We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at Residence Inn recently and can only commende the staff, the comfort of the room and the very kind willingness to allow us to check in early on arrival. We didn't find the location as good as other visitors because their are more central hotels but overall, our stay was faultless with all requirements accounted for such as printing off our boarding passes upon departure, holding onto our bags until we were ready to leave later that day, all dealt with with outstanding courtesy and accord.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zeplindiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in August 2012 and could not have been more impressed with the staff. The rooms were nice, per Marriott standards, since we have yet to have a bad stay in a Marriott. Yes, the rooms were a bit warm, but it's Europe and A/C isn't standard. We were only there one night and didn't see the fan that was in the closet until in the morning so that would have largely contributed to our comfort but was our mistake.

I will caution that the hotel is a bit hard to find if you are in your own vehicle (even with a gps.) I would advise to do your research before you start the journey. But, you are centrally located for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uf_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After paying 230 pounds for 1 night one would expect to get some service from the hotel. However the staff was so lazy and arrogant that they refused to help us with the luggage or to give us a helping hand carrying the baggage to the taxi. They simply refused! Unbelievable... Never experienced such rudeness before.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This is pretty much what you would expect from a Residence Inn -- high-quality decor and furnishings, kitchenette, etc etc and in a great location only 10 minutes stroll from the city centre. We were very comfortable and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Wasn't cheap tho. Regarding comments made in other reviews, we reacted to reports about over-heated rooms and were given a room on a lower floor and this was a comfortable temperature. Seems the hotel has no air-conditioning and as it's a largely glass building temperatures can build up in the sunshine. Other reviews commented on the lack of space in the breakfast area. It is indeed too small but we had no difficulty finding a table at 8:15am on Friday and Saturday mornings. Got crowded later. If you drive here and use the NCP car park next to the hotel, be sure to get the hotel to validate your parking ticket to get a discount before you pay at the machine. We did use the car park and had no trouble finding a parking space.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor. If you use the NCP car park next door, be sure to have the hotel v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikedee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a bank holiday weekend. Rooms were good, large and clean.It had fridge, sink, cutlery, dishwasher, toaster, kettle and microwave which was handy given there is a sainsbury's 2 minutes from the hotel. The beds were reasonably comfortable. Room has mounted flatscreen tv, but in our room it was on the wall to the side of the bed insted of in front of the bed ... to be fair though there is a couch which faces the tv so i guess they put it there expecting you to watch it from the couch (I know, minor detail but im just giving a full discription of the room!).

Bathroom had a large walk in shower which is great.

The hotel was walking distance to local attractions and shops/bars. It is beside a large park area and Edinburgh University.

I found it to be very well priced as it included breakfast, although if i stayed again id prob just go to sainsbury's (i didn't like the breakfast, eggs and ham tasted funny!)

Anyone who requires a good gym in a hotel, this wouldn't be suitable as it only has a tiny one. But there is a pure gym beside it which you could just pay to use if you wanted.

All in all, would stay again if I was in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I think this is a really nice hotel. After arriving early from an international flight, they got me a cup of tea in their lounge and got my room ready in about 30 min (3 hours before check-in).

The rooms are very spacious, clean, and nicely decorated.

My one issue was the hardwood floors which I believe was the culprit in carrying sound from one room to the next. I could hear my next door neighbor turn on his light switches, talking with friends, and watching tv all night long. So, until they figure out how to soundproof these rooms, you better bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eton_Rifles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

The title speaks for itself, but I want to give more details. I want to say "ditto" about size and cleanliness of the rooms, great location and adequate breakfast. My husband, two high school kids and I have been traveling since July 28, 2012, and started the trip in Edinburgh. It was a little tricky finding the hotel, initially, as the Simpson Loan location was not readily recognized as an address by the first several people we asked. However, one astute merchant knew exactly how to direct us, and we found it in a quiet and new development just above the Meadows. Once there, we had nothing but the highest quality and friendly service. There were many people who stood out, but only two names I knew because they were consistently available to help us. Ross at the front desk helped us from day one, and every single recommendation he made for restaurants and attractions/sights to see were the BEST thank you, Ross!! Svetlana was the evening shift attendant and she also went above and beyond her duty by trying to help me navigate the online Olympic tickets process (success doing that should have been rewarded with a medal of it's own!), and she helped me with other questions during the evening time.

I discovered the free laundry, and decided to use it late one night. When my clothes weren't dry at midnight, one of the overnight attendants offered to dry and fold my clothes, which he did! Even the busboy/helper during the breakfast shift was eager to help me by getting cream for my coffee one morning. We used Edinburgh as our base from which to see the highlands, Lochs, and golfing areas. My family truly enjoyed our 5 nights in Edinburgh due to the wonderful experience we had at the Marriott Residence Inn! Thank you!

Room Tip: If you on the side with a view of the castle-like building, be advised that the people who work in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lamontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,697 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,149 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing