We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”
Review of B+B Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
B+B Edinburgh
Ranked #18 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We have returned tonight from Edinburgh and the delightful Melvin House Hotel. Lovely room, lovely breakfast and very convenient location. The staff were also very obliging. We went for 3 nights with our friends and had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2009

We spent three nights at the Melvin House on our way to the Highlands and returned for a fourth night on the way home. Can't say enough good things about the Melvin House and their helpful staff. Absolutely great breakfasts, spacious rooms (even in comparison to American hotels) clean, tastefully decorated rooms with comfortable beds, and we had great views of the Castle and the Firth of Fourth. The Library is amazing, the bar, lobby and dining rooms exude comfort and charm. Very convenient location close to Princes Street, Rose Street, the National Gallery, the Castle and Dean Village. We highly recommend this "best kept secret" in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Biked_it_Liked_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

I have just read the reviews of the melvin house hotel, and i would recommend this hotel to anyone that likes the old style sottish hotel, suberb views, clean and goes back into history with its old style, no nonsense hotel. Quiet hotel, no noise and the staff are excellent, the rooms manager was very helpful. She made us so welcome as did all the other staff. In 3 words, old, supberb and clean!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eh7central
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

*Colin at Reception is just sooooo nice. thank you for being so good from the day I first rang you :D
*Room number 9 small but beautifully decorated, fantastic view on the castle, super comfortable bed, clean, flat screen tv, huge bath-tub and very clean bathroom. Super location in a very old and well kept building just 10 mins walk from the Castle, 3mins walk to Princes St., room was ready for us at 12.30!!!
*Restaurant beautiful with a super view on one of the many splendit buildings in Edinburgh (not sure what it was-didn't ask, but piece of art anyway :)) breakfast very good too
*no reception at night but you get acces with your key - very good thing!!! no problems here :D
WE LOVED IT!!!
THANK U

PS. They also have FREE INTERNET!!! and the library :D how cool!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAdvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at Melvin House (early July); in the magical city that is Edinburgh! As previously said, the hotel is ideally located very close to many of the attractions, but in a quiet square. The entrance was beautiful and check-in was courteous and efficient. We had a fabulous room with two large windows that overlooked a small park. The bathroom was also clean and spacious, and the shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. The bedroom furniture was in keeping with the style of the hotel, and I really liked that (though there was a large modern television with loads of digital channels). Granted - The beds were two very large singles pushed together, but nonetheless was extremely comfortable - plenty of pillows and so forth. Breakfast was superb - there was a choice of exquisite fresh fruit, croissants and cereals, and you could also order a range of cooked options from the breakfast menu. Breakfast was served in a delightful room with breathtaking views of the city. We paid £80 per room per night, and this included breakfast - and we felt this was a very fair price for such a memorable experience. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tootsie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

Fantastic Georgian Hotel. Staff was very helpful & courteous. Our room was lovely with a great view. And what a gem of a dining room - delicious full Scottish breakfast with great views of the area - great way to start the morning!! The oak dining room (20 ft. ceilings) came complete with carved gargoyles & cherubs - dining room & hotel lobby were true works of antique Georgian art. I highly recommend the Melvin House in Edinburgh!!

K. Zell
California

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blunov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2009

After reading some reviews before we stayed at this hotel, I had a couple of worries concerning the state of the place, but they were wrong!!!!! On arrival, the outside of the building was lovely, the area, the frontage, sadly not the weather, but that was not the fault of the hotel! The hall way was just breathe taking, the staircase stunned me, all carved wood, marble and high splendid ceilings. My camera came out instantly. The chap on reception was so very friendly and helpful, he gave us a map of the city and pointed out the best places to park, so no problems so far! Our room was on the 4th floor, but that wasnt a problem, there was a lift, small, but adiquate. The room was of medium size and very clean. The bathroom was beautifully clean with very large fluffy white towels, perfect! The shower was powerful, and hot, (I have stayed in some places where if you dont get up first, the water is cold, but not here) Our bed was very comfortable with crisp white sheets and 4 wonderful pillows. Being at the top of the building gave us something special, the view, camera came out again!
On the first floor there was a library, with a balcony, gorgeous! (and some meeting rooms with huge carved wooden doors with spectacular brass fittings)
The breakfast, this is where I can become picky, I am a chef and find faults at most places, but not here. The selection was lovely, I had fresh raspberries, strawberries and blueberries every morning followed by a beautifully cooked, and elegantly presented full breakfast. The staff in the dinning room were very polite and efficiant, full marks there! Personally, I thought the whole experience was wonderful, Edinburgh is beautiful, and so is the Melvin House Hotel.
If, whoever reads this, is looking for modern, high tech hotels, then this isnt for you, but if they are looking for quality, history and elegance, then I would recomend it. I loved it and so did my husband, we called it the Harry Potter Hotel. It represents Edinburgh, perfect workmanship, art and each room has a story to tell, your imagination can run away with you here.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_chef49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
West End
St. Valery Guest House
St. Valery Guest House
#16 of 394 in Edinburgh
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B+B Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B+B Edinburgh

Address: 3 Rothesay Terrace, Edinburgh EH3 7RY, Scotland (Formerly Melvin House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £63 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — B+B Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are here to change the way you think about bed & breakfast.B+B Edinburgh is a stunning boutique bed & breakfast situated in a historic listed building in the heart of Edinburgh. Sensitively refurbished to the highest quality in 2011, the property offers a stylish bar where guests can relax and enjoy a range of specially selected Scottish whiskies. The library offers a cosy retreat for guests wishing to enjoy a quiet moment after a hectic day of sight-seeing. Pets are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your B+B Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B+B Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing