We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hogmanay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hogmanay ”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our trip to Edinburgh to see in the New Year.

Great location as we had our dog with us. It is a 2 minute walk to a big park. It's also close to a Sainsburys with came in handy. Lovely suite although the bed was slightly to small! Good breakfast to help recover on New Year's Day too.

All in all a great place to stay with equally great staff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank andythomaspsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    350
    92
    19
    8
See reviews for
198
510
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We just returned from a weekend in Edinburgh, one of the most amazing cities I've ever visited, such hospitality and the residence inn was absolutely brilliant, it really made our trip, staff were so helpful, the rooms were lovely and clean and the breakfast was tasty :) The hotel also offers free internet and printing in the lobby which came in very handy! There is also free WiFi throughout. The hotel is only 10 mins walk from royal mile and the bus from airport (35) stops just 2 minutes away on the main road. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, the view was of the opposite apartment block but the room more than made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katriue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed for a night on the 2nd of January, 2014. The service was impeccable at all times and I would like to personally thank Bastiaan, Yanjie and Gabon for making our stay so pleasant and enjoyable. The location is perfect, short walking distance to the main attactions and there is a car park on site which was perfect for us as we drove from Glasgow. The room was very clean and it was very well equiped with all the essentials (including a very good hair dryer!). In my opinion it is much better value than any other hotel because you have a studio (or One Bedroom) apartment and not just a room. Having a little kitchen is perfect for making breakfast or snacks and it saves on room service (or having to get dressed out of your pj's to go out in the morning!). The bar in the lobby is also open 24h which was great for when we returned from our night out, Gabon was an excellent host! We would highly recommend it and will always choose to stay here when we visit Edinburgh in future!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaShear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our first disappointment was the room we were allocated-no bath and a double bed. I asked to change but was told they were full-given we booked the room in the Summer it was a real blow. I didn't know Marriott hotels provided any thing other than king sized beds and when your husband is 6' 4" and I'm not small, it makes a good nights sleep a little challenging. The beds have improved since our last stay-they now have mattress toppers on and are very comfortable. The bedroom was tiny-there was about 12 inches round the bed for manoeuvring. The bathrooms remain bizarre: the basin is in a separate room and accessing the shower round the toilet is a challenge; the toiletries are not up to the usual Marriott standard. There is nowhere for the towels to dry so we had to ask for dry towels when they weren't changed and the face cloths were completely missing on a couple of days. If you eat the shortbread biscuits on the first day-that's it-bring your own if you want any more-they weren't replaced on the next four days. So why do we stay there? Well the location is fantastic, you can get a 35 bus direct from the airport, free WiFi in the rooms, breakfast is good and included in the price and the staff are very helpful too...unless you want to change room! This doesn't live up to the standards expected from a typical Marriott-so go prepared.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Great two night stay in Edinburgh! We treated my family friends, booking two rooms on points and purchasing a room for ourselves. The front desk staff were welcoming, warm and efficient. The rooms on points were smaller, but still very nice and comfortable. Our friends were pleased by the kitchenette and decor. Modern and simple. A bit of advice though -- beware of that floor rug! You can skid across the room. Our room was surprisingly spacious; one room, but had a little living room area with a coffee table. Loved the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom so someone can continue getting ready while the other is in the shower. The area around the hotel was quiet and clean, but still walkable to restaurants and pubs. For something close, Doctors (a pub) was nice, casual and had a good selection of food. Just around the hotel is a Sainsbury Local which is great if you want something light for a night in. Breakfast was included in our stay. What a wonderful spread! Eggs, bacon, beans, breads, fruit, yogurt and so on! Other Marriotts should follow. The breakfasts kept us going for most of the day. All in all, the hotel, the hotel food and the staff made for a wonderful treat!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ovenbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The hotel is located in a great area that which offers conveniences (Starbucks, Sainsburys) nearby and is only a short walk to the main sights in the city centre. The room was modern, clean, and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and accommodating with our very early morning departure and questions about the area and directions. We would most certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank US2EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Very modern hotel with excellent/cheap secure onsite parking. (27 hrs parking, £15.20)as the hotel give you a 20% discount .Very Friendly happy staff,including cleaning staff. Quiet location. Breakfast was excellent, spoilt for choice...Room: Double Superior was fantastic. Own mini kitchen,huge wardrobe,plenty of seating and very comfortable bed. There were plenty of sockets, free wifi for 24hrs, and an Amazing power shower!!
VERY Small issues as mentioned in other feedback on here....the rug does slide around the floor, needs anti slip pads underneath. Bathroom sink is on the outside of the door, not very hygenic. Quite a hard hotel to find on satnav as its fairly new, Overall stay was fabulous, already planning a summer stay at this hotel. Starbucks & Sainsburys express 2 minutes from hotel, Grassmarket 10 minute walk, city centre/train station 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing