We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Dissapointment Avoid” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
164 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Huge Dissapointment Avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

As a regular at Marriott hotels I thought I would give this a try and was sadly disappointed, maybe some of this is my fault. The hotel is very difficult to find. Car parking is charged £12 a day. The bar area is really not a bar area so there is no bar nor lounge areas at all. Breakfast was terrible. The room was somehow not welcoming. Despite having a kitchenette i was granted two tea bags only and the heating was turned off in the bedroom. Wifi reception in the room was weak to poor. The price of 130£ suggested something rather better frankly. I will not be staying again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beesbeesbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the Residence Inn, Edinburgh.

I am sorry we didn't meet your expectations but be assured we look into all the problems indicated in our guests responses. We take great pride as a team to ensure our guest’s satisfaction and are regularlly looking at ways to improve.

Please accept my apology on this occasion. Our complimentary breakfast & free WiFi are aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and will be reviewed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    546
    341
    89
    19
    8
See reviews for
192
504
34
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckeystown, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I travel a LOT. Just returned from a business trip to Edinburgh. Hotel room was exceptional. Staff was excellent. Complimentary breakfast was superior to anything you get in the States. Tuesday manager's happy hour was also a nice touch. Manager is a real people person. Would definitely use this hotel in the future. Gym is very small and quite limited, so don't plan to do ay workouts; however, the hotel is on an excellent biking/jogging path that ends close to the castle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great hotel, modern design, in a very central yet quiet area on the Quater Mile. Easy walking distance to the city centre. A short drive to the coast.

Suites are very comfortable and provide all the luxury we needed.

The staff members were all friendly and made us welcome.

We stayed with our 2 dogs over Christmas. The hotel & staff are very pet friendly, highly recommended as a destination for animal travellers and their owners! The Meadows is literally next door, a great place to walk.

The suites are perfect for preparing dog's meals and washing up!

We've re-booked to go again later in the year.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanStuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed at the Residence for 3 nights just before Christmas and had an enjoyable stay. The weather was atrocious but the Hotel was extremely clean, the staff were pleasant and efficient, the breakfast was excellent in both quality and choice, and the shower was the best I've ever been in of any Hotel.
We stayed in a superior double, which was a very large and well equipped room and the fridge came in very handy for chilling wine and beers as a cheeky aperitif before hitting the town, which by the way, is very close - only a five minute pleasant walk to lots of bars and restaurants on the edge of town. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel on all fronts, and cannot think of anything that disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThemainDobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great hotel and outstanding service; we were lucky enough to do our check-in and check out with Claire, the loveliest receptionist you I`ve ever met. We got a studio: fridge, microwave, etc, all very modern and clean. Breakfast is very good and you can take a coffee to go as well, which is a very nice touch. Good wi-fi. The location is wonderful, across the street from Edinburgh university (part of it anyways), there is a huuuuuge park a few minutes from it; you can get downtown in probably 10-15 minutes walking (even less to Bobby´s statue :D ). There is a Starbucks, a Bookstore/Coffeshop combo that I can´t remember the name and a Sainsburys Market, literally, less than 45 seconds away on foot. Can´t recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Go with the studio; it costs a bit more, but you can buy food at the local Sansbury (a 1 min walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnaldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights over New Years and it was great! We had a one bedroom suite which had a huge living room and kitchen, a good sized bedroom and pretty small bathroom. The small bathroom was the only negative I can think of for the room but it was very clean at least.

On a map it appears that the hotel is really far from the center of town but in reality it is only 5 or 6 blocks from the Royal Mile. The hotel is new and is a complex where there are a few coffee shops, a good sized grocery store and an Indian restaurant.

The staff at the hotel were all very helpful as were the staff that serve the breakfast buffet. Each went out of their way to say hello when they saw us and were quick to look up bus/train schedules, offer a recommendation for dinner, etc.

There is a great pub called Doctors just around the corner from the hotel that serves good food and beer and the staff was very friendly.

I will be back in Edinburgh for the 2015 British Open and will definitely try to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bman6262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

The staff and service was amazing. Very professional and greeted you when you returned. They appeared to want to truly serve and improved quality of my stay. I paid less then 100GBP and receive 5 start treatment - as opposed to last week at the St. Ermin's in London - I paid over 300GBP and was treated to a small bed and no service. Marriott needs to apply the service model from Residence Inn, Courtyard, JW to the new AUTOGRAPH collection.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#67 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing