We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of The Fiddlers Arms

The Fiddlers Arms
Ranked #277 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We ate here several times during our 10 days in Edinburgh and had great food and service every time. The mushroom risotto that was the daily special was wonderful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    191
    58
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wouldnt go back!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

WE ate here in April thinking it looked like a traditional lovely Scottish pub with food and drink to match how wrong could you be well very it appears!! I ordered a sandwich which has some kind of dressing/sauce on which wasn't on the menu and wasn't wanted, it made me feel ill for the rest of the day and night, my other half ordered baked potato which was from the microwave and wasn't properly cooked the wine of which we had red and white was the worst we have tasted and then to top it off they charged £27 to rub salt in the wounds sorry but its the truth

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine fishy fayre at Fiddlers!”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

On a particularly dreich day recently, I was out and about in the Grassmarket looking for some lunch and came across The Fiddlers Arms.

I had the fish and chips which was first class and great weekday lunchtime value at around the £5 mark. A nice pint of ale (Deuchars) was the perfect partner.

I'll be back soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Geat night out”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Really good atmosphere, all age groups, fast efficient friendly service. A couple of young guys on guitar evening and day time, very talented so nice to hear live music. Will definitely return on our next visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngelinaWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavala, Greece
Level Contributor
131 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had lunch there on a Saturday. We ordered Highland chicken and the all time classic fish and chips. Our dishes came in good portions! fresh! tasty! and all in good price and in friendly environment with view at the Grassmarket! I must also say that my fish and chips was the best I ever had in a pub! What more can I ask? We left the pub satisfied! I totally recommend this place and I certainly go back in the future!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xosejulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fiddlers Arms also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Fiddlers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing