We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City centre excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“City centre excellence”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Marriot Residence Inn in March 2014. This modern hotel was conveniently located in the Quartermile site close to the old hospital and only a 5-10 minute walk from The Royal Mile which was a great base to explore all that Edinburgh has to offer. There was discounted underground parking for hotel residents which reduced an overnight parking charge from £16- £12 which was reasonable and convenient. The two best things about this hotel were the really spacious suites. We had a kitchen area with dishwasher, microwave, kettle and full supply of crockery and cutlery. The bedroom housed a king size bed, sofa, armchair and stool. In addition we had a large computer/writing desk and chair with a modern and spotlessly clean bathrooms. This was a spacious and beautifully maintained apartment and I have to say that my wife and I would have no hesitation about going back. A nice touch was that the staff who struck a happy balance between being attentive without being overbearing seemed genuinely keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Top marks to staff for their customer service, try it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_George_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    355
    95
    21
    8
See reviews for
203
517
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
quiero
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Never having visited Scotland previously, it was important that we found a hotel with the best facilities to suit our needs. We stayed at the Residence Inn in November. We needed a Disabled Room with free internet close to McEwan Hall, with space for visitors to sit down and relax with us. We were delighted to find that the Residence Inn has Disabled Rooms with a large bathroom and with a comfortable settee and a table, free internet, which is an essential sometimes, and even Room Service. There is a very useful kitchen, with everything someone would need to have a meal, including a dishwasher to make things easy after eating.
Everyone was exceptionally helpful, and we were able to enjoy a breakfast in the entry way both mornings. There is a gym in the hotel which we did not use. The hotel is in walking distance of cafes, restaurants and shops . There was some noise in the mornings from the area around the hotel in the early morning, but, overall we slept well. I would highly recommend this hotel and all the staff we met, who went out of their way to be helpful and polite, and think that Marriott should introduce more Residence Inn's into the UK as soon as possible !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Our daughter lives in Edinburgh and when we visit we like hotel accommodations that offer a comfortable setting to entertain guests. Certainly the Residence Inn lends itself to that end. It is centrally located on University of Edinburgh campus, very close to national museums and the meadows. We have always stayed in a one bedroom unit. They offer the most space to entertain. The breakfast is good, a typical Residence Inn breakfast. The staff is incredible. They are extremely helpful, friendly, like their American guests and quite to my surprise always remembered our names! Cons are the common area tv's are always tuned to Fox News (please put on CNN! lol) and the kitchens do NOT include a stove top or oven. If they were to install them, it would guarantee our return. Without them it makes more sense for us to look at other accommodations. Those options include other Marriott hotels but it also includes other aparthotels and self catering accommodations of which there are many to chose from in the city including the hotel chain next door. Please install them, you have the counter space. :D

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel in Edinburgh. Close walking distance to most sights, and nice with a park right next door. The room was large and spacious and there was all you needed. The breakfast was also very good and the staff very helpful. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camlindberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I've been staying at the Residence Inn on business now for nearly 2 months and I have to say the staff make this place one of the most welcoming, friendly hotels i've ever stayed in - all other Marriotts need to take note.

Paul and his team do the up most to make it a "home from home" - going above and beyond to help. Everyone knows your name, they give the most amazing welcome, remember the tiniest of details about what you like/don't like and of course lets not forget the freshly baked cookies that are there for when you return from work - I cant fault this place and would 100% recommend it!

Thank you guys for a great 2 months - hopefully will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at Marriot residence inn got one night. I had made a mess of the booking but they very generously sorted me out and let me stay on the Saturday night at no extra cost. The front desk team were courteous, polite and very helpful. The room was beautiful - spotless and well appointed- the beds so comfortable as always with beds in Marriot Hotels. The breakfast was really lovely with loads of choice and the staff once again very attentive. The area in which the hotel is - is very central and modern- a short stroll from the centre. I would highly recommend this hotel. T

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scariff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Spent one night here and I have to say we were very impressed. The staff could not be more helpful and friendly and even let us check in two hours early, the room or should I say apartment was very spacious and clean. The location is also great and your only around 10 minutes from the city centre, breakfast was also included and it's a case of help yourself to quality food. We will definatley be back and wouldn't consider another hotel in the capital after this stay, thanks again for a wonderful stay and friendly welcome we will not forget this.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
962 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing