We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location”
other travellers have booked this property
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
lounge bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Greyfriars Bobby with the Apartment behind
lounge
bedroom with king size bed
kitchen
kitchen
bathroom, bath and walk in shower
View of the flat and Greyfriars Kirk
View from the lounge in the evening
View from the kitchen in the morning
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Shannon S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 11 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Greyfriar's Bobby is an awesome location!! We stayed for 3 days and found it easy to get to and from in the heart of the action. The flat is well stocked for all your needs - just like being at home. Axel was prompt and made sure everything went smoothly. We walked to lots of attractions and were able to be within a block of a supermarket for food & supplies. Would definitely recommend and stay at Greyfriar's again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marit C
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Aside from a slightly sketchy entryway and shutters that don't quite keep out all the light, this is a great place to stay in Edinburgh. It's right across the street from the National Museum of Scotland (free!) and looks into the graveyard at Greyfriars Abbey. You can even go and rub Greyfriars Bobby's nose each morning as you walk down the street. The bed is large and comfortable, and the shower is one of the best we've encountered on our journey. The street is fairly quiet for a city street, even if the locals can get a tad rowdy at 3am.

We were greeted with a small welcoming basket with different kinds of chocolates and there was OJ and milk in the fridge. Axel was incredibly helpful and very timely in his email replies. I would come here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4somefrie...
Dublin Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation in excellent location”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 4 nights here at Greyfriars Bobbys Apartment. Large very clean accommodation. Plenty of space to move around. Kitchen very well equipped with as much crocery and pots and pans as anyone would need. (We did not cook any meals as we were out almost all day every day) Axel left us bread milk butter, some teabags and jar of coffee, some chocolate biscuits and all condiments we would have used if we had cooked. The location is brilliant for all the local attractions and also for tour pick up point. Would def. recommend this accommodation to anyone who needs a handy place to stay, just be careful that you are able to climb stairs as accommodation is on the 2nd floor. No problem to us as we are fit. Next time we are in Edinburgh we would look for this apt. again. Thanks Axel.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sp6287
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could not of asked for more”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked this apartment for my partners birhday. Having seen good feedback. The Location of the flat is perfect for exploring the city on foot. We got a Taxi from the airport and this was £22. However we found that only a short walk away you can get the airport bus for £4.50 each and this leaves every 20mins. The flat has everything you could want and is finished to a high standard. There are some little extras that really make the difference. The bread orange juice and milk are a welcome sight if you've had a long trip. A massive thank you to Axel. Will be recomending this to anyone who askes about where to stay if they are going to Edinburgh. Would love to go back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anabolist
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment, location, facilities, owner, city all spot-on!”
Reviewed 17 September 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great apartment, located perfectly for exploring Edinburgh by foot. It is a casual walk from the train station and we found our way around so easily thanks to the extensive selection of maps, sightseeing brochures and public transport info that were supplied in the apartment. Edinburgh is fantastic for culture, whisky and vegan food.
Apartment was light and airy, spacious, modern and well-equipped. Kitchen had everything we needed and more. Nice option to have a log fire in the living room. Comfy bed, smart bathroom.

We couldn't have asked for more and the owner was very helpful. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkeenan54
Placerville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It felt like home!”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the best decision about accommodations I could have made! The flat was spotlessly clean. It was (unexpectedly) stocked with milk, bread, butter, orange juice and some chocolates, so having something to eat the first night was handled. Axel was a delight to correspond with in making the arrangements and was prompt with answers to any questions that I had. Perfect location to explore Edinburgh, close to transport and groceries. Lots of restaurants and pubs close by. Actually a very quiet location, also. I will definitely return when next in Edinburgh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bright, open, airy feel of the flat. Felt like home. Quiet in spite of being in popular area.
Liked least: Cannot think of any negatives.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing