We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More luxury hotel than B & B”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #16 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“More luxury hotel than B & B”
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed for three nights in room 1, which is lovely. Big and spacious with quality fittings, and very very clean.

Breakfast is excellent with lots of choice, and you can pretty much eat as much as you wish.

Staff are all friendly and helpful.

The building is typical of the area, and most of the old features have been retained.

I appreciate that the owners are trying to offer a different type of luxury B & B but wonder how many guests they may have lost who when they see the name think it is just a B & B. That said they certainly offer something different, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richfo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    193
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
139
336
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

One night at this B&B while attending a concert in Edinburgh. Beautiful location, in one of Edinburgh's elegant New Town streets, and a very convenient base for all the attractions in Edinburgh's city centre. Imposing entrance hall, with an incredibly beautiful marble staircase with carved wooden banisters to the first floor. I had a small(ish) room facing north on the fourth floor - outstanding view over the north of Edinburgh across the Firth of Forth to Fife and the Ochils, and even a glimpse of the mountains of the Highlands if I craned my neck a little. The bed was extremely comfortable, with what appeared to be a genuine feather duvet. The shower was a little cramped, but perfectly adequate. Breakfast was good, with fresh fruita salad, bread and croissants and a wide cooked selection. Great value for money, and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a north-facing room on one of the upper floors - the view northwards is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

The hotel is a building with some old beautiful details. The stairs are made of wooden. Moreover, the hotel has a beautiful library in wood.

Our room was very big with the bathroom ensuite. Moreover, the room had a bath in the middle.

The breakfast was fantastic and we had wifi in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergi_Cat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A J H, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2012

My mum, my sister and I spent a week end at B+B and were very happy both with the service and with the location.
The hotel is just a stroll away from all the major streets, and is located in a nice, quiet suburb.
The staff are friendly and helpful - they kept our luggage at their desk after check out and scheduled a couple of taxis for us. Furthermore, the house itself is beautiful: we especially enjoyed the library. Breakfast is very rich as well.
Definetly to recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicerem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A J H, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Many thanks for your review---we're glad you enjoyed your weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

After reading other reviews, I expected something a bit personal. After the arrival the room wasn´t ready so the Hotel recommended to come back afterwards. Although this commentary, they assigned the room in order to go directly to the room when we came back. We took advantage of this fact and went to explore the Rosslyn Chapel (which I strongly recommend not to miss).
Unfortunately after coming back we discovered that this room had already been assigned to another passenger and we had to only room left which was in the underground floor.
Apart from this fact, the Library on the first floor and the upper part of the building is amazing.
Anyway I would not stay here again, and I would not recommended for anybody.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wright3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 & loved it. It was a great "home" to come back to every evening with beautiful views from our family room.
It is clean, comfortable, has beautiful modern features and amazing architecture, friendly & helpful staff, everything we wanted really.

Room Tip: Back rooms have views of Stockbridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed for two different nights, before and after a three day Highland tour. Trying to schedule on the internet was difficult so started chatting with hotel on line. The Manager then called me (overseas!) to finalize our stay to make sure we got the right nights. I thought this was amazing and thought I picked the right place. The hotel just got better as we had problems with the airlines and our luggage never made the trip over. We called the B&B from the airport and the hotel offered to keep our luggage, when delivered from the airport, after we checked out and, had it in our room when we returned back from the tour three days later. The hotel offered the use of an electric converter plug to take with us on our tour as ours was in the missing luggage. They helped us find shops that might be open late for us to purchase an extra shirt to have on our tour. The staff even offered us a breakfast to be ready almost an hour before they normally served when they found out we would need to leave so early for the airport on our last morning. They called for taxis to be ready when we needed them both mornings of departure.

This was one of our most memorable hotel stays as the services we received was so above what we could have expected. The other bonus was the quality of the rooms...very clean and modern with great views! We stayed one night facing the front and one night facing the back. And enjoyed both views! The breakfast was a surprise as they cooked to order the hot food that you liked and had pastries, breads, yogurt and cereal ready on a buffet. They also had free wifi that worked in the rooms, not just the lobby. The location was easy to walk to Princess street with pubs, restaurants and shopping just around the corner. We would definitely like to return to Edinburgh and this will be our first choice to stay at again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back back are smaller but are quieter. Rooms in the front get some street noise but hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul A J H, General Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 1 September 2012
Many thanks for leaving such a detailed review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,770 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,486 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing