We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A true Victorian Gentlemen's City Residence”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #15 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A true Victorian Gentlemen's City Residence”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

If you have ever worked with wood or appreciate good timber craftsmanship this place is a must. The stairs, parquetry floors, panelled walls and library all have a wonderful warmth and an element of grandeur. Our room was well sized with a good size ensuite. We were on the third floor with views to the castle and cathedral. Despite the road diversions due to the new tramway we found it quite, and got good nights sleep. The hotel is located a short and pleasant stroll to the main shopping area, and after a good night out around the Royal Mile the taxi fare back was only a few pounds. Parking is only available on the street (pay and display), 4 hrs max for 8.80, although I believe a long time car park is available somewhat further away. As we intended to see attractions out of Edinburgh during our stay, we parked in the street and went out in the mornings.
We enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we were to return to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJTravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    181
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
125
325
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012 via mobile

Really nice building, great atmosphere and friendly service. We stayed there for a long week end. It's close to the city center reachable with a 10 mnutes walk. It's more than a simple B&B as it has a business room and a library and...... free Wi-Fi in all the building:- )

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KILO965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We stayed here for my sisters 65th birthday and we had a very comfortable stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were spotlessly clean and the architecture is just fabulous especially the library. A great room to relax in with tea and coffee on hand (free) (the espresso took me back to Italy). Altogether great value for money and I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christinesmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Stayed here with friends for the rugby international. Location was spot on, 5-10 min walk from Haymarket station, 15mins to Murrayfield, 10-15 min to rosé street / princes street. The hotel is part of a lovely quiet street of residential town houses. We arrived 3 hrs prior to check in and we're able to leave our bags and head out, the reception staff ( which double up as bar staff at night) were very helpful. The front door is always locked for security, so you have to buzz to get in without a key. The rooms are lovely and some at the front have views of the castle. They are a fair size and very tastefully decorated, the beds are very comfy.
There is a small bar on the ground floor which is in a relaxing lounge. After the bar is shut you can take your drinks up to the library, which is lovely and adds to the slightly spooky atmosphere!
The cooked breakfast in the morning was more than ample with nice views out the large windows, the staff were very efficient!
All in all this hotel is a lovely, quiet, atmospheric place and good value for the money. We would definitely stay here again, hopefully in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 8 and 9 have views of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Two of us stayed in the ‘Petit double’ for £70 inc breakfast on a Saturday night. Overall I was impressed with the value for money of this Hotel-come-B&B.

Location:We picked this hotel due to its proximity to the city centre and previous reviews from fellow TA members. B+B Edinburgh lived up to both.

The hotel is set in a quiet area of the ‘New Town’ which consists of beautiful Georgian buildings. We strolled to the main attractions Princes Street, Gardens, castle etc in about 5-10 min. We walked back from Grassmarket at night, took about 15-20 min as there were not many taxis about at the time.

Rooms: Clean, modern, and tidy. Our room was a small double on the top floor but it was peaceful and the views over the city out towards the Firth of Forth river were majestic on Sunday morning. Shower was fairly poor, but the toiletries were a nice touch.

Breakfast: Good choice of Hot Scottish and Continental Breakfast. Food quality was high and the service was friendly. They could maybe do with some background music in the restaurant as it was a little too quiet to fully relax, have a chat and enjoy the breakfast.

I don’t stay over much in Edinburgh due to living within an easily commutable distance. However if I had another social event to attend, I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. I’d choose B+B Edinburgh over the chain hotel alternatives at this price (Travelodge, Premier Inns etc) any day of the week. I really appreciate the Hotel/B&B concept.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu-Gus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I stayed here with my partner and 4 friends for the Scotland v South Africa rugby game at Murrayfield.An ok walk to Murrayfield.We stopped off at The British Legion for a drink and they made all rugby fans so welcome.Bought a steak pie for £1.50 they're,gorgeous!!
The guys on the reception were very pleasant.We could leave our bags there till check in time.Rooms were calmly decorated,simple, but 'nice'.We had a lovely view over to Edinburgh Castle.We had a few drinks in the bar.Comfortable tub chairs,tv on too in back ground.
We went out for dinner but every where very busy.When we came back to hotel the guy on reception served us on the bar and we took our drinks up to the library.The bar closes at 11pm.The library was a very comfortable area to sit in.Lovely wood carvings,clocks ticking.Books in the cabinets that you could read.In an ajoining room there was a coffee machine where you could have a cappuccino,latte,expresso or flavoured teas.Also biscuits.We talked about ghosts and every so often the coffee machine would give out a chorus of noises adding to the moment!!
Our rooms were on the 3rd floor,9,8&7.There was a lift as well as stairs.
Beautiful staircase from reception.Breakfast was until 10.30am on Sunday.Juices,cereals,croissants,cheeses,toast and full cooked breakfast.
Front door was always locked and if you return after 11pm your room key opens the door.Otherwise the receptionist is there.
Check out is at 11am and because our train wasn't until 2pm we could leave our luggage there.A great stay and we definitely will be returning.Thankyou B&B.

Room Tip: Our room number 9 had the view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powfoot3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

- Quite and nice (residential) location
- Very close to city centre (5-10 min walking distance)
- Impressing, historic building, and interieur
- modern and stylish fit out
- Good breakfast
- not cheap, but worth the money!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VolkerS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
868 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,233 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,832 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing