We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, wonderful staff, beautiful interiors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, wonderful staff, beautiful interiors”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This is my second time staying in one of their apartments this year (think I reviewed the wrong ones before), and both apartments have been fabulous. Location is super - right on the Royal mile, walking distance to everything. Interiors, although cheaply done are really modern and have everything you need. Great hairdryer and iron are a big bonus. Really really clean. Very warm and cosy for middle of winter.

Staff are so friendly - dealt with Paul, Harvey and Ashleigh and they were all so helpful, couldn't do enough for us and willing to accommodate all our needs.

Only bad thing was the smell that comes up from the toilets, but I think that's an old city Edinburgh thing rather than something specific to these apartments (and when you hear the history of the city, you don't wonder why!!).

All in all, can't recommend these apartments highly enough. Will definitely stay again if I come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loukkcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Your comments are greatly appreciated and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Hoping we are able to welcome you back next time you visit Scotland
Best regards
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    215
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
267
220
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta GA USA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Our 1-bedroom apartment was located just a few steps off the Royal Mile, in a perfect location just down from Hunter Square in Old Town. The booking process was easy and Harvey was a pleasure, answering emails quickly and helpfully. The office and our apartment were an easy walk from the train station and we were happy to see that the building had an elevator which was nice. The interior hallway was not impressive but our apartment was spotlessly clean, nicely decorated and complete with free wi-fi, flat screen TV, well equiped kitchen, modern bathroom with spacious shower, comfy bed, and lots of windows. There was some noise - bagpipes playing at the corner during the day, squawking seagulls, people at the pub across the street but to me it added to the ambiance and is what you would expect with the perfect city center location. All the sights were within walking distance along with tons of shops, restaurants and pubs. We found Edinburgh to be a fascinating city, will definitely return and happily choose Stay Edinburgh City Apartments again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey C, Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and the team are delighted with your feedback.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Kind Regards,
Harvey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

These apartments are located around Royal Mile, very near to Edinburgh castle and the reception is located in souvenir shop called Crest of Edinburgh. Our group (10 persons) had three two-bedroom apartments, two of them located in same house and next to each other, third apartment was nearby at the same street. These arrangements were suitable for us, because the third apartment was an easy-access place to knee-problem persons without any stairs. All of us were very satisfyed to the quality of acommodation: beautifully furnished common areas, well-equipped kitchen, tv, even dvd-player! Everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. Two fellows at reception, Paul and Harvey were so friendly and helpfull, thank you guys! And yes, I can highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvey C, General Manager at Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile, responded to this review, 4 February 2012
It is always a pleasure to read such a positive review and to know that you had a great stay with us.

Many thanks for reviewing Stay Edinburgh City Apartments , I look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 149 in Edinburgh
332 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Property: Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 212 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing