We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puts the Inn in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After travelling around the Scottish countryside and staying in some quirky sorts of accommodation, it was a welcoming change to spend a few nights at the RI. The hotel is located in Edinburgh's modern precinct - the Quartermile, which attracts a hive of activity amongst the city's young business professionals and university students. Adjacent to the hotel you'll find a Starbucks, supermarket, bakery and open space park. It's within a short walk to the city's major attractions, but still at arms length to avoid any evening noise or people traffic during the day. The rooms were modern and functionally designed, with the exception of having no AC. They did provide a small fan in the room which was enough to get through the hot nights. I would definitely be recommending the RI for anyone wanting to stay in a comfortable and modern hotel, situated in a fun, clean, and trendy new area.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bradantha_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 1,099 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

I arrived early in the morning after my international flight and I had a short wait while they got my feather free room available. They graciously invited me to join in the breakfast, and although the breakfast area is crowded I did not see anyone go without seating. We were there in July during the University's graduation and they handled the crowds very well.
The food was fairly standard RI food but was prepared extremely well and I loved the addition of the Scottish scones.
I have severe allergies and had no issue in these rooms with hardwood and tile floors. I loved the large windows that opened and kept the room well cooled. You could see right across into the apartments -- but very few people were at home.
I was also concerned about the distance to the sights but it was all very walkable and nice to have the National Museum of Scotland so close. All the walking was through what I considered "nice" areas. After long days of walking and sightseeing it was very nice to come back to the very comfortable RI.
Every single staff member was terrific, willing to help, had great suggestions and terrific attitudes.

Room Tip: We wete on the 2nd lloor and had no issue with the room cooling without ac.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have stayed 3 nights in the Residence Inn in Juni 2014 in an 1 Bedroom Suite. The rooms are modern and nice, with a small kitchen in the living room. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Car parking is around the corner for an acceptable price per night. Breakfast was good but more in an american way than Scotish. The hotel is located at the new developt Quatermile, near to the Royal Mile of Edinburgh, reachable by foot in 10 minutes.
A recommendable hotel and a good choice for staying in Scotland capital city.
Thanks.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a very large one bedroom suite with 2 TV's (important conflict avoider). Rooms are huge,
very clean, comfy bed. Rooms are a little spartan, no dining table or cooktop stove like in all
other RI's. Don't understand some previous comments on the windows. We were on 5th floor & the windows opened wide and kept the room cool at night. Location is excellent,
10-15 minutes walk to everything, and 1 minute from a huge beautiful park. Breakfast was
adequate, although could use some more variety. The staff is first rate, especially Paul at the front desk. Found the bathroom design a little weird. Don't know what the architect was thinking.
Same can be said for the very small breakfast area downstairs., which needs a redesign. A good Sainsbury supermarket is one minute away.In any case, this RI is a great place to stay in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Buzzy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We just returned from Edinburgh after spending a week at the Residence Inn. The hotel is located in a newly built complex in the Quartermile area tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city . The hotel is within walking distance of the castle, the Royal Mile, and close to the Museum of Scotland. Waverly station is about a 15 minute walk. We were very pleased with our accommodations and found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciated that we were able to check in early after our overnight flight. he free breakfast was very good with such choices as fruit, yogurt, cereal, bacon, eggs, sausage, luncheon meats, cheese, and mini-pastries. There is also a free Laundromat with soap provided. The suites were very modern and nicely designed. The only complaint I had was the close proximity to the neighbors in the building across the way. We had our blinds drawn most of the time. Also the sink area was located outside of the bathroom and had very little counter space for your bathroom supplies. I would definitely recommend the Residence Inn for visitors to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I stayed 6 nights at Residence Inn. Every member of the staff was friendly and caring. The servers at breakfast made an extra effort to ask us about our stay and give us suggestions of places to go and things to do. Very sweet. Our suite was perfectly comfortable. The location was also very nice. An easy walk to the city center, castle, Royal Mile, restaurants, even the train station. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Margo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel is quite nice, located quite close to the tourist destinations, plus it's new and modern. However, there were several issues with the hotel. First of all, there is no air conditioning (at least I could not fine one in my room). As the rooms have huge glass windows, which are not opening, it's very hot inside, because of the sun, which heats the room easily. Second, wifi in the hotel is not working properly and the speed is very low. Room service is OK. Yet another point, it would be good to diversify a bit the breakfast menu. I stayed there for almost a week and the breakfast was the same everyday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NinoG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.

The Residence Inn brand offers a complimentary breakfast and we try to offer subtle variations for the guests staying that little bit longer, but we will take on board your comments & look to see where else we can add some greater variation.

As a Marriott standard we also offer free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel & are always looking to improve this service. We hope to increase our bandwidth late July 2014 to improve this service for all our guests. I am sorry we did not meet all the standards you expected on this occasion.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction and are continually look for ways to improve the home from home feeling for all our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £91 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing