We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tasty fresh meal”
Review of The Fiddlers Arms

The Fiddlers Arms
Ranked #270 of 2,478 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Old Town
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty fresh meal”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My wife and I had been in a couple of pubs in the Grassmarket and were not impressed with the food. However, we walked past the Fiddlers and said we would try it the next evening. Will go back next time, the food was lovely. I had a gorgeous beef bourguignon pie and my wife had the Edinburger with cheese and bacon. We were offered a taster before buying our beer and the waitress and barman were charming. Price was good, would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    192
    58
    36
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pretty good meal in lovely setting”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I would have liked to give 3.5 stars, because some people in our party were less enthusiastic about their food, but this seemed like the most promising pub for dinner on Grassmarket, situated below the rocks leading up to the castle. I found my "meadows" sandwich tasty and reasonably-priced, with pretty good bread, my wife's burger was good as well. The vegetarian haggis with neeps and tatties was on the bland side, and our friend's pie of the day not quite filling or robust enough.
There's a good selection of beers, and I really liked the Deucher's IPA, on tap. The temperature dropped fairly quickly as we sat out on the patio, but the view is great.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurLyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cheap lunch, decent food”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Went for a 5 quid lunch, had a burger and chips. Was okay, not great. Friends had haggis, teets and tatties that was decent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Haley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Little Pub”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Staff was very friendly, clean bathrooms, superb location. Stopped in for a break during a tour and had a glass of wine and some hot chocolate for the kids!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsmckemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Iowa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We ate here several times during our 10 days in Edinburgh and had great food and service every time. The mushroom risotto that was the daily special was wonderful!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kent1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fiddlers Arms also viewed

Edinburgh, Scotland
Edinburgh, Scotland
 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to The Fiddlers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing