We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Residence Inn in Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“First Residence Inn in Europe”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here while visiting Edinburgh in March. Very new hotel from inside out. I was very satisfied with the room. It was clean, new, spacious, and nicely furbished. The staff was beyond excellent. One of the ladies at the front desk could speak Mandarin Chinese and she helped me tremendously with navigating the city and recommended me several very authentic Asian restaurants in the area. The breakfast was extremely generous and the food was very delicious. Only downside was the location, the street it was located on was quite confusing to find, even for the taxi driver. The rate is a little expensive, but definitely worth the price tag!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fzwa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    564
    355
    95
    21
    8
See reviews for
203
517
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Great location with walking distance to the best of Edinburgh. Rooms are large, the hotel is well maintained and the staff is excellent. However, there is no air conditioning in the hotel making the rooms incredibly stuffy. Additionally, the bathrooms are very small.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Residence Inn Edinburgh is a complicated hotel to evaluate. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is clean and modern. But, there are design aspects that make things more complicated, several of which relate to the impact of environmental decisions in designing the hotel on guests.
The lighting in rooms is LED and it is not often not well located. The lighting over the sink is bright and immediate. The lighting over the toilet is dim and never really becomes quite bright enough. There is one light over the desk and it is insufficient to work extensively at the desk. The appliances in the kitchen area are all one might need for a stay.
However, probably the biggest issue is the lack of air conditioning. Air conditioning in Edinburgh is usually unnecessary. This August was warm enough to make the guest rooms quite warm and the combination of the fan and one opening window were not enough to make the room consistently comfortable. I guess I wish that the lack of air conditioning had been more prominently advertised on the hotel website.
Unrelated to the environmental consciousness of the hotel design, the drawer storage (2 drawers in a bed end table) is insufficient for an extended stay.
The food in the buffet is plentiful and tasty and the drinks and food outside of the breakfast period were reasonably priced and delicious.
The hotel's location is especially convenient for visits to the University of Edinburgh and the nearby Meadows Park provides plenty of greenery for running and other activities. For those visiting Edinburgh during Festival-time, the hotel is very close to venues including Underbelly, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance, Kings Hall, Summerhall, and other venues in the area.
So, I recommend the hotel and appreciate its commitment to environmental concerns. I just wish that my role in that effort had been more informed and consensual.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David1946109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here with my family in June and was very happy with the room and the service. We arrived very early and they took our bags for us until our room was ready. The room was really nice and clean. There was no air conditioning in the rooms and that was a surprise but fortunately it wasn't an issue the windows open up to get a good breeze and kept the room cool. The shower was great with lots of room and large shower head. The room itself was larger than I had expected and the kitchen area was nice. The breakfast is Awesome!! A wonderful selection and the food was good. I was really happy about the location. It was short walk to the Royal Mile and other sites. I was happy we stayed here and could see staying here if I get the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a very solid hotel. The complimentary breakfast is great, and has a wide variety of hot and cold food options. Nice, modern, fairly spacious rooms. No A/C in rooms (but there is A/C in lobby), which was fine even on hot summer days because you could open the windows to get fresh, cool Scottish nighttime air. Hotel corridors got quite hot/stuffy, though. Location is pretty good, in a quiet modern district near the center of the city (quietness allows for windows to be open, which is a plus in the summer) that is nonetheless within walking distance of all the old city areas.

Five star for its price range/class; four stars in the absolute sense.

Room Tip: Don't get too high a floor in the summer as I imagine it could get quite hot with no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudeboy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockton on tees
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We arrived early and asked to leave our bags here but there was a room available so we were able to check in.
The room was large with a small kitchen. Very clean and would be perfect for a longer stay (we only stayed 1 night)
We were on the 6th floor and on a summer day the room was very warm...the corridors hot and stuffy but fans were placed to try and cool it down.
We had to sleep with the windows open, due to heat. We didn't experience noise from the building site as mentioned previously but it was a weekend stay.
Breakfast was nice, with a good selection.
I'd maybe stay here again if I returned with family or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceyfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel at the start of march as part of a hen party for 2 nights. I have to say the standard of both the accommodation and service was faultless and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. The staff really couldn't do enough for their guests. We were part of a group of 12 and by the end of the weekend every staff member knew each of us by name. It really felt like a home away from home. The professionalism of the staff here was second to none. Thank you so much for everything!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hollie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Edinburgh

Property: Residence Inn Edinburgh
Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're delighted to bring you the UK's first Residence Inn by Marriott offering you short and long stay Edinburgh accommodation. Set a pace that suits you at Residence Inn by Marriott. Whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months, your daily routine matters. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing