We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A fabulous experience staying at this hotel. Such friendly, professional and helpful staff at reception. Always there to help with with a smile . Stayed for 2 nights with husband. Room was spotless very clean, comfy and equipped with all you could need and more . Special thanks to Paul at reception for giving us late check out and making the weekend perfect .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAADIA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    365
    97
    22
    8
See reviews for
211
525
41
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

What more can I stay, wonderful hotel, topped off with truly conscientious staff members. In which, nothing was too much effort. Cleanliness was out of the top draw, being made to fell at home. The room was truly perfect, with enough space to relax and unwind, with modern decor, and the creature comforts I experience at home which included the modern appliances like; Dishwasher, Kettle, Microwave and DAB Digital Radio/Alarm. There was a vast range to choose from at breakfast both continental and full cooked varieties with the availability to have as much as what was wanted. Will definitely be returning, and I am sure we will have the same great time as before... wishing I never had to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are modern, with all the key things needed for a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ackers965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel in January for 1 night for visitinh Edinburgh over the weekend.

We arrived relatively early and to be honest did not expect to be able to check in that early. However, at 11 o'clock we got to our room which had been upgraded as well! The room itself was beyond perfect - very spacious, comy bed, microwave, fridge, tv, some dishes and being on the 5th floor a great view as well.
Everything about the room was just spotless and not more you could as for and every dealing with the staff was very pleasant and enjoyable. At one occasion we were queuing in the reception to ask for some directions to the centre and a girl from the bar came to see if she could help so that we would not have to wait. I found it to be an excellent example of good service.
Had some drinks in the bar in the evening, which were quite pricey but to be honest, it's just regular hotel prices.
The free breakfast was a nice touch as well with ample of choice and possibility to take a coffee on the go which was defenitely necessary on a rather chilly morning.

Only regret is that we only stayed for one night.

Would higly recommend this hotel and hopefully will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatlinH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Edinburgh Residence Inn. The location is about a 10-minute walk from the Royal Mile and the property has just about everything you could want in terms of comfort. We arrived early from an overnight flight and were checked into a room immediately--much appreciated. The staff was fantastic and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. They told us personally how much they like working there and it shows. The breakfast was fine with a good selection of various foods for the diverse international crowd. We had a two-bed queen room, which was large and comfortable. Overall, a great stay. We will definitely return whenever we visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The hotel is located 15 minutes walk away from the main train station at Edinburgh Waverley and central attractions. A black cab should cost no more than £5.

We arrived early before the check-in time but the staff were very amenable and checked us in all the same.

We'd booked a superior room and it was very spacious. Upon entry we noticed a well equipped kitchen. The room had a sofa and an armchair. The LG TV was top quality and was mounted on a moveable bracket so you could see from wherever you sat.

The bathroom/WC area was small but the shower was very good. I did find a long hair stuck on the wall of the shower which I never like to see.

The breakfast in the morning was very good with all the usual buffet options. The seating area isn't extensive and we were told it could get quite busy at certain times depending on the occupancy. However, we were seated on both mornings so no problems there. Even if it had been full, we would have been able to take the breakfast up to our room.

The staff were excellent all round and very conscientious. For instance, on our first night, we were peckish late on in the evening and the staff were kind enough to pop a pizza in to the oven and bring it up to our room with nachos and salad. Housekeeping are not available in the afternoon so leave early if you want your room to be cleaned. However, Konstantina Vava was really helpful in replenishing toileteries and towels.

I would highly recommend this hotel to other users.

Room Tip: I always prefer a room on one of the highest floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheekymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We have just returned from a weekend break with friends in Edinburgh. The hotel staff were very helpful and couldnt do enough for you. It was our first time visiting Edinburgh and we would definitely stay in the Residence Inn again. There was a wide selection of options for breakfast and all specific dietary requirements were met.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Very quiet and functional, great location, amenable and welcoming staff, new and clean, and good value for money. The standard of the hotel matches the standard of the Foster + Partners development that it forms part of. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing