We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Very welcoming staff. Fantastic location to stay, right on the Royal Mile, with easy access to some great shops, pubs and restaurants. Some of the flat was beginning to look a little shabby, but all told, still clean and very nice, think the carpets may have been new.

As with all of Edinburgh, there were a few stairs (uneven) as the flat was on the 2nd floor which some may find difficult, though I know some of their flats have lift access so it's worth giving them a call when booking if you think lots of stairs may pose a problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiemfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    207
    49
    13
    7
See reviews for
253
209
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

My Mum and I stayed here for a night away in the city. The apartments are very close to Waverly station (5-10 minute walk) and right on the famous Royal mile. Check in is in a souvenir shop and the engh an iron gate with a keycode.
We were in the top floor apartment 10 which was up MANY spiral stone stairs - not ideal for anyone unfit or with any form of disability. The view from the lounge window though more than made up for the hike up the stairs! We could see from Princes street right down to Leith and even the Forth rail bridge as it was a lovely clear day. Stunning.
The apartment was modern with a double bedroom, bathroom with separate shower and lounge/kitchen area. The paintwork could do to be touched up in places and there was a panel off the bath but all in all it was nice enough. There seemed to be a lack of crockery however this didn't bother us as we were eating out. Tea, coffee, sugar and milk provided which was nice extra.
We paid £70 for the night (midweek) which I felt was a very reasonable price for the standard and location.
Would stay again though not keen on the 10am checkout.

Room Tip: apartment 10 has amazing view if you're happy with the stairs up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighmcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

First the good; very interesting, historic quarter situation on the Royal Mile Central to Princess St, station, etc. apartment itself was spacious, warm and very comfortable beds; may have been 'luxury' appointed some time ago, however the lounge/ hall carpet were in need of a good clean, the silicon in the bathroom definitely needed replaced (black with mildew) and generally could have done with being redecorated. Also, be prepared for the 59 or so stone spiral stairs in a not too well lit stairwell - at least we didn't encounter any homeless people living there on our visit although we could have done since the door was open to the street. We also encountered noise during the night from the corridor and down in the courtyard outside the pub, however most startling was the vibration from above/ below which sounded like someone rattling the windows and you could feel it through the floor. Definitely not accommodation I would choose to return to although I suppose it does represent good value for money if you're not too fussy, fit and able and don't mind strange noises, not very hot water and low water pressure.

Room Tip: Sorry could only recommend this accommodation for stag parties
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DayTripperzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

The location of the apartments is fantastic, a short walk from the centre of Edinburgh. We were staying in a very spacious 1 bed apartment on the 1st floor, just above the Royal Mile. The purple decor was somewhat questionable, but it grew on me! The kitchen and bathroom were modern and well equipped. The bedroom was set at the back of the apartment away from the main street, so was quiet and very comfortable.
Highly recommend Stay Edinburgh City Apartments!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

The hotel is just a short distance from the train station.

The apartment staff are very friendly and helpful.

The 2 bedroom apartment is extremely spacious and the appliances provided are all branded. Unlike other apartments that I stayed in, tea, coffee, shampoo and shower gels, are all provided.

What I like best about my room is the fantastic view the Scots monument and clock tower when I am having my breakfast and dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiongGhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in the top floor apartment and the climb is not for the faint hearted (sloped stone spiral staircase) however I was already aware of this from reading previous reviews.

The one bedroom apartment was clean, modern, spacious and warm and I instantly felt relaxed and at home. I couldn't hear any noise from any other apartments and the bedroom was very quiet, however there is a bit of noise from bottles being emptied in the street below when you are in the front room.

The location was fantastic and so central. With a number of cafes, bars and shops on your doorstep and only five minutes walk down the hill, I was in the centre of Edinburgh. The Christmas Market is on at the moment and it was lovely and put me in the Christmas spirit.

I loved it all so much that I am planning my next visit, this time with my husband for a romantic city getaway.

Room Tip: Top Floor Apartment Number 11, if you can handle the stairs, although bear in mind this in the eaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Food_LoverHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We had excellent welcome. Web site didn't say if tea coffe sugar and milk were provided but they are. And shower gel , soap and cleaning stuff. Our apartment was very clean. Ideal location. Good value for money. Comfy bed.. Rooms a bit un coordinated with decor but to be honest wasn't bothered cause everything else was fab. Will stay in them again.

Room Tip: Was no swimming pool so ignore the above score. Lots of steps so got to be reasonable able to get ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanneknight25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Property: Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing