We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - steep stairs though!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location - steep stairs though!”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked a 3 night stay having read that the apartments were up lots of stairs so we were expecting a bit of a climb. The apartment we were allocated was on the fifth floor up 92 spiral staircases so we certainly got a good workout during our stay! The location was fantastic - right in the middle of the Royal Mile - and the facilities in the apartment were adequate for a short stay. Plenty of space and a huge Queen size bed plus good facilities for making tea and coffee. There was a fully equipped kitchen but we only used the toaster as we ate out each evening.

There was a bit of noise from the street during the night and early morning but nothing more than you would expect from a city centre location.

The check in staff were very helpful, especially with carrying the bags up for us when we arrived.

I'd recommend the apartments for independent travellers and those who don't want to be ruled by hotel breakfast times - and those who are fit and can handle lots of stair climbing!

Room Tip: If lots of stairs will be a problem, ask for an apartment on a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euroguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    210
    50
    13
    7
See reviews for
258
214
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The location of these apartments was brilliant, literally smack bang in the middle of old & new parts of town & right next to Edinburgh castle. The apartment themselves were not 5* they were pretty average to be honest. It wasnt to the degree you would demand a room change but they were not the high standard I had expected. The bed itself was 2 single beds pushed together, one of which was higher than the other! The furnishings were abit tatty, hardly any of the lights were working & the place needed a paint. The boiler gave off a dripping sound. We had a 1 bedroom apartment & did not expect it to be as small as it was. We also had to climb 3 flights of winding stairs up to the apartment which were very steep so if you are not able bodied these apartments are not possible to reach. The staff who met us and took us to the apartment were nice & very helpful. I am unsure as to whether I would stop here again, the only reason I would stay would be down to its location.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tors_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Amazing location in an historical building close to the Castle, in a charming "close" surrounded by similar buildings, excellent position to visit the beautiful city of Edinburgh. Silent, very well furnished too, we just loved it and definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank maggilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

The apartment is in an ideal location close to shops, resturants within walking distance of all Edinburgh has to offer. Facilities at the apartment were excellent everything youd have at home, Tea and coffee to shampoo and shower gel all in we didnt actually eat in as only there for a weekend but you could cook if you wanted apartment was lovely and warm and the bed was spot on as its the best nights sleep id had in ages, only minus was i didnt realise how many stairs there were but everywhere in Edinburgh theres steps so hopefully although we ate out we also burnt it off with all the walking had a lovely time will use again thanx Karen stayed 19th -21st April 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen350z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Two of us shared an apartment on the Royal Mile (2nd time used) as part of a trip to watch Wales play in the Six Nations, the room was very clean with all mod. cons. and you wanted for nothing, the apartment was in the heart of the Royal Mile with everything in walking distance,(10 mins to Princes and Rose street, 5 mins to castle and Grass market) Harvey and his team made our stay very enjoyable, will not hesitate to use them again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Ubin, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Amazing place! Well furnished with everything you can imagine - everything you need in a modern kitchen, tv, sofas, very comfortable shower. It's better than a hotel! Extremely spacious for 2 person. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, offered to carry the luggage for us (2 girls) from the apartment (on the 5th floor) to the ground floor upon check out, and they arrived punctually to do that. One draw back, the only drawback - the 5 storey spiral was really scary to carry a luggage on. Everyday daily walk up and down is a great form of exercise. It's the top floor of the building, which gave us a lot of privacy as well. Mind you, the entrance looks really old, the stairways look really really run down - we were quite apprehensive. But the apartment turned out to be so well furnished! Best to arrive before 7 so you can check in with less issues if any as the staff are present. Located at the heart of Edinburgh city, extremely convenient with shops and restaurants and Edinburgh castle just downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magmaggiegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromsgrove
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

My family of four had a fantastic stay in a two bedroom apartment. The location was excellent and could not have been better - on High Street and virtually at the centre of the Royal Mile.
The check-in (inside the Crest of Edinburgh shop, through a door to the left and down some stairs), was quick and smooth. We were given a hand with our luggage up the stone spiral stairs to our apartment on the third floor, immediately above the shop/check-in.)
The use of energy saving lights and deep coloured decoration didn't help our initial impression that the apartment was a little dark. Once the lights 'warmed up' and we became accustomed to the decor, we felt comfortable in our new 'home'.
The rooms (living room, kitchen area, king-bed bedroom, twin bedroom and bathroom with bath/shower), were a good size, warm, very clean and well equipped. The little things that sometimes need a shopping trip when staying in an apartment, were all there - plenty of toilet and kitchen roll, tea, coffee and sugar, milk/creamer, dishwasher tablets, laundry powder (utility room), shampoo, shower gel, hand soap and hand cream.
The beds were very comfortable with quality bedding. The bathroom was clean and well appointed with a consistent supply of hot water and a powerful shower. The TV and DVD player were a little dated but worked fine; in any case we were there to see Edinburgh. This is where the location of the apartment paid off. Virtually everything we had planned was within a 5 minute walk - Edinburgh Castle, the National Museum, Camera Obscura, St. Giles Cathedral. We even managed to climb to the summit of Arthur's Seat, starting from the Royal Palace which was just a 10 minute stroll from our apartment. The pay-off for such a central location was a little noise from the pedestrianised high street, but the occasional street cleaner helped remind us that we really were at the heart of Edinburgh - great.
The 10am check-out is a little earlier than a hotel, but we did see an army of cleaning staff eager to get their apartments cleaned and ready for the next guests. The check-out was as smooth as our arrival and at at least our timely departure did push us to enjoy our last few hours in Edinburgh. Very usefully, we were able to leave our luggage safely with reception before we departed the city mid-afternoon.
Staying in these apartments makes so much sense for a family. Why stop in a hotel 'family room' when an apartment offers so much more space and privacy for similar money? Given the quality and location, the value was very good and we would certainly use Stay Edinburgh City Apartments again.

Room Tip: Apartment 7 above the check-in was a great apartment with a well lit twin room at the front (over lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Property: Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing