We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, is this for real ? AWESOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2012

This was by far the sweetest deal in all of our UK trip. A HUGE apartment all to ourselves. Impeccably clean, full kitchen, laundry machine in the apartment, and two big bedrooms as well as a full size fold out couch. Modern and smart decor...close to Edinburg Castle. We were given a voucher for breakfast. A short jaunt around the block for fresh pastry and coffee.

We arrived after dark so this wasnt easy for us to find, but the staff was very helpful and stayed on the phone to guide us in :) I appreciated the space and cleanliness and insane value...a few nights before, while in London, we paid more than double for an extremely dirty one room broken door very scary kinda place, lol. Bravo Scotland and bravo SECA!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle_Haley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 757 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

Brilliant apartment on The Royal Mile very close to the castle. Apartment nr. 8 was spacious with two separate bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen/livingroom with great views. Receptioniste was very helpfull and friendly. We would stay here again defenitely when we'll visit Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandertjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012 via mobile

I booked a one bed room apartment but was given a 2 bed apartment so was really big! Was great to stay in a modern apartment in such an old building! It felt like you were entering a castle up a spiral staircase! However, that was the hard part! Many flights of stairs with luggage! The apartment was clean and had all that was needed. Was nice to have a real hairdryer too. The only gripe was a slightly odd smell, almost like dampness, but didn't distract too much, just didn't quite feel 5 star.
It was great to have loads of info on local sites and restaurants, something that often lacks in many hotels let alone an apartment! The location was great, right on the royal mile, and close to some good eateries. Dined at Howies and the Whiski rooms, both very good and within walking distance. Had breakfast in room so no suggestions for breakfast dining. Overall it was a pleasant stay, just not quite a full 5 stars, but still satisfied.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwigirl001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If there is one word to define Edinburgh City Apartments, it is "plenty"... They've got everything that you need in an apartment and plenty of them: from city maps and guides (in many languages), to various types of detergents, liquid antibacterial soaps, tea bags, coffee, especially umbrellas (believe me, you need them), etc, etc... The apartments are in historic buildings but they are very modern and beautifully decorated. Living in those historic buildings also give you a different (nice) feeling... Everything in the apartments are designed in such a way to make your life easier. The hair dryer works very well (it is not like those weak ones that they have in many hotels). There is an iron and ironing table too. There is free wi-fi. British plug adapters are also provided in the room. The apartments (the bathroom, the kitchen, and the rooms) are very clean and neat. Towels, bed linen, all of them, are very clean and they smell nice (something that you can rarely find). Actually the apartment itself smells very nice. The heating system is good. There is hot water all the time. The staff at the reception is so welcoming and helpful. They are truly very good at what they are doing. The apartments are located on the Royal Mile, very close to historic sites and there are very nice shops, restaurants, pubs around. Within easy reach from the train station and the last stop of the airport shuttles. The only problem might be the stairs but if you chose to stay in a historic building, then you have to take that, right?

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fraise_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Other than needing more outlets (today's technology needs charging!) this apartment was fantastic. Our family group of seven couldn't have more pleased. Four bedrooms and three bathrooms with a lovely large dining table and living room. Booking online was very easy and the staff was most accomodating and friendly. We arranged for pickup and drop off at Edinburgh airport with the Stay Edinburgh City Apt. staff and it was a godsend. The location of the apartment was phenomenal, right on the Royal Mile. You walk out of the apartment and you are right where everything is or within easy walking distance. Much less expensive than a hotel and it was perfect for us. I would absolutely rebook. We stayed for 6 nights and really hated to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Great customer service, good price, location wise right in the heart of Edinburgh .. everything is nearby ... absolutely good for apartment style hotels ,I would highly recommend staying there

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EL-CAPETANO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with my wife for two nights. Apart from a problem with a faulty smoke alarm on arrival, which was soon fixed, our stay was pleasant and no complaints. Next time I would take towels though as we were only provided with hand towels. We paid £160 for the two nights. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,029 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#55 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,698 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,598 reviews
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £57 - £466 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing