surprised at the number of food offerings available. Stumbled on this place almost by accident, but what a real 'gem' of a find.
Lovely interior, service was so friendly & welcoming, and the food all tasted genuinely home cooked!!! There was a lovely buzz about the place which added to the overall dining experience.

Will definitely return and have no hesitation in recommending you drop in on your next visit to town!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis_Pierre1, Public Relations Manager at La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you Andrew for the lovely review. It is really appreciated that you enjoyed your overall dining experience as this is what we are striving to achieve for all our customers. We look forward to seeing you again Andrew and please spread the word.

All the best from Marina and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    104
    23
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian gem”
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Called in for early dinner on last night of our trip after reading other reviews and we weren't disappointed. We had the meatballs that other reviewers have praised and the fritata. They were both excellent. Followed with ice cream and cherry desert. Heavenly! Young staff keen to please. Small so best to book.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hpoolgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis_Pierre1, Public Relations Manager at La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It's always nice to know that our customers enjoy their food when dining at Locandamarina. We also pride ourselves on the service our staff provides and we have always got great feedback about them.

If your in the area in the future we would love to see you again.

All the best from Marina and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
197 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Top notch italian meal”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Had a really lovely authentic italian meal at this place, a lovely Italian sausage meal, with spicy mustard pickle, and a lovely salad. Wife and boy had a lovely meatball dish. Great authentic real italian food, amazing place, Great staff, a real hidden gem in Edinburgh

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis_Pierre1, Public Relations Manager at La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you Bazonian. We are delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Locandamarina. It means so much to all the staff to hear these great reviews as we really do put alot of effort into making sure the food, service and experience is of a very high standard and enjoyable.

All the best from Marina and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
577 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Really enjoyed our breakfast here. I had a full scottish/English which had excellent bacon, black pudding etc. My daughter had their scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Coffee was really good. This is not cheap but really good value for money.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis_Pierre1, Public Relations Manager at La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you Jim. We are delighted to hear you really enjoyed our breakfast and coffee. We only use the best ingredients sourced from our local butcher. In regards to our coffee we really do believe we serve the best one in Edinburgh. Hope to serve you and your family again soon.

All the best from Marina and all the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Lovely little place, great food.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Locandamarina really impressed us on our recent NYE trip to Edinburgh. Great tasting home-cooked Italian food - my 4 year old had the meatballs and I couldn't stop picking at them! - with very friendly and efficient service, at a reasonable price. Our son was warmly welcomed and even got treated to a couple of marshmallows for being good at dinner! Will definitely return the next time we're up in Edinburgh.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mattoleary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francis_Pierre1, Public Relations Manager at La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Thank you Matt. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Locandamarina. It was a pleasure to serve you and your lovely family. Hope to see you and your family again next time you are up in Edinburgh.

All the best from Marina and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to La Locanda Italian Bistro Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing