We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruan Siam - CLOSED

Ruan Siam
Price range: US$12 - US$37
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: New Town
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

We had a lovely meal on Saturday 22nd Feb 2014, really nice. The staff were very friendly and attentive, the food was great and very decent portions too. Nothing seemed overpriced either, considering what other Edinburgh restaurants can be like. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mickleby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    20
    13
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Appalling main courses”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Staff were pleasant and service for starters and drinks was ok . However things went downhill rapidly - they were only concerned with their carry out trade and we were kept waiting for an hour or so for our main courses. When they finally arrived they were hugely disappointing - bland, repetitive and very much tasting the same - didn't recognise the duck - tasted like low quality beef!
I would never return - might be ok for a carry out if you weren't too choosy about what you ate .

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomtom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Edinburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Without a doubt the tastiest Thai food we have eaten in Edinburgh. Jay the owner is a great guy and always makes us feel welcome. Lots to choose from and very authentic. Great value food and great taste.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stangelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lesson Learned”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We made our last visit to this restaurant some years ago, and it was wonderful. This time (January 2014)...not bad, but not great.
We only had two mains: the char-grilled Scottish sirloin on a sizzling platter, and Gung Makahm - jumbo tiger prawns in a tamarind sauce. The prawns were jumbo indeed and the sauce was sweet/sour and tasty, as tamarind ought to be. The steak, however, was tough (cooked perfectly to medium rare) and had a line of gristle right through it.
The house white was excellent - sharp and crisp and under £14 which made it great value. Water was brought to the table without it being requested, which is good.

The service was offhand at best. The restaurant is small and we were made to feel, in that intimate environment, as if we had intruded on a private members' club and were only just tolerated. There were no hand wipes offered, even though both dishes had sticky sauces. Espresso was served (eventually) one at a time. The restaurant was not full, so the reason for this inattention was not obvious. There are much better Thai restaurants in Edinburgh with considerably better service, a more welcoming atmosphere and superior food, beautifully presented. We won't be straying far from them in the future. Lesson learned.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeDickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We had very nice meal tonight here. it is cheap but I think it's worth the price.
I had the GAENG SAPPAROD LYCHEE thai curry - was soo tasty- would highly recommend t.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anchal p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruan Siam also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing