We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

One is welcomed by warm friendly smiles from helpful staff the moment you walk through the door. The hotel was clean, spacious and comfortable with a very nice room with good facilities. The hotel is excellent situated for a walk to most of the tourist hotspots in the city and the park close-by is great for the morning walks/jog. A Sainsburys around the corner makes it very convenient to buy some amenities for a long stay. I would recommend this hotel for all long stay business travelers or a couple looking for homely comforts.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Cornelis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

687 - 693 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for one Saturday night at the end of November and loved it . Will definitely be back! We arrived around midday, only to drop off our bags as the check-in is not until 4pm. However we were allowed to check-in at that time which was a nice bonus. The check-in staff were extremely friendly and helpful, despite the reception area being pretty hectic at that time.

We booked a studio room and I was impressed with its size. Really nice modern room with a great floor-to-ceiling window, king sized bed plus seating area with sofa (which was also a bed) and armchair. The bathroom looked brand new and was a great size and the shower was one of the best I have used in any hotel with a really large cubicle and amazing water pressure! The kitchen has all the mod cons, including oven, fridge and microwave and these are all good brands. The room has plenty wardrobe space as well as an iron and ironing board, safe, hairdryer, free wi-fi, alarm clock (which is also an ipod docking station) etc – everything you could ask for in a hotel!

The breakfast was great with a really good selection. They had the usual cooked items plus pastries, cereals, pancakes, croissants, muffins, fruit, cold meats, cheese etc. It’s served until 11am at the weekends as is pretty relaxed and informal. You can even take your food back to your room to eat if you would prefer.

I would highly recommend this hotel and think it’s great value for money. It’s obviously really new and everything is clean and modern, with really friendly and helpful staff too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DL_1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The room we had at this hotel was an apartment with kitchen including sink, microwave, oven & dishwasher. Great for a stay where you don't want to eat out all of the time. The room was very clean and spacious & nothing to fault it.

There's a small bar at the hotel that also servers light snack food. Breakfast buffet food was fine, but sausages & bacon could have been better. At breakfast time the eating area can get very congested as space is limited.

Overall we had a great stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Hotel was only recently built so everything nice an new. The big plus against the normal hotels is the small kitchen area with fridge, micro and even dishwasher as well as small lounge area. We were on B & B and the breakfast buffet had everything you could want. The location was the only slight downside as our side of the hotel was looked into by a large modern glass office block and it was also a good 15 min walk to some of the shops and sights.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertNigel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have stayed in several Marriott hotels and were quite surprised by this very modern
hotel - On checking in the staff were very welcoming and checked us in efficiently.
The room was lovely and even had a microwave dishewasher and glasses and dishes with the usual tea and coffe facilites.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleycampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My husband and I wanted to do something special for our 25th anniversary and we decided on going to Edinburgh . What a wonderful charming city.
Our hotel was wonderful and the people that worked there charming as well.
Keith went out of his way everyday to help us discover some of the best reataurants, and sites... all walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast staff was pleasant and helpful too. Breakfast is included, and it did not disappoint. They were happy to make us anything we asked for. like porridge, which we ate every morning.
Keith suggested we visit the Dome and we ended up visiting it a few times to enjoy the majestic Christmas decorations.
This hotel is in great location. We walked to everything except the mystical Rosslyn castle.
The hotel staff recommended we take the day bus there, a 3.50 pound day ticket. That's the way to see this place. I almost booked a tour that would have been 30 pounds but saw it didn't include price of admission, which would have been another 9 pounds... definitely take the local bus, #15, also within a short walk of the hotel.
Loved the double decker bus ride, and if you look at pics below, you'll see we had it all to ourselves on the way back.
We were extremely pleased with our five day stay. We had a room on the top floor with a nice view.
If you don't mind wintry weather, we thought Nov. was a beautiful time to visit this magical city.
We would love to return and would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: We would suggest the top floor , at least in the wintertime
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtmcdonough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Though I like Marriotts I typically do not state Residence Inn's. I stayed at this hotel because a bunch of business associates were planning to stay there. Turned out to be a great idea.

Hotel is in a very nice area right by University of Edinburgh and The Meadows. Close walk too many tourist destinations and restaurants.

Hotel looks brand new. Rooms were clean, modern and for Europe quite spacious. Continental breakfast was fine but nothing superior. Still, I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank RAK350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,149 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £82 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing