We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find!”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #19 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere.
Contemporary decor in bedroom.
Very comfortable bed.
Delicious breakfast.
Easy walking distance to good restaurants and shops. Parking is the only issue!
Helpful staff.
Will definitely be returning.
Excellent value. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you Stephen R2 - this is really appreciated from such a Senior Reviewer.

Yes, unfortunately, this part of town was not designed with the motor car in mind BUT we can recommend spots nearby. Or if possible, travel by train to Edinburgh - the journey here is fabulous from all directions and you arrive fluster-free!

Thank you for time spent reviewing, once again.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (714)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 714 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

I booked a room here through a recommendation from a friend. Thrilled to get an upgrade, I found myself in a suite with a fabulous big comfortable bed, amazing views, a large bath situated in an alcove (separate loo and shower room) and enough space to feel thoroughly spoiled! The building is beautiful, the staff friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. There is a comfortable bar, a stunning library and charming breakfast room. The overall style of B+B is smart traditional, but modern in an understated way - just lovely! Tea and coffee in the rooms, plenty of towels and hot water, keys to come in late if need be, everything thought of. Breakfast, so often a disappointment, was absolutely spot on, hot fresh, tasty, gallons of juice, tea and coffee too.
My only reservation in singing the praises is that it will be fully booked next time I want to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Fiona M

We are thrilled you have enjoyed B+B Edinburgh - it is certainly more than just a 'bolthole' in the city - we really encourage our guests to go down a gear, soak up the atmosphere and indulge in a little peace and quiet - it's good for the soul!

See you again, we hope. By the way... we have sister properties in fashionable Belgravia, and seaside Dorset for further me-time indulgence...?!

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here for two nights in mid April.
Room 17 on the fourth floor which is at the front of the building with great views of the street below and the castle and Edinburgh skyline.
Nicely decorated room with a decent sized bathroom and plenty of furniture. Enjoyed our stay at this hotel which has plenty of old original fittings and an interesting history. Paid £76 per night which for the standard of the hotel was good value in my opinion.
If I was being picky,the mattress of the bed in our room was not fantastic quality and the springs would occasionally twang when you turned round....could really do with replacing. Another minor thing was the smell of fried bacon which seemed to permeate the building. Our room was on the fourth floor and you could smell it soon as you left your room in the morning and throughout the day. Probably just needs better ventilation in the kitchen and is only very minor. The breakfast was great and the staff serving it very pleasant and helpful.
Love the location and the short walk through the beautiful New Town streets to the city centre.
Parking in the area was not easy.
I would definitely use this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Wood-burners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Wood-burners,

Thank you so much for the review - we are thrilled B+B Edinburgh worked for you as a family.

Thank you for the useful feedback - maybe it is time to fling open the windows as summer approaches and let some more natural, fresh air filter through our house?!

Thank you, once again - please consider joining the Belong + Benefit scheme if you are travelling to us again - complimentary Champagne on arrival and free nights to aim for..?!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Polite, welcoming, professional staff. Generous facilities - as well as tea and coffee in rooms, additional coffee machine, biscuits and bottled water on 1st floor next to beautiful, comfy library for relaxing. Bar downstairs and very pleasant, comfortable breakfast room. Traditional, grand entrance lobby but modern, minimalist fitting and fixtures. Rooms stylish and simple, very clean and smart. 20 minutes walk to main shopping area, 10 minute walk to river and Water of Leith Walk. Would definitely come again and immediately recommended to family and friends.

Room Tip: if you have vertigo don't book rooms in the back of the hotel! Fantastic views but a BIG drop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you - this is a really helpful review and sums us up very well!

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of the very best attention at all times.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

hotel nice,room comfortable but not enough wardrobe space for a family and lots of dust on surrounding furniture when we arrived at the room.breakfast excellent,staff friendly and very helpful.
enjoyed our stay thank you

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Angie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your review.

Apologies there was a little dust when you arrived - I trust this was rectified during your stay and did not hinder enjoyment too much.

All the best

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A truly lovely Hotel situated in a good area with easy walking distance to city centre. Breakfasts were excellent. Staff were ever so friendly and so willing to make your stay a memorable one. The room we had, had a mervellous view across the Forth Estuary. The room was spotless and decorated in a lovely boutiquey style. Will come again.

Room Tip: They are all pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarryBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you, Mr Buckinghamshire - we really appreciate a review form such a Senior TripAdvisor contributor. As you are considering staying with us again - please join our Belong + Benefit club - we will reward your stay with a lovely bottle of fizz for the first night of your stay and you can 'save up' for free nights stay at any of our sister properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here two weeks ago and couldn't fault the hotel. Our room was lovely with twin beds, an amazing view over the Firth of Forth and a bath in the room as well as a separate shower room. The staff were helpful and couldn't do enough to make sure our stay was comfortable . Breakfast was good, catering for my gluten intolerance without any problem . Just a minor point is a need for more than one high chair . No problem on the first morning but on the Sunday it was already in use so my granddaughter had to sit on her mum's knee until it was free. Loved the library on the first floor and the free drinks while you sat and read a book. Lovely relaxed atmosphere. Look forward to visiting one of their other B+B'S and we'll certainly be back to this one

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmacbb, Guest Relations Manager at B+B Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for reviewing - we really want to appeal to all generations and thank you for the useful feedback regarding high chairs - we could certainly do with another to help at busy times. It is great that you are planning to visit our sister properties - Belgravia is a perfect spot for exploring London and you cannot beat the Dorset for quintessential English seaside fun! We very much look forward to welcoming the family again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,400 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £71 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing