We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not terrible, but just... okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not terrible, but just... okay”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very central location is a plus, but it gets very loud at night. Probably a more fun place to stay if you're 20 than if you're nearing 30. There are a lot of stairs, as well.

This place says it's five-stars. That is blatantly false advertising. It's not a great sign when one of the first things your wife tells you is don't put your stuff on the carpet because of how filthy it is. The bed is not very comfortable either.

You're paying for the location and some of the nice finishes in the apartment. (The bathroom and kitchen are very updated.) It just felt kind of dirty.

That being said, there was nothing blatantly bad about it that would make me scream "don't stay here" but if your expectations are really, really, high, you will be quite disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    215
    52
    16
    9
See reviews for
267
220
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

a truly excellent experience, with friendly and very helpful staff. there was a damp problem, but it had been dealt with promptly. also, we required early check in and this has been taken care of immediately (i emailed SECA beforehand).

on royal mile, which I adored, but this might put off lovers of peace and quiet. i will come back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location on Blair Street one block away from the heart of the Royal Mile. Harvey and Paul were great with our check in and very helpful with any questions that we had. Liked having free wi-fi internet in the apartment. Experience made it feel like a home away from home. Would recommend this apartment to everyone and would definitely book with them again upon our return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The apartment is truly wonderful as its within walking distance to the heart of Edinburgh. Added with the superb staff (esp. Harald), we enjoyed our one night and truly regret not staying longer. Would recommend this apartment to all visiting Edinburgh,

Its clean, spacious, comfortable and convenient - nothing else that a traveller could ask more !
Kids love it and pleaded to stay longer. When we visit Edinburgh next, we surely know where to stay.

Strongly, strongly recommend this place to all. Staying is believing.
- Rashid & family (Singapore)

Room Tip: clean and comfortable that commensurate with what you are paying for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rashid_KSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

For a 200 plus year old apartment practically next door to edinburgh castle it was very clean and comfortable. I began to feel sorry for all the other tourist who had to hike up the royal mile every day.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fabulous location basically on the Royal Mile about 100 yards from Edinburgh Castle. 3 bedroom 2 bath apt with a kitchen was wonderful. We were a short walk from the bars and restaurants at Grassmarket and being on the Royal Mile was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimellen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the apartments for my hen weekend. The staff were all excellent, very friendly and welcoming! The apartments are really big, plenty of space for us all to have a great time in! The location is ideal and views of the royal mile were lovely! Would def recommend this company to other people! First class!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trace155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
330 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Property: Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 211 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing