We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience.”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #15 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great experience.”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I just got back from one week with my 75-year-old mother, 7-year-old son and adult sister at this lovely hotel in Edinburgh. We didn't have great weather while we were there, so this was a situation where if the hotel hadn't have been really nice, we all would have driven each other crazy! The hotel is a former mansion and has been renovated very nicely (check their website for current pictures--some of them on TripAdvisor are out-of-date). The lobby is very nice with a bar and gorgeous breakfast room. The breakfasts were generous, fresh, and tasty. There is a grand sweeping staircase that leads to my favorite room, the wood-paneled library with hundreds of books for the borrowing. The library was the perfect spot for us to take some time to ourselves outside our room to sip tea or coffee or play cards. They have a large cappuccino maker which we could use at any hour, great for recovering from jetlag. The room itself was spacious and clean with fantastic views down to charming old buildings and a rushing river. It had a new soaking bathtub (no wall around it but we didn't care) and a convertable couch in front of a flatscreen TV. Beds were very comfortable and there were also two armchairs and two desks. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would definitely stay there again or at their property in London.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtlasandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    188
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
132
334
24
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
271 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Lovely, comfortable, clean and good breakfast ( and I do mean good). Tiny elevator got us to 4th floor. It was a bit noisy at night from traffic but we knew exactly where we wanted to be so no complaints. This West end hotel suited us perfectly but understandably they are making the most of the season. June/July are definitely London prices in Edinburgh, anything less pricey is less good and vice versa but this is as good as most of us require and very comfortable in every respect

Room Tip: Some rooms overloook the main roads and others don't !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bugsie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 July 2012
Due to the ongoing tramworks on Shandwick Place, a few streets away from us, there have been one or two bus routes redirected past the Hotel. This has resulted in a slight increase in traffic noise. The situation is temporary and we hope to be back to normal soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at this small hotel. Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the city. It was an easy walk to the centre and a quiet location. The room was very adequate and clean. The bathroom was also clean, although a bit awkward. The hot breakfasts were very good and the service friendly. One day we had to leave for a tour before the breakfast room opened and the staff kindly opened the room early so we could have a cold breakfast before we left. The concierge desk was very friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barnsdall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Positives: Great location, quiet street but only 10 minutes walk from the main attractions. Great full Scottish breakfast. Nice library.

Negatives: Lacking any warm feeling or cosiness, more like a Travel Lodge atmosphere. Smallest room I have ever stayed in with a low, sloping ceiling that my partner and I kept banging our heads on. Queen sized bed so my partner´s feet stuck out at the end. We found heaps of dust behind the bed and on top of the wardrobe.

Overall, we were disappointed and grateful to only be staying one evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeptravelling111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Fantastic views from the room over the World Heritage Site of the New Town. Very central location allows for a walk to Princes Street in around 10 minutes, well placed to access Haymarket station in 5 minutes.

Very wide selection at breakfast and incredibly comfortable rooms. Top Marks!

Room Tip: If you can ask for a room with a view to the back of the property you will get a really nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicesterhire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

High quality hotel, lovely library and bar to wile away the hours if you have the chance to do so. Fantastic wooden panelling and ceiling in the dining area.

Rooms are top quality and the views are some of the best, we had a room on the 4th floor with wonderful vista.

Breakfast again very high quality.

100% recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pumpybumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

B+B Edinburgh is a great place to stay in a nice neighborhood in Edinburgh. Located on a very pretty street and a short walk to several bus stops, restaurants, pubs, etc. The front desk staff is helpful and the breafast was good. We also enjoyed the "sitting room" bar which we found to be very comforting after a long day in the rain! Nice assortment of whisky. :)

Room Tip: You will probably have to take the stairs as the elevators are TINY. If you have trouble with that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana4697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 148 in Edinburgh
914 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
968 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing