We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Nearby Hotels
US$1,032
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$286
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$193
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Malmaison Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
488
235
59
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
488
235
59
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal milehigh streetthese apartmentsspiral stairsbathroom apartmentwashing machinenice apartmentexcellent locationtop flooredinburgh cityno elevatorcentral locationwell equipped kitchentrain stationfull kitchenshower gelliving area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
592 - 597 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed at an apartment for a couple of nights, chosen because it was on the Royal Mile and we could walk to local attractions plus being on a pedestrianised street meant no traffic noise. It was on the top floor, 92 steps up a spiral stone staircase but the views were brilliant. Apartment was clean, and had all the facilities you'd expect in a flat rather than a hotel room ie kitchen including washing machine and dishwasher. Queen sized bed too. Check in staff were friendly and helped carry opur bags to our room, but weren't around at 9am when a change to our travel arrangements meant we needed to check out earlier than planned. A shame because last impressions count.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

To try and save some money, we decided to try out renting an apartment in Edinburgh, since none of the hotels impressed us or were affordable. Best. Decision. Ever. The office was very easy to find, the staff was friendly, and our apartment was great! We were upgraded from our one bedroom to a four bedroom for some reason, so we didn't need all that space, but the apartment was spacious, clean, and had everything we needed. We were right on the Royal Mile, so the street noise was a little loud at night, but nothing we couldn't handle. Beds were comfortable, bathrooms were modern and clean, and the kitchen was great. Wouldn't stay anywhere else! Price was great compared to other places to stay.

Room Tip: We had to climb three flights of stairs to our unit, so people with mobility problems might have trouble with some of the apartments. Street noise was loud at night, so in retrospect, we should have moved to a room near the back of the apartment.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feline2ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

When trying to book a centrally located hotel for a long weekend in Edinburgh I came across these apartments. Not only were they cheaper than the hotels, but they were closer to the action. The one we stayed in was bang on the royal mile. You couldn't ask for a better location. The apartment itself was spacious boasting a kitchen dining room, separate livening room with large tv, freeview box and a DVD player. Reasonable sized bedroom and good sized bathroom with all the toiletries you need thrown in, saving valuable suitcase space not having to bring mine. The kitchen facilities were great so if you are on a budget you could do all your meals in the apartment and save a fortune on eating out. The staff were very friendly and looked after our cases on arrival so we could explore Edinburgh while waiting for the apartment to be ready and they also looked after them on the day of departure meaning we didn't have to drag them around Edinburgh all day, effectively giving us an extra day of site seeing. The apartment was cleaned to an excellent standard and was very spacious and comfortable for the 2 of us. I'm trying my hardest to think of something negative to say, but the only thing I can think of is the living room furniture was a bit dated, but it was still spotless and very comfy so I don't really have a problem with it. I can't recommend these apartments enough, particularly when compared to a hotel room. Popping back in the afternoon was a real pleasure. In a hotel your stuck sat on your bed with a pokey tv. Not here, bob back for a rest, knock up some toast in the kitchen and relax in the armchair with my "still game" DVD while the wife has a snooze on the sofa. Back out in an hour fully relax and ready to continue our tour of the amazing city of Edinburgh. Stop procrastinating, just do it!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We booked a 3 night stay having read that the apartments were up lots of stairs so we were expecting a bit of a climb. The apartment we were allocated was on the fifth floor up 92 spiral staircases so we certainly got a good workout during our stay! The location was fantastic - right in the middle of the Royal Mile - and the facilities in the apartment were adequate for a short stay. Plenty of space and a huge Queen size bed plus good facilities for making tea and coffee. There was a fully equipped kitchen but we only used the toaster as we ate out each evening.

There was a bit of noise from the street during the night and early morning but nothing more than you would expect from a city centre location.

The check in staff were very helpful, especially with carrying the bags up for us when we arrived.

I'd recommend the apartments for independent travellers and those who don't want to be ruled by hotel breakfast times - and those who are fit and can handle lots of stair climbing!

Room Tip: If lots of stairs will be a problem, ask for an apartment on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Euroguyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

The location of these apartments was brilliant, literally smack bang in the middle of old & new parts of town & right next to Edinburgh castle. The apartment themselves were not 5* they were pretty average to be honest. It wasnt to the degree you would demand a room change but they were not the high standard I had expected. The bed itself was 2 single beds pushed together, one of which was higher than the other! The furnishings were abit tatty, hardly any of the lights were working & the place needed a paint. The boiler gave off a dripping sound. We had a 1 bedroom apartment & did not expect it to be as small as it was. We also had to climb 3 flights of winding stairs up to the apartment which were very steep so if you are not able bodied these apartments are not possible to reach. The staff who met us and took us to the apartment were nice & very helpful. I am unsure as to whether I would stop here again, the only reason I would stay would be down to its location.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tors_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews