We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We had a lovely stay at apartment 11 , it was beautiful and had a fab bed which means a lot as we have stayed in accomodation where cheap beds had been bought for visitors to TRY to sleep on an felt exhausted the nx day so that was definitely a massive plus point. Docking station and heavy expensive roller blinds add a nice touch. The rest was excellent too, overall I would say we would definitely stay again as the location was 2nd to none .

Room Tip: We stayed in apartment 11 which is at the very top Ov the building so I would recommend that travell...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brucetheboss2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
There are newer reviews for Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2014

The apartment wasn't on the royal mile like it says but it was just off the royal mile so location was excellent. The area wasn't brilliant and the entrance hall in the block of flats was a bit worrying but it was ok we were there 3 nights and had no problems with homeless or drunks. the flat was nice but what really worried me was the windows they weren't secure, they didn't lock properly and there were scaffolding outside the window so anyone could have jumped up and got in the apartment through the windows, luckily no one did while we were there. The apartment was really warm as soon as we went in side we felt the warmth hit us that was lovely. The double bed was very comfortable but the twin room beds not so. If you have difficulty sleeping with noise I'd make sure you got an apartment that is on the royal mile as we were on a main busy road which was noisy all day and all night, luckily I took my ear plugs I'm glad I needed them all night. The apartment had everything we needed included coffee, milk and sugar and more than you get in hotels there was a jar full of coffee which was great. This was far from being 5* accommodation but It was really comfy and cosy, and location spot on. The staff we really friendly, even let us store our bags on our last day til we got our flight home, which was fantastic so we could walk round and see more on our last day without the hassle of pulling a suitcase.

Room Tip: ask for apartment actually on the Royal mile much quieter as no main road. check windows are secure...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsshuggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a two night visit to Edinburgh over February half term, staying for the first time at these apartments. We had a fantastic time and will definitely be making a return trip. Being in the apartment with teenage children was a lot more relaxed than when we've stayed in a hotel; it was a lot better equipped than we had expected and very clean too! Being able to drop off our cases in the central reception before the apartment was ready and after check out meant we could make full use of the time we had. It goes without saying that the location was fantastic - and not as noisy as we had feared.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank janetitleyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just back from a four day visit. Great city to visit. Harvey can not be beaten for customer service. No request was too much trouble to him. We definitely intend to return and take some of the highland tours recommended. Will not pass Stay Edinburgh City Apartments for value and service.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Fantastic experience. Apartment was spotless, great reception and welcome. Quiet at night yet in middle of the Royal Mile.
Will use again and would recommend to anyone. Good exercise going up the stairs!

Jim and Val.

Room Tip: Overlook rear courtyard as there is no street noise, although apartment is in a pedestrian zone.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights as a little treat. the apartment was clean, warm and just what we needed. Harvey was incredible, he called to let me know the apartment was ready, and carried my bag up the stairs. pointing out sights of interest on the way. A slightly later leaving time would have made the stay even better. A little noisy given that we were staying next to nightclub this was to be expected. Pack light would be my advice.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank utopianadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We were a group of seven staying for two nights in the four bed apartment which is ideally located and close to the castle. It was very clean and spacious with a large sitting room/ kitchen. There was a bathroom, shower room and en-suite shower room, all of which were clean and in proper working order. The only complaint we had was that the oven didn't work and the concrete spiral staircase will not be suitable for everyone

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bearpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
981 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,658 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#62 of 150 in Edinburgh
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £73 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing