We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #15 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just lovely!”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This hotel contains beautiful architecture and design features. The building has many original features, including an impressive staircase and windows, plus very striking contemporary design: the Scandinavian-style light fightings are worth seeing. My room had everything you could ask for plus lovely views. Breakfast was in a room with more great views, and also had everything I could have wanted. It is a bit far from the city centre, but in a lovely location.
I was travelling with a colleague on this occasion, but I would be happy to stay here as a solo female traveller: staff could not be more helpful. The hotel has 27 rooms, but it felt more friendly and personal than that number suggests. I would definitely like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask about adjusting heating before going to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing - we welcome many guests travelling to Edinburgh on business who later return with families! We have worked hard to create a balance and hopefully appeal to everyone! Edinburgh is a busy city with so much to enjoy - the Team are all eager to share their favourite spots with you! See you again, we hope. If you come again on business...join up to Belong + Benefit - the details are on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    420
    181
    33
    11
    6
See reviews for
125
325
23
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed for three nights in Feb. Every aspect of this place is top draw, room was spot on with a cracking view of the castle and the wonderful St. Mary's. Very clean, with daily cleaning which was excellent, as was the shower. Loved the addition of shortbread in the room and library, was delicious. Breakfast, again excellent, everything you want, and service quick and freindly cooked breakfast was tasty. Location of the place was terrific perfect for exploring on foot, botanic gardens, castle etc within easy reach, good bus and train links. All in all top draw, and outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffHardy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Super thanks for taking the time to review. The B+B philosophy attempts to break the mould and offer an alternative to the traditional style Guest House. We are really pleased you have been able to soak up our funky vibe and use us as a base to explore the city. Try out our sisters if you visit London or the South Coast - we will be delighted to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

This place really wasn't what we were expecting! A B&B is usually a family home with a couple of letting bedrooms. This is a beautiful hotel with oodles of carved wooden features giving it a lovely warmth and elegance.

Its location is ideal, especially if travelling by train (a car is a hindrance in Edinburgh) as it's a short walk from Haymarket. We walked miles and miles in this wonderful city. We've been many times before and there is always something new to discover.

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, the room was cosy and scrupulously clean and the breakfast was available until 10am which is perfect when on holiday. Free Wi-fi was a great bonus, as was the lovely, relaxing library.

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights and the staff were happy for us to store our bags both before checking in and after checking out.

The only negative aspect was that our room was rather dark. With grey walls and ceiling and dim lighting it was lovely and relaxing for watching tv, but I get too bored doing just that! I had taken some sewing with me and it was hard to see well enough to do very much.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Having not been to Edinburgh before it was hard to choose an accommodation. We spent 2 nights at B+B, arriving late on the Friday after being delayed by the weather and airports not coping. We rang the B+B a few times regarding the delay and the night receptionist / porter was most helpful. The room was in the basement but was comfortable and spacious with windows. There were little touches like the embroidered pillowcases and sweets with the initials B+B. The only small annoyance was the extremely cold bathroom floor tiles...Breakfast was good, and the dining room had some nice art pieces. It is approx. a 10 minute walk to the main area of Edinburgh and easy for all the sites and airport bus. After walking around the town all day we returned to the lounge area on the 1st floor and took advantage of the complimentary hot beverages. A nice place and we will hopefully return in warmer weather.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel_Lesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Guest - thank you for taking the time to review - it is very much appreciated. It sounds as though an unfortunate turn in the weather turned into quite a pleasant stay in the city! I am pleased you managed to enjoy a little of B+B Edinburgh's warmth on a winter weekend! We would love to see you again in the spring/summer - Edinburgh has so much to offer all year round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I strongly recommend the B+B. I arrived early for check in and that was no problem. Was shown to 2 rooms with the option to choose the one I liked best. Tough choice, as both were great. Ensuites are very comfortable, modernly furnished, very clean and with a nice view. Great breakfast, both english and continental. Staff is very pleasant and helpful. At check out, kept my luggage so I could enjoy my last hours in Edinburgh strolling around this beautiful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bia_Grimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to review. We agree that B+B Edinburgh is a super base to exploring the city and by far the best way is by foot. Glad we could be of help - it is our pleasure to make your travels even more wonderful! Consider visiting our sisters in Weymouth and Belgravia if you are travelling further around the UK - we look forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We booked the stay as part of an online offer.

As soon as wee arrived the staff where more than helpful and explained everything.

The rooms are absolutely stunning! Cannot fault them other than not being able to find a tag on the pillow so we could buy some for our home! They are the best pillows we have ever laid our heads on.
Towels changed each day, bathroom cleaned and beds re-maid.

Breakfast has plenty to offer and was stuffed on both morning.

Stunning little bar with laid back feel (I may have added some form of quiet music).

To be so close at such a reasonable cost even without the voucher this hotel is a brilliant little find! Book immediately!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdelsKels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review B+B Edinburgh - we are really pleased you have managed to soak up the lovely atmosphere. We aim to do the simple things well - a good bed and a great breakfast - perfect preparation for a days sight seeing! I will investigate the pillows and let you know. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

The hotel was well situated, 15 minutes walk to the centre of the city, but far enough out of the hustle and bustle in a quiet, elegant Victorian terrace. We were greeted very warmly and efficiently by the manager, and up in our room within 5 minutes. Our ensuite room was very spacious, spotlessly clean with a good view, the bed was very comfortable and a good size. Despite being next door to the lift I was struck by the lack of noise, and had a very comfortable night's sleep. What I really loved here was the architecture - the wonderful wide marble staircase and the carved panelling in the hallway and the breakfast room. Also the library was a joy and we had a drink downstairs in the bar before we went out for a meal, and could also have helped ourselves to coffee at any time. It felt very relaxed , with plenty of choices of rooms to sit in, not just our room. Although we were only there for a night we would have been happy to stay longer. Breakfast was very good and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The only slight downside was that we had to park about five minutes walk away and make a couple of journeys with our luggage, which was ok for us but might not suit an older person or someone with a mobility problem. We also had to feed the parking meter for a few hours until early evening. I will definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the building which I suspect has the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Martindale Family - Thank you so much for taking the time to review. We are so pleased that B+B Edinburgh appealed to all the family - adults and teenagers alike! The city is jammed with amazing places to visit, sites to see and we are thrilled that you have found the perfect base from which to start your adventures! Please consider our Belong + Benefit scheme - this is how we communicate our Special Offers and you can earn rewards with each nights stay. As you are planning to stay again, this makes perfect sense! We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,765 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
867 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,233 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,832 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing