We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Delighted I chose this hotel for our weekend through in Edinburgh. We only stayed a Saturday night but were sad we didn't stay longer.
I had asked for a room on a higher floor in case of any street noise. Turns out the hotel is down a quiet little street anyway and we were upgraded to a suite for no extra cost. Woo!
Very impressed with the standard of the whole place,the cleanliness and the staff were very friendly. Fastest check in and out I think I've ever experienced. Breakfast was very nice but I can't comment on dinner as we went out to eat.
Definitely recommend this hotel and next time I need a hotel in Edinburgh this will be the first place I look up.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    544
    338
    89
    19
    8
See reviews for
192
501
33
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is not only a really comfortable place to stay in a great location near the centre of Edinburgh, the staff are happy to go that bit further to make life easy for you. We stayed this weekend and on arrival the front desk staff were more than helpful sorting out an problem with the points I was using to pay for the stay. In addition, although earlier than the normal check-in time, we were able to get into our room, which was spotless, very spacious and had very mod con.
The staff asked if there was anything we needed every time we passed the front desk, fresh milk for tea was offered without need to ask and it was clear that nothing was too much trouble for these guys. I stay here any time I gave the chance and thoroughly recommend them, both for quality of facilities but especially for excellent customer service.

Room Tip: They're all good, but if you like a view over sunny parks, ask for one on the south side looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed at the Residence Inn with friends and was delighted with the whole experience. Just wish we could have stayed longer. The hotel is an easy 5-10 min walk (depending on your pace) from the castle end of the Royal Mile. Taxi to station cost £7 but again this is walkable and we only took a ride as we had not left ourselves enough time to walk after wanting to fit in as much as possible to our short break!
The rooms were very clean and well equipped with a kitchen area including fridge, dishwasher, microwave, toaster, kettle and safe. In fact, the rooms were exactly as they are portrayed on the website photos. The free breakfast was a bonus and there was plenty of choice from hot dishes to fruit, cereals, baked goods etc. The staff were very friendly and happy to help with queries on directions etc.I would definitely stay here again on my next visit to Edinburgh

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillsjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is the first review of a hotel I've ever posted, but I couldn't leave without paying hommage to the great staff. After an overnight flight from the US, we arrived long before checkin time, but they let us in, and into bed, by 10:30 am. The room was quite large, with two very comfortable double beds, a couch, armchair, desk, and nicely equipped kitchen with fridge, oven, microwave, and dish washer. The bathroom was smaller than in the US Marriott properties we've visited, and no tub, but everything was very new. If you are committed to energy conservation, you will be enthralled by their system. To bring on the lights, heat, appliances, etc. You must insert your key card in a slot just inside the room door. When you remove it, upon departing, everything automatically turns off, unless you've gotten an extra keycard from the desk so as to keep things on while you are gone. And the dishwasher will only operate if it is at least half loaded. Only problem with the bathroom was that there were not separate lights for the toilet area and sink area, and no door between the sink area and the beds, so if someone gets up in the middle of the night and wants light for using the toilet, two lights come on which shine out onto the beds. Adding a door between the sink area and the beds would solve this. This little inconvenience, though, is more than overweighed by the incredible service from the staff. Examples: There was a tasty package of sandwich cookies in the basket in the kitchen, and I asked if we could have more. In the course of our six day stay, the manager pressed many more cookie packets on me, and I had quite a collection to take home to my grandchildren! I never made it to the breakfast which goes until 10 weekdays and 11 weekends, but my husband said it was always excellent - a buffet including a full hot Scottish breakfast. They were only serving lunch by the time I came down, but they made toast and jam (raspberry - never had this before at a Marriott) for me. It was raining, of course, this being Edinburgh, and I had lost my umbrella on the plane, so they lent us a huge Marriott umbrella for the whole trip. I thought I had shorted out the hairdryer, and they showed me how to fix it. They were very thoughtful about waiting and watching until we were truly out of the room before they came in to make the beds; no knock on the door to see if we were about to leave any time soon. Also was impressed that they had delicious homemade cookies out of the bar, with an optional donation to a charity, and another collection bottle for a baby's charity. They also gave us very good guidance on directions, restaurants, and how to look at our Silver Elite points. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to feel safe and well taken care of - the next best thing to being home. Thanks to all the staff!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

A fabulous experience staying at this hotel. Such friendly, professional and helpful staff at reception. Always there to help with with a smile . Stayed for 2 nights with husband. Room was spotless very clean, comfy and equipped with all you could need and more . Special thanks to Paul at reception for giving us late check out and making the weekend perfect .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SAADIA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

What more can I stay, wonderful hotel, topped off with truly conscientious staff members. In which, nothing was too much effort. Cleanliness was out of the top draw, being made to fell at home. The room was truly perfect, with enough space to relax and unwind, with modern decor, and the creature comforts I experience at home which included the modern appliances like; Dishwasher, Kettle, Microwave and DAB Digital Radio/Alarm. There was a vast range to choose from at breakfast both continental and full cooked varieties with the availability to have as much as what was wanted. Will definitely be returning, and I am sure we will have the same great time as before... wishing I never had to leave.

Room Tip: All rooms are modern, with all the key things needed for a great stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ackers965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed in the hotel in January for 1 night for visitinh Edinburgh over the weekend.

We arrived relatively early and to be honest did not expect to be able to check in that early. However, at 11 o'clock we got to our room which had been upgraded as well! The room itself was beyond perfect - very spacious, comy bed, microwave, fridge, tv, some dishes and being on the 5th floor a great view as well.
Everything about the room was just spotless and not more you could as for and every dealing with the staff was very pleasant and enjoyable. At one occasion we were queuing in the reception to ask for some directions to the centre and a girl from the bar came to see if she could help so that we would not have to wait. I found it to be an excellent example of good service.
Had some drinks in the bar in the evening, which were quite pricey but to be honest, it's just regular hotel prices.
The free breakfast was a nice touch as well with ample of choice and possibility to take a coffee on the go which was defenitely necessary on a rather chilly morning.

Only regret is that we only stayed for one night.

Would higly recommend this hotel and hopefully will stay again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatlinH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#65 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing