We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Edinburgh City Apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We had wonderful time in Edinburgh and really enjoyed our apartment on the Royal Mile. The location put us in the middle of all the main attractions in Edinburgh. The apartment itself although a little small, had all the amenities you could hope for when being away from home. Excellent customer service. Very friendly staff. Harvey was such a polite and caring individual who did everything to make sure our stay in Edinburgh was above average. We would stay in Stay Edinburgh City Apartments again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TatMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (775)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 775 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Booked for a reunion night out in Edinburgh. Easy to pick up keys but you need to find parking.

Location is great off royal mile. Property is accessed by a 'close' and then some steep dark spiral stairs.. Much smaller than expected and definitely not stunning .
Well equipped kitchen and nicely decorated, tv, iron, wifi etc.. Table and the tiniest sofa... And not sure how you can describe the wardrobe but looked unsafe...

Bedroom very clean comfy if small.

Bathroom tiny - watch the towel rail when in the loo and after one shower only warm water...

Cheap toiletries , 99p hand soap!!

Not what we expected but I actually really liked the apartment and can't beat location.. Clean comfortable and good value - similar to my old Uni flat.. Definitely good for young people wanting to explore the city.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CazzieSlough_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very central location is a plus, but it gets very loud at night. Probably a more fun place to stay if you're 20 than if you're nearing 30. There are a lot of stairs, as well.

This place says it's five-stars. That is blatantly false advertising. It's not a great sign when one of the first things your wife tells you is don't put your stuff on the carpet because of how filthy it is. The bed is not very comfortable either.

You're paying for the location and some of the nice finishes in the apartment. (The bathroom and kitchen are very updated.) It just felt kind of dirty.

That being said, there was nothing blatantly bad about it that would make me scream "don't stay here" but if your expectations are really, really, high, you will be quite disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ZJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

a truly excellent experience, with friendly and very helpful staff. there was a damp problem, but it had been dealt with promptly. also, we required early check in and this has been taken care of immediately (i emailed SECA beforehand).

on royal mile, which I adored, but this might put off lovers of peace and quiet. i will come back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Great location on Blair Street one block away from the heart of the Royal Mile. Harvey and Paul were great with our check in and very helpful with any questions that we had. Liked having free wi-fi internet in the apartment. Experience made it feel like a home away from home. Would recommend this apartment to everyone and would definitely book with them again upon our return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The apartment is truly wonderful as its within walking distance to the heart of Edinburgh. Added with the superb staff (esp. Harald), we enjoyed our one night and truly regret not staying longer. Would recommend this apartment to all visiting Edinburgh,

Its clean, spacious, comfortable and convenient - nothing else that a traveller could ask more !
Kids love it and pleaded to stay longer. When we visit Edinburgh next, we surely know where to stay.

Strongly, strongly recommend this place to all. Staying is believing.
- Rashid & family (Singapore)

Room Tip: clean and comfortable that commensurate with what you are paying for !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashid_KSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

For a 200 plus year old apartment practically next door to edinburgh castle it was very clean and comfortable. I began to feel sorry for all the other tourist who had to hike up the royal mile every day.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#61 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Broughton & Calton
Princes Street Suites
Princes Street Suites
#5 of 218 in Edinburgh
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile

Address: Central Reception 217 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1PE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £50 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 15 serviced apartments ranging from 1 to 4 bedrooms. All of the apartments are fully furnished and equipped with High Definition flat screen TV, DVD player, High Speed WIFI internet facility, fully equipped kitchen and modern bathroom. Located on the world famous Royal Mile, we offers you the heart of Edinburgh on your doorstep. Don’t ever worry about public transport. Staying with us you will have easy walking access to all of major Edinburgh attractions. We have one of the widest selections of apartments on The Royal Mile and we SPECIALISE in providing accommodation to SMALL AND LARGE GROUPS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Edinburgh City Apartments - Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing