We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Flawless”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I wish I could pick this Hotel up and take it to every city I visit. Spot on location, massive bedrooms, really personal service, and immaculate public areas. Each one of our group were suitably impressed, and would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel to others. As and when I return to Ediburgh, I will only consider this Hotel. Extra thanks go to Paul, Katie, Isis and Gabor, who went out of their way to ensure everything went smoothly from the planning stages right through to departure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmamccornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    350
    92
    20
    8
See reviews for
199
510
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here with my husband and sister and her husband in March 2013 for a short few days in Edinburgh. This hotel is a clean, modern space pretty close the the royal mile (we were able to walk there) and I liked seeing the university. We had two rooms right next to each other, yet I never heard a peep from them - a definite plus. Perhaps my hesitance to give this hotel a better rating was based on the fact that our room faced an apartment building/condo and I could see right into people's windows (and I'd imagine they could see into ours as well). Like I could see their IKEA furniture and what was on tv.. but the hotel provided a nice breakfast in the morning which is convenient. Another bonus, there is a Starbucks directly underneath. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, just maybe keep your blinds drawn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaa215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel completely surpassed expectations we were even upgraded on arrival which was a great surprise. On arrival we also ordered room service sandwiches which were very reasonably priced and the room service price was the same as the bar price
However it's a little hard to find and as its newly built a lot of sat navs do not recognise the location
Also the breakfast area is very small so there are queues and it gets crowded quickly at weekends but you can take breakfast back to your room, also for the tea and coffee facilities in the room, there was only 2 of the little milks, reception gave us more when we asked, but it wold have been easier to have a couple more in the room as 2 do not go very far when there's more than one person

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cymraescymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I returned yesterday from a 2 night stay at this property after visiting as part of a group of 12. I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. I could not find fault with any element of the experience. From the spacious and luxurious rooms to the lovely breakfast we received each morning, each detail was executed to the highest possible standard.

The real stand out quality of this hotel was the service. The staff really could not do enough for us and it really felt like a home away from home for the weekend. The service was personal yet professional and I really felt sorry to be leaving.

Thank you so much to everyone at the hotel and I hope to be returning soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hol5984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have just returned from an amazing 2 nights at the Residence Inn by Marriott in Edinburgh. I honestly do not know where to even start with this review but here goes...

We arrived by taxi from Waverley station (around £5.50), although it is easily within walking distance, and were impressed by the look of the building. Modern clean lines, nice outside space for the smokers amongst us, with amenities close by - Starbucks, sainsburys local and a lovely little book shop beneath the hotel. The lobby is practical and stylish - with a really relaxed atmosphere - high tables with plug sockets for laptops chargers etc, sofa seating area, small shop kiosk (really reasonable prices!!!) as well as a bar and tables for breakfast. We were checked in by Paul at the front desk - who couldn't do enough for us and was a font of knowledge about the local area and made us feel very welcome from the off - the free afternoon cookies helped too :)

The rooms - well they were huge! On entering there is a small kitchen area and set of wardrobes, sofa area, two of the comfiest double beds I've ever slept in, and a nice bathroom with a really powerful shower. The decoration was modern but not cold - it was a comfortable and welcoming space. The rooms had the usual tv, tea making facilities, desk, chair, toiletries, but then also had iPod doc, plates, cutlery, microwave and even a dishwasher! I can understand why this would be a popular choice for long stays but definitely ticked all the boxes for our short stay too.

The location was great for exploring Edinburgh's sights - walking distance to the royal miles princes street the castle - or if you are like us and a bit on the lazy side a £5 taxi ride to any of the above :) as well as being close to everything you would expect to want to see in Edinburgh you are so close to the Meadows - a lovely park.

The services at the hotel were great - breakfast was a casual affair, a mixture of continental and traditional Scottish breakfast - eggs bacon scrabbled eggs, which could be taken in the lobby area, on the sofas, trays were even provided to take back to your room, or takeaway bags if you needed to eat on the go. The selection of food, coffees, teas, juices, was great and anything you needed was quickly attended to - special thanks to Isis and Gabor who were amazing throughout the stay.

On the topic of food - room service. Well we arrived back at the hotel at around 11.45pm on the Saturday evening, and considered room service. Calling down to the front desk expecting only to get a sandwich we were offered soup paninis and pizzas. We opted for a panini and soup each at the amazing price of £4.95 each! No tray charge either. The food was prompt, delicious and plentiful. Safe to say we were impressed!

Working for an airline I have stayed in many hotels around the world and can honestly say this is amongst the best I have had the pleasure of staying in. The hotel itself is lovely but what makes this place such a good find is the staff and the relaxed - but extremely professional - atmosphere. The staff really do go out of their way to make you feel value and welcome in their city - from arranging restaurant reservation arranging taxis, to even doing your food shopping for you (not even kidding!!) I would say the residence inn definitely fits every type of guest - business traveller, long stay, as well as being a gem of a find for a tourist trip to the city - couples, friends as well as families.

Only problem I have now is finding time to return...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicnic1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Marriot Residence Inn in March 2014. This modern hotel was conveniently located in the Quartermile site close to the old hospital and only a 5-10 minute walk from The Royal Mile which was a great base to explore all that Edinburgh has to offer. There was discounted underground parking for hotel residents which reduced an overnight parking charge from £16- £12 which was reasonable and convenient. The two best things about this hotel were the really spacious suites. We had a kitchen area with dishwasher, microwave, kettle and full supply of crockery and cutlery. The bedroom housed a king size bed, sofa, armchair and stool. In addition we had a large computer/writing desk and chair with a modern and spotlessly clean bathrooms. This was a spacious and beautifully maintained apartment and I have to say that my wife and I would have no hesitation about going back. A nice touch was that the staff who struck a happy balance between being attentive without being overbearing seemed genuinely keen to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Top marks to staff for their customer service, try it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise_George_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quiero
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Never having visited Scotland previously, it was important that we found a hotel with the best facilities to suit our needs. We stayed at the Residence Inn in November. We needed a Disabled Room with free internet close to McEwan Hall, with space for visitors to sit down and relax with us. We were delighted to find that the Residence Inn has Disabled Rooms with a large bathroom and with a comfortable settee and a table, free internet, which is an essential sometimes, and even Room Service. There is a very useful kitchen, with everything someone would need to have a meal, including a dishwasher to make things easy after eating.
Everyone was exceptionally helpful, and we were able to enjoy a breakfast in the entry way both mornings. There is a gym in the hotel which we did not use. The hotel is in walking distance of cafes, restaurants and shops . There was some noise in the mornings from the area around the hotel in the early morning, but, overall we slept well. I would highly recommend this hotel and all the staff we met, who went out of their way to be helpful and polite, and think that Marriott should introduce more Residence Inn's into the UK as soon as possible !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing