We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design issues spoil the stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh
Ranked #36 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I agree with the last reviewer regarding the rooms.We had a suite which was very spacious both in the bedroom and the lounge/kitchen area but the "bathroom" consisted of a shower and toilet and measured about 6ft by 4 ft in total, so there was hardly any room to dry yourself off after a shower. The washbasin was outside the "bathroom" which seemed very strange as this did not afford any privacy.The hotel designers could have made the "bathroom" 3 or 4 times the size and there would still have been plenty of space overall for the bedroom lounge and kitchen.
However the staff were very good and the hotel is in a good location not too far from the city centre and close to a large park area so I probably would still consider staying there again but it could be so much better with a larger "bathroom".

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowlingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

575 - 581 of 1,130 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel has a number of design issues - wash basin in room, bathroom too small with its light effecting bedroom, rug on fllor dangerous as slides as you walk on it, breakfast area too small for size of hotel plus cost was very high for the quality when compared with stays in other Marriott hotels eg Leeds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments about your stay at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.
It is unfortunate the building, originally built in 2008 as apartments, could not be amended to better accommodate our guests. Marriott would like to cater for the needs of all our guests and I am sorry we did not meet your expectations to the full on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Located in Quartermile area (10 min walk from Royal Mile - 15 mins to Princes St). The hotel is fairly new and has all the regular amenities (small gym, bar area, breakfast area) but the rooms feel kind of sparse - the "double bed" is really two singles which tend to drift apart and roll around on the parquet floor. The remaining space in the bedroom is VERY limited. The seating area and kitchen is comfortable enough but basic. WiFi was reasonably accessible. Parking (in an adjacent building) is very expensive BUT free if you ask the hotel staff for use of their key card.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Eddie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin R, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments about your stay at the Residence Inn Edinburgh.
I am sorry we did not meet the standards you expected on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced.
We remain convicted to looking for ways to improve. We will address the remedial issues you raised to ensure other guests benefit from your insight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here while visiting Edinburgh in March. Very new hotel from inside out. I was very satisfied with the room. It was clean, new, spacious, and nicely furbished. The staff was beyond excellent. One of the ladies at the front desk could speak Mandarin Chinese and she helped me tremendously with navigating the city and recommended me several very authentic Asian restaurants in the area. The breakfast was extremely generous and the food was very delicious. Only downside was the location, the street it was located on was quite confusing to find, even for the taxi driver. The rate is a little expensive, but definitely worth the price tag!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fzwa1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Great location with walking distance to the best of Edinburgh. Rooms are large, the hotel is well maintained and the staff is excellent. However, there is no air conditioning in the hotel making the rooms incredibly stuffy. Additionally, the bathrooms are very small.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank NP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Residence Inn Edinburgh is a complicated hotel to evaluate. The staff is very friendly. The hotel is clean and modern. But, there are design aspects that make things more complicated, several of which relate to the impact of environmental decisions in designing the hotel on guests.
The lighting in rooms is LED and it is not often not well located. The lighting over the sink is bright and immediate. The lighting over the toilet is dim and never really becomes quite bright enough. There is one light over the desk and it is insufficient to work extensively at the desk. The appliances in the kitchen area are all one might need for a stay.
However, probably the biggest issue is the lack of air conditioning. Air conditioning in Edinburgh is usually unnecessary. This August was warm enough to make the guest rooms quite warm and the combination of the fan and one opening window were not enough to make the room consistently comfortable. I guess I wish that the lack of air conditioning had been more prominently advertised on the hotel website.
Unrelated to the environmental consciousness of the hotel design, the drawer storage (2 drawers in a bed end table) is insufficient for an extended stay.
The food in the buffet is plentiful and tasty and the drinks and food outside of the breakfast period were reasonably priced and delicious.
The hotel's location is especially convenient for visits to the University of Edinburgh and the nearby Meadows Park provides plenty of greenery for running and other activities. For those visiting Edinburgh during Festival-time, the hotel is very close to venues including Underbelly, Gilded Balloon, Pleasance, Kings Hall, Summerhall, and other venues in the area.
So, I recommend the hotel and appreciate its commitment to environmental concerns. I just wish that my role in that effort had been more informed and consensual.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David1946109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed here with my family in June and was very happy with the room and the service. We arrived very early and they took our bags for us until our room was ready. The room was really nice and clean. There was no air conditioning in the rooms and that was a surprise but fortunately it wasn't an issue the windows open up to get a good breeze and kept the room cool. The shower was great with lots of room and large shower head. The room itself was larger than I had expected and the kitchen area was nice. The breakfast is Awesome!! A wonderful selection and the food was good. I was really happy about the location. It was short walk to the Royal Mile and other sites. I was happy we stayed here and could see staying here if I get the opportunity to visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#62 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,336 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh

Address: 36 Simpson Loan | Quartermile, Edinburgh EH3 9GG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Southside & Holyrood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £71 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh offers short and long-stay accommodations in Edinburgh, Scotland. At our hotel, set a pace that suits you, whether you're with us for a few days, a few weeks, or a few months. Located in the heart of Edinburgh in the new Quartermile development, you have it all at your fingertips with Edinburgh Castle, the Royal Mile, Holyrood Palace, Princes Street, the Meadows, the National Museum of Scotland and the Scottish Parliament all with in a few minutes walk. You'll thrive at Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh with all the conveniences you need. Like spacious studio, superior studio and one bedroom suites with separate living, working, kitchen and sleeping areas. Complimentary grocery delivery service to fill your refrigerator and satisfy cravings. Complimentary internet for connecting to work and the outside world. Free hot breakfast to start mornings off right and evening social hours to end the day well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Residence Inn By Marriott Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing