We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
B+B Edinburgh
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$251
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$347
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$325
US$258
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$300
US$280
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$328
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$231
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Holiday Inn Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
487
223
43
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
487
223
43
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdean villagebeautiful librarymarble staircasesquare sausagefamily suitefirst floororiginal featureswest endtop floorbreakfast roomboutique hotelprinces streetcooked breakfastwithin walking distancetea and coffeequiet streethaggis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
433 - 438 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We, 8 women, spent three nights in this very nice hotel during the Tattoo festival. The rooms, single and double were modern and spacious and the view over the town just great. The service was excellent too and the staff were very friendly and helpful. they offer a big variety for breakfast, such as haggis, porridge etc. Tea, coffee and shortbread are offered in the library and in the room. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing all the way form Switzerland! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay - the B+B is fab for groups because we have such great communal areas... the bar and library are a great place to rendez-vous before hitting the city or going sight-seeing. If you return to the UK - have a look at our sisters on the South Coast or Belgravia, London - the same welcome awaits you there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I liked this hotel. The room that I had was very nice and renovated. The breakfast was great (although as I traveled through Scotland, I realized that most Scottish breakfasts are good). Also, the location is fantastic. It's very easy to walk to everything. My only concern, and it was a pretty big one was that it was incredibly noisy. Now, this surprised me because the road it's on seems like just a standard residential one, but all night I kept on getting woken up by passing cars, lorries, etc. I think this is only an issue if you are on the street-side of the hotel, so I recommend asking for a room in the back. Also, I think this is a temporary problem because the city is doing a massive overhaul of Prince Street, and I think that's diverting traffic to less used roads. I honestly wouldn't book here again unless I was guaranteed a room in the back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoloTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hello guest and thank you so much for the review. We are so sorry you found the stay a little noisy - we are always complimented on our peace and quiet. We have checked the dates of your stay and can only put this down to a temporary diversion, as you say. Please visit again and we will do our very best to ensure a room overlooking Deane Village. We are pleased you have enjoyed hte rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We SO enjoyed our stay--this was our little sanctuary at the end of the day, away from the festival crowds! From the moment of check in when they offered to keep our bags until the room was ready... to our check out 5 days later, when they called a taxi for us... everything was wonderful! The building is beautiful, with common rooms that architecturally were original to the era but with a twist of modern conveniences and decorating! Loved it! Our room was a suite--modern, comfortable. The breakfast room and staff were just lovely and we always started off our busy sightseeing days with a good meal! The front desk was always friendly--thank you especially to Stephen and the nice young man from Hungary...sorry we do not know your name.

Special note too...an absolutely lovely touch was the complimentary water, hot beverages and biscuits that were always available. It was wonderful to sit in the exquisite library and enjoy at the end of a tiring day of sightseeing.

We will certainly return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback - it REALLY means a lot to the Team. We will ensure everybody is thanked and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long! Remember to join Belong + Benefit if you are to become regular visitors - see the website for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed two nights during the Edinburgh festival and were delighted by how quiet this hotel was considering it was only a few minutes walk to the heart of town. It's tucked away in a pretty area of the city, in a beautiful old terrace building. The public rooms (including a library to relax in) are all in original style and quite lovely. Our room was downstairs and had a lovely view out over the streets scape at the back, I liked the authenticity of it.

The staff were helpful and, as we arrived early, stowed our bags for us while we went out for the day. Our bedroom was very comfortable with good soaps, shampoos etc. only complaint was that it was a bit hot inside. Breakfast was excellent, great porridge and good options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9HappyTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for your super feedback. The city is electric during Festival and we are pleased you were able to retreat to B+B Edinburgh at the end of the day! Thank you for the feedback regarding temperature... it is fairly unusual to be too warm in Scotland (!) but we will look at this for future - thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We spent 3 nights in this B&B hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Our room was a bit noisy as it was directed to the streets - but when you visit a city you do not necessarily await a quiet atmosphere. Room was modern and spacious, the light however a bit dark so that it was not possible to illuminate the room properly. But that's no real drawback.
Breakfast was good and the location near enough to reach all sights by foot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine_Mue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hi Guest - thank you for your review. We are pleased we provided a good base to explore Scotland's capital. We are really proud of our B+B and love it when our guests are happy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews