We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #16 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights the first week of September, the atmosphere is fantastic, the staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful - they truly aim to please here. Our room was on the 4th floor, spacious and very clean with high ceilings and a very comfortable bed,the bathroom facilities lacked counter space but was overcome by using an end table from the main room, it was very quiet overlooking a quiet neighbourhood along a meandering stream and the sea coast in the distance it looked like a fairytale with the old former school for the deaf complex and clock tower. The facilities are excellent, with access to a bar, a beautiful breakfast room, 24 hr coffee/tea/expresso, a breathtaking library, free wifi and the use of a laptop was offered to check in for our flights. The neighbourhood was quiet with a park and within walking distance to Princess street shops/restaurants/bars. We spent 3 weeks in Scotland/England and this was by far the better than the chains of hotels we stayed at. We would definitely go back and recommend this spot. The designer who blended modern with traditional really missed the mark in the dining room as the moose head and light fixtures are hideous otherwise the decor mix is pleasing to the eye.

Room Tip: The traffic was busy at times as the road construction nearby has diverted the traffic to the side s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing B+B Edinburgh - we are so pleased you have soaked up the atmosphere and enjoyed our facilites. Every little corner of Edinburgh has something wonderful to enjoy and we hope we offer a peaceful bolthole at the end of a packed day...oh and the whisky in our bar's not bad either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    193
    34
    11
    7
See reviews for
139
336
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Quiet spot in the New Town, with an excellent and generous breakfast. Victorian house with contemporary furniture. Behind the B&B, the is a river call the Water of Leith and a path & park with fantastic scenery. The walk will also give you the opportunity to fantastic building of Edinburgh witch are off the regular tourist path such as Dean Village and the former Donaldson’s School for the deaf.

Room Tip: If you choose a room at the back you may have a view on the Dean Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephfromMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Guest - thank you for your top tips and review of B+B Edinburgh. Walking along the Water of Leith into Stockbridge is a real 'must' for our guests - it is really peaceful and leads to some great little cafes and bars! The walk through the Deane Village is bursting with history and we recommend it to everyone! Thank you again and see you soon, we hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

Very nice decor, go for a room on the second floor as the rooms have higher ceiling. Very helpful staff, Stephen, who explained where to park and how to pay for it. Easy walk to town and very quiet safe area

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steviem71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Stevie - thank you for taking time to review. we value feedback from such a seasoned Contributor.. Great advice for future guests! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here in August for three days for the tattoo and sightseeing. Rooms were clean and bed was very comfy after a long day sightseeing! Staff were very friendly and went out of their way to see to our needs. Our Room was at the back and was very quiet with a great view. Loved the decor in the hotel the common areas were nice to sit in and have a drink after a long day. I would not hestitate to stay here again if visiting Edinburgh in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor at the back of hotel, the view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi Carol - thank you for reviewing. You certainly picked a great time to explore our city! Tatoo is so colourful and the place comes alive. We agree our location is spot-on for peace and quiet but central enough to walk into town. We look forward to welcoming you again - please consider joining Belong + Benefit if you are planning another visit. Thank you, once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The building is spectacular, the prices are so reasonable - it has a beautiful old library for guests to sit and relax. The bar is great, a wide range of drinks served - a nice surprise as usual B&Bs wouldn't have this facility, the staff are attentive and give a personal service. The room was spacious and clean, we had a great night sleep. The breakfast is a full 'Scottish' breakfast - a delight, cooked to perfection.
The experience as a whole was a great one. When we're next in Edinburgh we will be sure to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hi Guest. We are thrilled you have enjoyed B+B Edinburgh. We love our cosy bar too! It makes a good place to start the evening or to retire to at the end of a great night out! Did you know our GM is a bit of a whisky expert?! Pick his brains when you next come to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We, 8 women, spent three nights in this very nice hotel during the Tattoo festival. The rooms, single and double were modern and spacious and the view over the town just great. The service was excellent too and the staff were very friendly and helpful. they offer a big variety for breakfast, such as haggis, porridge etc. Tea, coffee and shortbread are offered in the library and in the room. We had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing all the way form Switzerland! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay - the B+B is fab for groups because we have such great communal areas... the bar and library are a great place to rendez-vous before hitting the city or going sight-seeing. If you return to the UK - have a look at our sisters on the South Coast or Belgravia, London - the same welcome awaits you there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

I liked this hotel. The room that I had was very nice and renovated. The breakfast was great (although as I traveled through Scotland, I realized that most Scottish breakfasts are good). Also, the location is fantastic. It's very easy to walk to everything. My only concern, and it was a pretty big one was that it was incredibly noisy. Now, this surprised me because the road it's on seems like just a standard residential one, but all night I kept on getting woken up by passing cars, lorries, etc. I think this is only an issue if you are on the street-side of the hotel, so I recommend asking for a room in the back. Also, I think this is a temporary problem because the city is doing a massive overhaul of Prince Street, and I think that's diverting traffic to less used roads. I honestly wouldn't book here again unless I was guaranteed a room in the back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoloTraveler45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello guest and thank you so much for the review. We are so sorry you found the stay a little noisy - we are always complimented on our peace and quiet. We have checked the dates of your stay and can only put this down to a temporary diversion, as you say. Please visit again and we will do our very best to ensure a room overlooking Deane Village. We are pleased you have enjoyed hte rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,767 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,485 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Property: B+B Edinburgh
Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing