We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Stay Edinburgh City Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Excellent locations for all the main tourists attractions, 5 minutes from the castle, dungeons, station, ghost walks, princess street etc. Staff friendly and very helpful with plenty of information guides available in the apartments. Apartment itself was well decorated and spacious, upgraded from a 1 bedroom to 2 which was a nice surprise. Came with all the amenities required and had essentials such as towels and hair dryers, making your luggage a little bit lighter. Check out is at 10am however they allow luggage to be kept in their offices till 5pm that allowed us an extra day exploring the city. Would definitely recommend these apartments to those who fancy a nice break in the heart of Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2014

My stay in Edinburgh was perfect even before getting there!
They sent a text message to thank us, and I found it friendly and kind.
Harvey has been very helpful giving us an apartment at the first floor as I required; I got there when the office was closed and it has been very easy following their instructions in order to get the key. As soon as I entered the flat I was simply amazed: warm, comfortable, cozy and good sized bedrooms, Kitchen huge, bright and fully equipped (also washing machine and dish washer); so we had the chance to have breakfast before leaving for our tours, saving time and money! And we washed our clothes avoiding to bring back home dirty stuff.
Bathroom very good: with both bathtub and shower, you don't need to carry with you shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, soaps, handcream, as they are generously provided.
The guys at the reception have been absolutely fantastic, smiling and helpful; they booked for us two beautiful one day tours, which I strongly recommend.
The location? It couldn't be any better.... 5 mins from the Castle, 10 mins from the train station and the new town.
I would come back for sure, I felt myself at home!
I am fully satisfied :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Brilliant location, the man who greeted us was lovely and was happy to point out various attractions and made sure we got settled in ok. We had arrived early but got let into our room as it was ready. Room was lovely, bit cold but fine once the heaters were on, one was broke but the room was still warm. Kitchen was really useful and the bathroom was clean. Our only issue was the ten o'clock check out time and the noise from the pipes in the bedroom but apart from that great value for money, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMcG14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Went with 6 girls and got the 3 bedroom apartment on the royal mile. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a 4 bedroom with 3 bathrooms. Spacious, Clean, great location, plenty of cutlery, pots, pans, bowls. The only bad thing I can say about this is two things, one the WiFi was a bit spotty at times but we would just restart the modem and it would be fine also I believe people lived above us, not just other guests, and one of the nights they Came knocking on our door at ten pm accusing us of smoking...we had just walked in the door. This doesn't however decrease the star rating for me definitely recommended for a large group!!!

Room Tip: We were on James court, try to get an apartment on a lower floor if you have lots of luggage!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The location is perfect. The other - very average. Slow heating water, shabby everything, cold rooms (until you use all the heaters - than it's got hot)
Good kitchen, there are everything than you need. Wi-fi is ok. If you have family (with children) or company trip - use this possibility of value-for-money staying and home cuisine In other cases - better to use the hotels with standard service

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The apartments were very good but had to climb a few steps to get to it, my 90 year old mother could not manage this and Chris (manager) gave us another complimentary apartment just for her., I would recommend these apartments to anyone who wants to be close to the Castle and town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noralan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

After the New Year, my girlfriend and I decided to spend 3 nights in Edinburgh, for a small romantic getaway. Upon arrival, we both commented on the size of the accommodations, and how much space there was for just two people! The apartment was spotless, well furnished, and was already well stocked with many essentials (e.g. milk, instant coffee, sugar, tea bags, and some cleaning supplies). We both also appreciated just how comfortable the beds were.

I felt the location was fantastic, as it was right in the heart of the Royal Mile (although it could get a bit noisy, what with the lack of double glazed windows, high winds, and loud buses).

However, there were some concerns in regards to the apartment, the main one being the spiral staircase leading up to the room, which would be majorly problematic to anyone with mobility or vertigo issues. I'm in fairly good health, and even I found those stairs daunting! Also, we both felt a little insecure that the main door to the building had no lock, and although this was set aside from the street, it was nearby a busy pub and a touristy area. The shower/bath was also another issue, as there was very little water pressure at times, and would often take a lengthy amount of time to heat up.

These issues aside, we really did enjoy the apartment, and if we were to stay in Edinburgh again, we would definitely go with Stay Edinburgh again.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues (i.e. vertigo, arthritis, impaired movement), then make sure to spea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,094 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,759 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,645 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#6 of 218 in Edinburgh
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing