We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great hotel, modern design, in a very central yet quiet area on the Quater Mile. Easy walking distance to the city centre. A short drive to the coast.

Suites are very comfortable and provide all the luxury we needed.

The staff members were all friendly and made us welcome.

We stayed with our 2 dogs over Christmas. The hotel & staff are very pet friendly, highly recommended as a destination for animal travellers and their owners! The Meadows is literally next door, a great place to walk.

The suites are perfect for preparing dog's meals and washing up!

We've re-booked to go again later in the year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanStuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,097)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,097 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Residence for 3 nights just before Christmas and had an enjoyable stay. The weather was atrocious but the Hotel was extremely clean, the staff were pleasant and efficient, the breakfast was excellent in both quality and choice, and the shower was the best I've ever been in of any Hotel.
We stayed in a superior double, which was a very large and well equipped room and the fridge came in very handy for chilling wine and beers as a cheeky aperitif before hitting the town, which by the way, is very close - only a five minute pleasant walk to lots of bars and restaurants on the edge of town. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel on all fronts, and cannot think of anything that disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThemainDobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel and outstanding service; we were lucky enough to do our check-in and check out with Claire, the loveliest receptionist you I`ve ever met. We got a studio: fridge, microwave, etc, all very modern and clean. Breakfast is very good and you can take a coffee to go as well, which is a very nice touch. Good wi-fi. The location is wonderful, across the street from Edinburgh university (part of it anyways), there is a huuuuuge park a few minutes from it; you can get downtown in probably 10-15 minutes walking (even less to Bobby´s statue :D ). There is a Starbucks, a Bookstore/Coffeshop combo that I can´t remember the name and a Sainsburys Market, literally, less than 45 seconds away on foot. Can´t recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Go with the studio; it costs a bit more, but you can buy food at the local Sansbury (a 1 min walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arnaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights over New Years and it was great! We had a one bedroom suite which had a huge living room and kitchen, a good sized bedroom and pretty small bathroom. The small bathroom was the only negative I can think of for the room but it was very clean at least.

On a map it appears that the hotel is really far from the center of town but in reality it is only 5 or 6 blocks from the Royal Mile. The hotel is new and is a complex where there are a few coffee shops, a good sized grocery store and an Indian restaurant.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful as were the staff that serve the breakfast buffet. Each went out of their way to say hello when they saw us and were quick to look up bus/train schedules, offer a recommendation for dinner, etc.

There is a great pub called Doctors just around the corner from the hotel that serves good food and beer and the staff was very friendly.

I will be back in Edinburgh for the 2015 British Open and will definitely try to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bman6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The staff and service was amazing. Very professional and greeted you when you returned. They appeared to want to truly serve and improved quality of my stay. I paid less then 100GBP and receive 5 start treatment - as opposed to last week at the St. Ermin's in London - I paid over 300GBP and was treated to a small bed and no service. Marriott needs to apply the service model from Residence Inn, Courtyard, JW to the new AUTOGRAPH collection.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great location and facility! The front desk staff is AMAZING, especially Claire! She took a horrible situation ( which was not Marriott's fault) and made it so much better! She and her co-workers really go the extra mile and I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for our trip to Edinburgh to see in the New Year.

Great location as we had our dog with us. It is a 2 minute walk to a big park. It's also close to a Sainsburys with came in handy. Lovely suite although the bed was slightly to small! Good breakfast to help recover on New Year's Day too.

All in all a great place to stay with equally great staff.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank andythomaspsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £92 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing