We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location great price”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #18 of 395 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very nice decor, go for a room on the second floor as the rooms have higher ceiling. Very helpful staff, Stephen, who explained where to park and how to pay for it. Easy walk to town and very quiet safe area

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Steviem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Stevie - thank you for taking time to review. we value feedback from such a seasoned Contributor.. Great advice for future guests! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here in August for three days for the tattoo and sightseeing. Rooms were clean and bed was very comfy after a long day sightseeing! Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to see to our needs. Our Room was at the back and was very quiet with a great view. Loved the decor in the hotel the common areas were nice to sit in and have a drink after a long day. I would not hestitate to stay here again if visiting Edinburgh in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor at the back of hotel, the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Hi Carol - thank you for reviewing. You certainly picked a great time to explore our city! Tatoo is so colourful and the place comes alive. We agree our location is spot-on for peace and quiet but central enough to walk into town. We look forward to welcoming you again - please consider joining Belong + Benefit if you are planning another visit. Thank you, once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The building is spectacular, the prices are so reasonable - it has a beautiful old library for guests to sit and relax. The bar is great, a wide range of drinks served - a nice surprise as usual B&Bs wouldn't have this facility, the staff are attentive and give a personal service. The room was spacious and clean, we had a great night sleep. The breakfast is a full 'Scottish' breakfast - a delight, cooked to perfection.
The experience as a whole was a great one. When we're next in Edinburgh we will be sure to visit again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bexpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hi Guest. We are thrilled you have enjoyed B+B Edinburgh. We love our cosy bar too! It makes a good place to start the evening or to retire to at the end of a great night out! Did you know our GM is a bit of a whisky expert?! Pick his brains when you next come to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We, 8 women, spent three nights in this very nice hotel during the Tattoo festival. The rooms, single and double were modern and spacious and the view over the town just great. The service was excellent too and the staff were very friendly and helpful. they offer a big variety for breakfast, such as haggis, porridge etc. Tea, coffee and shortbread are offered in the library and in the room. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing all the way form Switzerland! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay - the B+B is fab for groups because we have such great communal areas... the bar and library are a great place to rendez-vous before hitting the city or going sight-seeing. If you return to the UK - have a look at our sisters on the South Coast or Belgravia, London - the same welcome awaits you there!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I liked this hotel. The room that I had was very nice and renovated. The breakfast was great (although as I traveled through Scotland, I realized that most Scottish breakfasts are good). Also, the location is fantastic. It's very easy to walk to everything. My only concern, and it was a pretty big one was that it was incredibly noisy. Now, this surprised me because the road it's on seems like just a standard residential one, but all night I kept on getting woken up by passing cars, lorries, etc. I think this is only an issue if you are on the street-side of the hotel, so I recommend asking for a room in the back. Also, I think this is a temporary problem because the city is doing a massive overhaul of Prince Street, and I think that's diverting traffic to less used roads. I honestly wouldn't book here again unless I was guaranteed a room in the back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoloTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Hello guest and thank you so much for the review. We are so sorry you found the stay a little noisy - we are always complimented on our peace and quiet. We have checked the dates of your stay and can only put this down to a temporary diversion, as you say. Please visit again and we will do our very best to ensure a room overlooking Deane Village. We are pleased you have enjoyed hte rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We SO enjoyed our stay--this was our little sanctuary at the end of the day, away from the festival crowds! From the moment of check in when they offered to keep our bags until the room was ready... to our check out 5 days later, when they called a taxi for us... everything was wonderful! The building is beautiful, with common rooms that architecturally were original to the era but with a twist of modern conveniences and decorating! Loved it! Our room was a suite--modern, comfortable. The breakfast room and staff were just lovely and we always started off our busy sightseeing days with a good meal! The front desk was always friendly--thank you especially to Stephen and the nice young man from Hungary...sorry we do not know your name.

Special note too...an absolutely lovely touch was the complimentary water, hot beverages and biscuits that were always available. It was wonderful to sit in the exquisite library and enjoy at the end of a tiring day of sightseeing.

We will certainly return.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thank you so much for this fantastic feedback - it REALLY means a lot to the Team. We will ensure everybody is thanked and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long! Remember to join Belong + Benefit if you are to become regular visitors - see the website for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed two nights during the Edinburgh festival and were delighted by how quiet this hotel was considering it was only a few minutes walk to the heart of town. It's tucked away in a pretty area of the city, in a beautiful old terrace building. The public rooms (including a library to relax in) are all in original style and quite lovely. Our room was downstairs and had a lovely view out over the streets scape at the back, I liked the authenticity of it.

The staff were helpful and, as we arrived early, stowed our bags for us while we went out for the day. Our bedroom was very comfortable with good soaps, shampoos etc. only complaint was that it was a bit hot inside. Breakfast was excellent, great porridge and good options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9HappyTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Thanks for your super feedback. The city is electric during Festival and we are pleased you were able to retreat to B+B Edinburgh at the end of the day! Thank you for the feedback regarding temperature... it is fairly unusual to be too warm in Scotland (!) but we will look at this for future - thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#15 of 395 in Edinburgh
525 reviews
Bruntsfield
Albyn Townhouse
Albyn Townhouse
#10 of 395 in Edinburgh
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 395 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £52 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing