We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
367 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Five stars”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

How refreshing after a trans-Atlantic flight. Our room was larger than any we've had abroad. There was a comfy bed, room for baggage, and a lovely rain shower. Too bad we were only staying one night.
The staff was helpful, suggesting restaurants we get to on foot. The full breakfast the next morning was excellent. Afterward we walked to the Museum of Scotland, then returned for our luggage and a taxi to the train.

Room Tip: This is a quiet hotel. There was construction nearby, so you might want to ask for a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    350
    92
    20
    8
See reviews for
200
510
37
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durris, Scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our second stay here and we'd still recommend it. It is well situated and very well equipped with 20% reduction on underground car parking. Breakfast can be a bit crowded, although the staff are really helpful, and if someone visits the toilet at night, there's an inconvenient light which shines straight at the bed. Other than that, there's plenty of space in the room, great facilities and free wifi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
218 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Location, location, location.
Great customer service; feeling of a small hotel with highly contemporary flair
Free parking (although with a hassle as you have to drop off a validation card every day)
Great looking, ample rooms, with lots of light, all very modern, great shower and amenities in the room, small kitchenette with accessories.
Fantastic display of breakfast buffet with ample variety; of course after three days in a row it may get a little boring (we stayed five nights)
Great conference room facility
Fantastic bar with a pretty good variety of adult drinks
Nice lounge area to watch TV in the lobby
Very close walking distance to many restaurants and all the turistic attractions
Good price for your $$$
Highly recommended

Room Tip: I think the higher your room the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andorsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is almost a great hotel, by is let down by some annoying flaws. Location is good. Fairly quiet suroundings but close to centre. The large rooms have kitchen facilities. Bed is fine. Shower is good. However, I found the duvet too warm. One size (or warmth) does not fit all, so you can either be too hot or too cold (duvet off). You could (I assume) call reception, but lot of hassle trying to change things after you have gone to bed (and find problem). Prevention could include sheet, blanket etc in room.

Calling the hotel by telephone got into a Kafka-esque nightmare: (to exaggerate).... you have 237 options.....do you want to book a hotel in China for 3 night for 3 march 2017.... No- I want to speak to an operator.

Room card had problems for both room and lift.

Breakfast was ok. Good selection of cold, but limited selection of hot; and coffee poor (although there was a machine behind reception 'off limits')). There was a 'warning' sign about long Qs for breafast at weekends. Hardly surprising when place with over 100 rooms has such a tiny breakfast area. Not much can be done at this stage, but amazingly bad planning.

In short, great potential and good value but let down by flaws.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lecturer1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I wish I could pick this Hotel up and take it to every city I visit. Spot on location, massive bedrooms, really personal service, and immaculate public areas. Each one of our group were suitably impressed, and would not hesitate to recommend the Hotel to others. As and when I return to Ediburgh, I will only consider this Hotel. Extra thanks go to Paul, Katie, Isis and Gabor, who went out of their way to ensure everything went smoothly from the planning stages right through to departure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmamccornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here with my husband and sister and her husband in March 2013 for a short few days in Edinburgh. This hotel is a clean, modern space pretty close the the royal mile (we were able to walk there) and I liked seeing the university. We had two rooms right next to each other, yet I never heard a peep from them - a definite plus. Perhaps my hesitance to give this hotel a better rating was based on the fact that our room faced an apartment building/condo and I could see right into people's windows (and I'd imagine they could see into ours as well). Like I could see their IKEA furniture and what was on tv.. but the hotel provided a nice breakfast in the morning which is convenient. Another bonus, there is a Starbucks directly underneath. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place, just maybe keep your blinds drawn.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaa215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The hotel completely surpassed expectations we were even upgraded on arrival which was a great surprise. On arrival we also ordered room service sandwiches which were very reasonably priced and the room service price was the same as the bar price
However it's a little hard to find and as its newly built a lot of sat navs do not recognise the location
Also the breakfast area is very small so there are queues and it gets crowded quickly at weekends but you can take breakfast back to your room, also for the tea and coffee facilities in the room, there was only 2 of the little milks, reception gave us more when we asked, but it wold have been easier to have a couple more in the room as 2 do not go very far when there's more than one person

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cymraescymruambyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing